We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
Nearby Hotels
SLS Baha Mar(Nassau)
US$409
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$247
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandyport Beach Resort(Nassau)
US$318
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$197
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$522
US$443
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$402
US$352
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A Stone's Throw Away(Nassau)(Great Value!)
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$490
US$451
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$266
US$233
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,610)
Filter reviews
3,610 results
Traveller rating
1,177
1,209
639
362
223
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,177
1,209
639
362
223
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachthe executive loungeparadise islandday passstraw marketbusiness hotelcruise shipdunkin donutssenor frogsfish fryaqua restauranthotel beachbay streetsenior frogsfood and drinksjunkanoo beachnice beach
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 3,610 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I really loved the location of the British Colonial Hilton Nassau! It is a great place to stay and use as a base for a Bahamas adventure. It is within walking distance to great places to eat, the Straw Market for shopping and there is a Dunkin Donuts across the street, lol.
The property is well maintained while keeping its old world charm. It is in a historic building and they try to keep that ambiance and haven't gone 'all modern' which I love. The rooms on the Hilton Honors floors have been renovated, so sign up if you are not already a member. You get a couple bottles of water at check in too. They kept the rooms in a style that fits the hotel, not going all white etc.
There is a nice pool, lot's of places to relax, hammocks even. There is a small but nice beach area and the view from my room was the cruise ships, and in the distance Atlantis, I loved that and even watched a Disney Ship depart.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5,6,or 7 floor.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lorenata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alonzo B, Front Office Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Day Lorenata,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay on the property. We are truly appreciative of the fact that we were able to host you. Your words have expressed the true nature of the property and what we try to provide as an experience for the guests.

We hope that we are able to host you soon in the near future and thank you again for visiting us at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The British Colonial exceeded my expectations. If you want to experience Nassau, then this is a great place to stay, When staying here you are in the downtown Nassau area and you are truly able to experience a Bahama way of life!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Erin4girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alonzo B, Front Office Manager at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Day Erin4girls,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. It was truly a pleasure to host you. It is great to hear that you enjoyed yourself and the property was ideal for your needs.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you in the near future and thank you for choosing us at the British Colonial Hilton Nassau to be a part of your experience in the 'Bahamian Way of Life'

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel would have been 4 stars maybe 30 years ago. As of now, the hotel is dirty old and in bad condition. The lobby is old and dingy with broken tile. The elevators are gross the rooms smell like sewage and there is actual sewage pouring into the beach. I felt dirty staying here. Service extremely poor. Hilton seriously needs to take a look at this property. Would never recommend to anyone.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
3  Thank zuzupetals1178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John-HiltonHelp, on behalf of management at British Colonial Hilton Nassau, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear zuzupetals1178,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel for your trip to the Bahamas. We apologize for the problems you encountered. We have addressed the items you mentioned with our housekeeping team as we strive to maintain a clean, comfortable environment. Again, we apologize for all of the inconveniences. We assure you that if you give us another opportunity, you won't be disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Kids enjoyed seeing the large cruise ships come and go from their ports.
The rooms are only average, but we hardly spend any time in the rooms so we did not really care. The grounds and pool were very nice, and when the nearby construction ends it will be even better. The beach is smooth, white sand. We wish the marked areas for paddle boarding and swimming were a little bit bigger in size.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank rlkoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room:
I must be up front, my wife and I stayed in the hotel's nicest room, the so called Prime Minister's Suite. I'm sure this has a positive effect on my feelings about the hotel. The room was great with a couple of small reservations. The bedroom is small with just enough room for a small night table on either side of the bed. The only closet is tiny, not befitting a suite. On the other hand, the bathroom was quite large with double sink, jacuzzi bath tub and huge shower.
The shining glory of the suite is the living room. Four very large windows arranged in a half octagonal pattern give a panoramic view of Nassau harbor and the cruise port. There are a sofa and two chairs in the sitting area and a table and two very comfortable chairs in the dining area. A small desk is in a nook at the rear of the room.

Beach:
We made the mistake of arriving a couple of days before spring break was over. The hotel his large but the beach small and when the hotel is full the beach and pool are crowded. However, once the weekend rolled around, the beach was empty, clean and a pleasure to use. Quibbles are: 1. There are not enough beach umbrellas when the beach is full. 2. Some of the beach chairs and chaises are in need of serious repair. 3. The Cabanas are not worth the price. They are cheaply made and badly maintained. The roof is not solid but screen and will not protect you from the sun or rain and the curtains look as if they have not been cleaned since first installed.

Restaurants:

1. The Patio Bar and Grille is ok but has a very limited menu. Mostly sandwiches and burgers with not even one salad. Service was very slow, both in the restaurant and on the beach.

2. We only ate at the main restaurant for breakfast. The buffet was ok but nothing to write home about.

3. Room service was good, quick and offered almost everything the other venues did.

4. The executive lounge was OK but in need for a makeover. The snacks were average. My biggest gripe here was that the staff would begin to clean up and take down the food well before closing time. What's the use of saying there happy hour is from 5-7pm when you lock up at 6;45PM.

5. There are many good restaurants close by and we would encourage you to try them.

The biggest gripe that almost everyone had was the three elevators. It seemed that 90% of the time at least one and, at times, two were out of service. Long waits for service were the norm.

Staff:

Everyone, from the housekeepers to the waiters to the front desk personnel, was friendly and helpful.

This is a good hotel with the potential to be great. However, someone will have to be willing to spend some money to make the improvements needed.

Room Tip: There is a new resort being built next door. Ask for a room on the east side of the hotel to avoid construction noise.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank outsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews