We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Nassau, New Providence Island, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
debbret20...
Barrie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Retreat”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Hibiscus is located in a quiet residential neighbourhood. The unit is a self contained apartment on the property of the home owner. Their home is totally separate and we shared a pool area however Daron and Inae totally respected our privacy and we had the pool area to ourselves. You do need a car if you chose to stay here as it is a drive to almost anything. We enjoyed the take out food from Dominique's at the nearby strip mall. We rented a car and toured the island however driving in Nassau can be quite a challenge! We had a washer and dryer and the wireless internet worked really well. Free parking is also included and the pool area is totally private and fenced. Thanks to our hosts for making us feeling very welcome in the neighbourhood and thanks Daron for the awesome Canadian Flag!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
I'm so glad you both enjoyed your stay Debbie!! We look forward to having you again soon when you need to escape the cold!! :)) It was a pleasure!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sundaizy2
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!~”
Reviewed 16 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Hibicus is a perfect place to stay in Nassau. It is far from the maddening crowds, close to the airport, groceries, places to eat, and the beach. Cable Beach, just a short drive, has beautiful beaches for surf fishing and snorkeling. This are is not crowded and you can just pull off in many places and swim, picnic, fish ... bask by the gorgeous water. The Hibicus has air conditioning, a nice pool to rest and relax by, and a microwave and coffee pot. We usually stay in bed and breakfast places in the states. We were able to fix our own breakfasts here or run up to Wendy's and eat breakfast and just relax when we wanted in comfortable surroundings filled with tropical plants. So nice ... thank you guys for allowing us to rent this for our stay in Nassau. It was perfect and we felt totally safe there, too.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RetiredIn...
Prince George, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place from which to see New Providence & Nassau”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
6
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Hibiscus for 5 nights in mid March 2015. Making the arrangements was easy and we had confidence from that point in our hosts who as it turned out were very hospitable and reliable. Was great to get local information about the sights, local amenities and culture. The room is a standalone comfortable one bedroom unit. Ample space to prepare small meals and the hosts wash your dishes! We used the pool daily which we essentially had to ourselves in the very private back yard - and it is as clean as it looks in the pictures.

Main thing to note is the distance from town. We read the other reviews and decided to rent a small car which was a great way to see the entire island rather than being confined to the downtown or to the Jitney schedule and routes. We were very glad we didn't go with our original plan to rent bikes - the roads and traffic are crazy!

Definitely would recommend this vacation rental to a friend and would stay there again if we return to the islands. This is a wonderful alternative to staying in hotel chains or resorts where you don't get as much connection to local life.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller...
Belleville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, peaceful!”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
8
people found this review helpful

I recently stayed at Hibiscus for 7 nights. It a cute, very clean, 1 bedroom unit. I enjoyed it very much. Inea and Darron are very nice people, willing to help out in every way. This is not an all inclusive resort, so you have to be self sufficient, however there are pretty good restaurants, a couple, nearby. And some descent grocery stores. There is use of a BBQ and a small fridge in the unit. Best to rent a car, if you want to travel around the island. New Providence is only about 27 miles by 7 miles so nothing is really very far away. It has a private pool and a real nice patio area. Price is very good. 1 week cost the same, for a single traveler, as 2 nights at Sandels. I have travelled extensively in the Caribean, and this is a great option for singles or a couple.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful and private
Liked least: BBQ, but no kitchen per say
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaskas_h...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing first time experience in the bahamas”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Me and my new bride stayed here for 3 weeks and had a great time. The service and hospitality was very pleasant and always with a smile. The location was private and secluded which was exactly what we needed for our honeymoon.
The only isaue we faced was getting downtown because it is on the other side of the island. However, we would walk the road and hitch a ride to the bus stop where we rode the bus downtown. We always felt safe and this was a very cheap option. This was an alternative to renting a car if you are in a tighter budget. Also a short walk to coral harbor beach which was private and relaxing compared to other beaches on the island.
Overall we had a great experience and would reckoned this place to others

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$100
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing