We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Suites Paradise Island(Paradise Island)(Great Value!)
US$352
US$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay View Suites Paradise Island(Paradise Island)(Great Value!)
US$203
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Warwick Paradise Island Bahamas - All Inclusive(Paradise Island)(Great Value!)
US$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$726
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Sunrise Beach Clubs and Villas(Paradise Island)(Great Value!)
US$261
US$255
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$1,589
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (5,109)
Filter reviews
5,109 results
Traveller rating
1,073
1,917
1,038
587
494
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,073
1,917
1,038
587
494
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspecialty restaurantssir alexanderriu staffjet skia la cartesnightly entertainmentswim up barall inclusive hotelstraw marketday passnegative reviewsocean frontnachosmajestic tourspool sidewater taxicable beach
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 5,109 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We spent a week April 22nd-29th at this resort. I’d give it a strong 4 and have stayed at other Riu properties to compare. Didn’t feel it quite lived up to the expectations of a Palace property. Room was good, clean and awesome standup shower. Will admit the ‘upgrade’ given to us didn’t feel like one as the view from the low 200’s is pretty much the dirty rooftop of the main lobby (cigarette butts, packs etc). A bit disappointed with that! Buffet food was good the jerk chicken was awesome, a la cartes we felt not worth the wait (we did try two). Service in the restaurants was good and they went above and beyond for my birthday. Bar service at the pool great a few of the guys really work hard to entertain and interact with the guests. Staff always cleaning in the lobby and pool and most stop to say hello. Our only suggestion would be for the hotel to have a hospitality room for those who don’t fly out until later in the day to clean up and shower as the hotel put out notices in everyone’s doors that there was no late checkout available. Overall a good week, nice hotel.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank mikenkirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a wonderful spot for 14 friends to gather....big enough that we weren't tripping over each other but not so large that we couldn't find each other. Pools were amazing...including infinity pool....swim up bar, regular bar, bbq snackbar, games, clean. Right on beach with plenty of lounges and umbrellas. Lots of staff checking in to see that our needs and wants were accommodated. Food galore....very good quality and selection. 3 specialty restaurants (included in fee) that required someone to stand in line for a table....the only downside of our experience plus a cafe and bar. Rooms were spacious and clean...with ocean views. Rooms come with liquor dispensers, coffee and soft drinks. Bathrooms have large showers and 2 sinks. I had a good quality massage at the spa. Decor is tasteful. Nice glassed in deck. Buffet area was all windows on to the ocean. Waiting to check in and for shuttle to leave....there was space to change and store luggage so the pools could be enjoyed.

There was a distinctive, unpleasant smell in the lower level.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Mar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First time in the Bahamas and we stayed at Hotel Riu Palace. Hotel was very clean, the staff was very, very helpful & friendly which is hard to come by these days. Buffet was good & the specialty steak house restaurant was excellent, we had the Caribbean lobster. Beach & pool areas were great.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank srss96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Easy check-in when you do not arrive on the bus...we always arrange private transport and Majestic tours did a great job. When we pulled up in a 2017 Lincoln Continental, the bellmen dropped everything and ran over to the car. When on vacation we like to "live-a-little..." and the few extra bucks for private transport and the ocean front suite makes the trip more special.
ROOM: Ocean front suite 9th floor was just as pictured...spacious, large, bathroom with tub and shower, large terrace with chairs, loungers and a small table. Bar was stocked, plenty of towels, very clean...we called down for extra pillows and they were immediately delivered...large flat screen TV with lots of US channels (in English) and a wide variety of music channels...BEST FREE INTERNET available everywhere in the resort including down on the beach!
FOOD: Overall much better than the average all-inclusive.
Breakfast--- Buffet great for breakfast with an omelet station and a wide variety of foods. I started my day with a glass of champagne and a full plate.
Lunch---Jerk Hut outside by the pools was a go-to spot with spicy rice and chicken...We always found a table and the chef was very friendly. The selection was small Also, the buffet offered up a full lunch selection should you like an inside seat out of the sun.
Dinner---Krystal was our favorite...don't pass it up...beef tenderloin literally melted in your mouth! Steakhouse was good but nothing to write-home about...I enjoyed a lobster tail and some steak...Japanese was our least favorite because it was not authentic. Chicken Satay was coated in a curry sauce, sweet and sour pork was too salty...Was that sushi? Your guess was as good as mine. We did not try the Indian or dinner buffet because we loved Krystal and went there often. We recommend skipping the lines and just going down for dinner at the second seating (about 7:30pm) We never had a wait and basically went to whichever restaurant we wanted...problem solved.
Coffee Shop in lobby for snacks was a nice plus with lots of seating...very convenient although, no matter when you went; morning, noon or night, the staff at the coffee shop had a chip on their shoulders...wow, a few smiles could result in a few tips!
Calypso bar of the lobby is open 24/7...sports bar/ night club. Here's a suggestion...turn off the sports TV's when you have a live show in progress. Some snacks (like nacho's) available in the bar.
POOLS- never over crowded...always found perfect seats...very clean and well maintained... (I did not smell large doses of chlorine in the water!) very attentive wait staff. The smaller swim-up bar pool was the party pool; louder music...more drinking.
BEACH---Soft white sand, crystal clear water, could get breezy. Loungers and umbrellas easily available...but there is no beach drink service...We rented a jet-ski for $110 an hour and had a ball!
SPA---Small. While not a "five star" spa my wife enjoyed a massage while I relaxed by the hot/cold tub area. The Hot/cold tub area is unique because it is private but open-air. It’s a nice little oasis.
Other Points of interest---Atlantis, a short fun walk through the Atlantis property with high-end shops, restaurants, a movie theatre, Las Vegas style casino, Marina Village makes a nice addition to your vacation experience. There is a small store directly in-front of the Riu for small needs and trinkets.
Finally, our trip was made complete by the very helpful customer service representative, JESSINIA, seated at a desk in the lobby. She was available to help and assist with all of our needs and requests and we felt as if we had a friend at the resort. Management should take notice of her...she is a fine addition to the staff!
Also, a word of complement to our chamber maid...
Elevators can be a bit slow but it is a high rise resort. Room service menu is extremely limited with almost nothing except toast and coffee for breakfast. There is sometimes an unpleasant smell in the lobby but it is intermittent
In closing, RIU PALACE PARADISE ISLAND is a beautiful adults only oasis in the Bahamas.

Room Tip: Ocean front suits offer the BEST views...it's worth the extra expense
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank PATRICKANTHONY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed a 4 night, 3 day vacation recently at the RIU Palace in a one bedroom ocean view suite. The room was spacious and comfortable, the balcony was private and provided a beautiful ocean view. We had a king bed with a walk in shower. The room had been recently renovated. Also included was bottles of rum, vodka, scotch and gin, and a fridge full of coke, diet coke, tonic water, water and Heineken beer.
The hotel itself was rather attractive and featured some ala carte restaurants, cappuccino bar, buffet restaurant and a sports bar where we watched the Leafs lose. We had supper at the steak house enjoying steak and lobster along with Caesar salad. The buffet meals were great including a large selection of foods and champagne for breakfast.
There were 2 pools, one being a pool bar which provided various lounging chairs, tables and an infinity poolside overlooking the ocean. Bartenders were awesome.
The beach was beautiful and had plenty of lounge chairs. We rented jet skis for $50 for 30 minutes and had a great time. There were plenty of hotel people on the beach.
We did a "best of nassau" tour from sunwing that included lunch at the fish fry, visit to rum plant, forts and straw market. Also got some rum cake.
At night we walked to Atlantis and went to the casino and aquarium (free in the evenings).
Great vacation - great value for this all inclusive vacation at this resort featuring awesome amenities.

Stayed: April 2018
5  Thank mell5kenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews