We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (634)
Filter reviews
634 results
Traveller rating
171
266
110
48
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
171
266
110
48
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice guy pool bar aqua marine lime tree rental car energy surcharge wyndham owners studio loft charlotte amalie beautiful beach small store mini kitchen quiet resort beach hut on site restaurant recommend this resort great snorkeling
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 634 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

This was our second time to stay at BBBC. We are Wyndham owners and love staying at this quiet resort. This year some of our friends came down too. We stayed for 17 days and they stayed for 12 days. We grilled on the outdoor charcoal grill, hung out under the cabanas and just had a fabulous time!!

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Islandhopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

The biggest "Plus" for Bluebeard is that it's off the beaten path, and pretty secluded. The small beach is clean, and uncrowded with serene currents.

The on site restaurant (Lanai) can provide some SERIOUSLY magnificent sunsets (Photo's soon to follow). The food, and drinks were pretty good, and priced about par for the course for the island.

The only real negative, and that the entire resort is in pretty dire need of a facelift. Having stayed at their Sister-Site (Margaritaville), on our first visit to St. Thomas, we were significantly underwhelmed by Bluebeard's aesthetics, both indoors, and outdoors.

Nothing was unsafe, or dysfunctional (Although, we did have about an hour delay getting into the room because of a faulty door lock - In all fairness, the staff was very responsive, and apologetic).

It's also worth mentioning that unlike Margaritaville, Bluebeard, by virtue of being off the beaten path, does not sit along the island safari route, which my wife and I found particularly useful on our first visit. SO, you'll need to rent a care (Drive on the left, yield to the right), or rely on taxis.

If the latter, I can wholeheartedly recommend Mr. Nice Guy. His rates are competitive, and he's quite friendly. I can also recommend Prince Taxi.

Overall, overdue facelift not withstanding, I give Bluebeard a thumbs up, would stay there again, and in all likelihood will probably make it out "2nd-Look" for our next visit to St. Thomas after Margaritaville.

Room tip: Higher floors near the center of the property offer the best views.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kennethlJ4993NO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

I hesitate to say how great this location rates! It's nice, now, that crowds aren't swarming! THE best resort beach on the island!! Accomodations are adequate, with stairs. If you want 5 star, go elsewhere- we don't want your snobbery anyway. There is a relatively new restaurant on site (Lanai) getting discovered by locals- great food, good prices, with special nite activities. The Lime Tree pool bar is awesome- with great staff and daily specials. They also serve good food at reasonable prices. Speaking of, Lime Tree Market has almost everything for your grocery/personal list. No need to pay for taxi to town for groceries! (Resort won't tell you this). Be sure to check the beach hut for an outstanding day on Second Wind- an all day charter with 3 meals, 2 snacks, 2 desserts, snorkeling, fishing, open bar- and, a real toilet. Our trip also had a marine biologist in the crew to explain what we were seeing. Shh..... this is the best bargain on the island! Visit Aqua Marine- also the best rated dive shop on St. Thomas! There is a huge grill available for cooking- so with your 2 burner stove & microwave, you don't necessarily need a car. A cab, Mr. Nice Guy, is available if you want to venture out for other options. This is our favorite resort for relaxing!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Family stayed there 1st week of july, 1 bedroom unit. It's a timeshare. I came with relatively low expectations but we really like bluebeard's. It's a small development, maybe 80 units total. located about 15mins from charlotte amalie. You'll need a car. Beach is really beautiful and private to the resort. Pool area is adjacent to the beach and also really nice. Plenty of shade and chairs. There's a beach bar that's open to the public on the property but it wasn't too loud or disruptive. As for the unit itself, it's older but clean and comfortable. All rooms are oceanfront and have a nice view. We enjoyed sitting out on our balcony every morning drinking coffee. The kitchen was really small. Bed was king size and comfy. It's a loft-type design so expect stairs in your unit. Wifi wasn't free so we didn't try it. You can use free PC in the lobby. They also have a small selection of free movies. They're affiliated with the Wyndham timeshare and we opted for the margaritaville tour to get free passes for a sailing/snorkeling trip ... we were very happy with the free trip and didn't mind going to margaritaville because it's next to a great snorkeling beach we were planning to go to anyway. Overall we were very happy with bluebeard's.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OldPee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

The resort grounds are well kept. There is a dive shop onsite. There is a little store and a restuarant onsite. There is Wifi at a fee of about $39.00 for 7 days. I really enjoyed the swim up pool bar. The beach is georgous. The unit we stayed in was clean and well maintained.

My wife and I love this place! I hope we can get back there.

The only thing I didn't like was the $25/day electricity fee and the $20/day resort fee that USVI charges.

Room tip: There are no elevators. So if you don't like stairs get a room on the 1st floor.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank kscdennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews