We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtaking”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Great room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Margie F
Glencoe, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“House needs some TLC!”
Reviewed 14 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for our holiday break with our 3 boys (24,21 & 16). I will start with the positive and say that the location is beautiful and very quiet. Located right next to one of the prettiest beaches. We have visited the island of St. John for 7 years and have stayed in remote homes so we are familiar with the island. Guests must know that there will be zero internet access. You will be told "they are working on it" but we never had access and never heard back from the rental company. The other 6 times we have rented homes on the island (in remote areas and the same time of year) we have never had that problem. Also, home is tired and needs a new paint job, new screens, rusty nails hanging off the outside deck, light fixtures need be scrubbed, etc. Also, the "4th bathroom" is not workable. It was filfty and not sure why it is advertised as 4. The least impressive was the rental company. We had to reach out to them but had a diffiuclt time hearing back because the owner was in Chicago and our contact was running around with no cell service. When we finally connected the answer was "we are working on it".

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calistoga...
Calistoga
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Lidskjalf at Annaberg is a quirky rental house on St. Johns. It is secluded and very private which also means it is a 20-25 minute drive over twisty roads to the nearest stores or restaurants. So be prepared and shop before you arrive. You need to provide everything you intend to consume ranging from bottled water to salt & pepper. We received conflicting information about the water supply and after a bout with stomach issues switched to bottled water. Also beware that although the property advertises internet access, we had none for our entire stay. That made accessing all of the attractions and restaurants I had previously bookmarked at home problematic. Adding to the communications problems, the phone landline was also out the entire week and cell service is spotty and potentially catastrophically expensive. The only signals my Verizon iPhone picked up were from the neighboring island which turns out to be a “foreign” country; the British Virgin Islands. If your cell plan does not include roaming for the BVI you could be looking at huge bill. The house itself was adequate albeit the holes in the screens allowed viscous little biting creatures entry at will. The good news is that you are just a 10-minute walk from the nicest beach on St. Johns; Francis Bay. Our experience wasn’t terrible but it could have been much better with just a bit more attention to living up to their advertising claims.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location near some great beaches
Liked least: No phone or internet, holes in screens, hard mattresses.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winefreak...
Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 28 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

After we left Lidskjalf for the last time in order to fly home, I looked at my wife and said, "This was the best vacation I've ever had." She agreed.
First things first, the entire staff at St. John Properties(who handle the bookings) were kind, extremely helpful and professional. They have a concierge! Who made absolutely wonderful recommendations. We had a greeter who met us at the rental car office and drove us to the house, showed us all the amenities, gave us more recommendations that were also great. Thank you Andretti, Nellie, Tonya and BJ. You made us feel right at home.
Now for the nuts and bolts: The house is one of the most secluded locations on the island which is exactly what we wanted. It probably has one of the most beautiful, affordable views on St. John. The place is furnished and decorated with class and comfort..... Inside and out. We spent every bit of the day on the deck watching hummingbirds and bananaquits come and go, the Pelicans dive bombing fish in sleepy Mary creek, sailboats going back and forth to Tortola and Waterlemon Cay, and drinking Rum like rock stars. The house is only a 5 minute walk to Francis Bay where we went snorkeling our first day. We found the beach almost empty, and the snorkeling was wonderful.
The house is situated right in between Coral Bay and Cruz Bay so it was never a long drive to either city. We hiked almost everyday we were there and it was never hard to find the trailhead.
When we were leaving and BJ asked me what the house needed..... I was honestly stumped, I thought about this the entire 7 hour trip back home, then I thought of something..... A nicer pepper grinder in the kitchen. Thant is the only thing I could find to complain about it.
Aside from that,
Perfect Location
Comfortable and clean bedding, indoor sofas and chairs and outdoor chairs and loungers
Well appointed kitchen and grill
Very helpful staff
And affordable

We are already planning our trip back next year, and this time we will bring the kids.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankDiB
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“What a View!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Getting up each morning to this view was totally super. Location was very central for St. John....about midway on the north side of the island. We could walk down the hill to Francis Beach and a very short drive to Annaberg made this a joy to stay here. With separate quarters, two or three couples can enjoy total privacy yet terrific common space with a million dollar view.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing