We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location, But ... some things you should...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Reef Beach House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lowjumpin...
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Location, But ... some things you should know”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
5
people found this review helpful

First and for most the location of this property is fantastic. It is located on the "quiet" side of Grace Bay, meaning it is as far away from the mega resorts as you can get. Aside from the occasional beach comber and horse back riders the beach was pretty much ours. The house is also in walking distance from Turtle Cove where there is a nice coffee shop (Green Bean) and a few nice restaurants. There are several boat tour operators that leave from Turtle Cove as well. The location is truly a five star. The house is very well equipped with everything you could possibly want to experience the beach. The main house is connected to the guest house by a raised deck that wraps around the primary house. There is ample outdoor seating on the deck and the pool. The pool was well maintained and water very warm. Snorkeling right from the beach was very good. We saw eagle rays, turtles, lobsters, cuddle fish and lots of other colorful fish, fantastic. The houses are situated well off the road and very secluded. The neighboring house is very close. Close enough that you could hear conversations of the neighbors when they were outside. The neighboring house is also a two story house which did not seem to effect privacy but, it may. All in all we enjoyed staying at this property but here are the reasons we would not recommend it to friends or why we would not consider a repeat visit.

1. Night club music from the resorts across the bay over powers the ocean sounds from sun down to about 11pm. It was loud enough that we needed to wear ear plugs to get to sleep. The main advantage of the property being at the more secluded part of GraceBay is not realized in the evenings as the night club sounds thumps the night air.

2. The kitchen is very challenging. The arrangement of the appliances, sink, dishwasher are very cramped. While the kitchen was stock with everything you could need it was very unorganized and poorly arranged. There really is no room to store food in any cabinets so dried goods had to be set on the counter tops. We only saw a few cockroaches.

3. When we arrived at the airport the person who was supposed to meet us to bring us to the house was not there. If it were not for the GraceBay car rental agents we would probably not have found the person that was supposed to meet us. Also, there is a mid week cleaning which we were told was going to happen on Tuesday. So, we made plans to go on a boat trip that day so that we would not be in the way of the cleaning people. The cleaning lady came on Wednesday which made the house less available for the better part of the day.

4. There were many things that were broken in in poor state of repair. The BBQ grill grates were rusted through, the closet doors in the master suite did operate, the umbrella on the deck was held together with duct tape and broke when a strong wind came up.

5. There was a business license hanging over the front door that had expired a year ago.

6. Tap water was very unpleasant, which caused us to buy bottled water.

7. The internet access was good for checking email but, nothing else. A speed test revealed less than 1 Mb down and about 1 Mb up.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beach
Liked least: Evening night club music that dominated the evenings
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2014
Thank you so much for submitting your review. The homeowner of the property asked Travel Keys to submit the following response. We hope you had a wonderful time on island and that you plan to return to Provo again!

We’re glad you enjoyed Reef Beach House overall, and we apologize for the confusion over your airport pick up and maid service. Some of your other concerns, however, reflect the realities of island life. For example, you saw a few palmetto bugs. These are endemic in the Caribbean, so we spray as often as is ecologically sound. You mentioned a rusted grill grate. The replacement was delayed so often we finally hand carried one to Provo from the U.S. Because sound really carries over water, loud music from one resort annoys everyone along Grace Bay. Fortunately it only happens occasionally. We heard it once during our January vacation, but not at all when we visited in April. Our Internet connection was on island time during your stay, but, as you noted, the speed was fine for email. Finally, our kitchen is indeed small, but professional chefs have prepared fabulous meals there without any problem. In conclusion, we apologize for the lapses in guest service. We hope you’ll give us another chance to show you a great time in Provo.
The Owners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OntheGo63...
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Beach House Helped Make Vacation Wonderful”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Just spent a week at Reef Beach House, and it was heavenly. The location could not be better on Grace Bay Beach---private with lovely greenery leading to a pristine white sand beach and crystal clear turquoise water. Then 60 feet from the water’s edge, there is a mini-reef where you can almost walk to and see amazing tropical fish, coral, etc. Because of high winds during much of our stay, we could not go out on a boat trip to the main reef, but we really didn’t need to with our own reef so accessible. Plus, Reef Beach House is walking distance to the marina in Turtle Cove and a number of good restaurants. A huge factor for those (like me) who don’t want to drive much on the left side of the road, especially at night.

This is a great place for families or multi-friend vacations. There are a main house (2 good sized bedrooms with en suite bathrooms, kitchen and family room off of the huge front deck) and a separate guest house (2 bedrooms, one bathroom and a kitchenette). It has loads of outdoor entertaining areas (i.e, huge main deck (with areas of shade) fronting the beach/water, back deck, pool deck, and beach area) and amenities (plenty of seating, tables, lounge chairs, sun umbrellas, porch swing and gas grill). The views from the expansive front deck are phenomenal, and there is a lovely pool to the side of the houses with another big deck and a vista of greenery and flowering trees. We loved being able to party together, but also enjoyed being able to retreat to another outdoor area when we wanted some time alone.

The main house also has a well-appointed kitchen that allows preparation of simple to multi-course meals. This villa is very clean, well maintained, comfortable and charming. I can’t wait to return!

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House and location.
Liked least: Location of washer/dryer, but there are 2 of each.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tebtg
Jersey City, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing tropical getaway”
Reviewed 9 April 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The Reef Beach house in Providenciales, Turks & Caicos Islands is an amazing tropical getaway especially if you live on the east coast (3 hour direct flight from Newark Int'l Airport). the house comes well appointed and it is situated on the beach (Atlantic Ocean). The house itself consists of two separate buildings: the main house containing two bedrooms, two baths, kitchen and living room. The secondary house contains two bedrooms, 1 shared bath and a kitchenette. The two houses are connected via elevated porch/walk which wraps completely around both houses. While indoor space is limited, who really goes to Turks and Caicos Islands to be inside? Outdoor deck and patio space is abundant so even 8 people (as we were) can all find space to stretch out. The house has A/C but you really won't need it as there are always ocean breezes and the bedrooms' corners are all louvered windows allowing you regulate how much breeze comes into your room. Between the breeze and the sound of the ocean you have a natural "white noise" that helps you sleep. While renting a car is recommended if you want to explore the entire island you can really simplify life and skip it. There are about a half-dozen restaurants/bars within walking distance. And there is great snorkeling in your "back yard"---the ocean at the end of the rear walk. Don't want to go out into the deeper water and still want to snorkel? No problem! I inadvertently discovered a full, yet small reef just off shore in about 4 feet of water! I could have reached down and touched it (but don't!). There were coral, anemones, sponges, fish of all kinds and colors. I had fun following these beautiful purple fish with yellow bellies around--it was captivating---all right near the house. I would totally recommend this house and can't wait to go back again.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location to good snorkeling; proximity to bars and restaurants
Liked least: If you want to cook yourself in the well equipped kitchen, you'll need to rent a car for a trip to the grocery store
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy B
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So relaxing”
Reviewed 28 March 2013 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Reef Beach House is very cute and very clean and comfortable. I stayed in one of the bedrooms that was not in the main house and I loved having some privacy and quiet when I needed it. Yet, the communal parts of the house catered to happy and comfortable gatherings whether in the living room or on the spacious deck or poolside. You can swim and snorkel directly in front of the house and come in and clean off and then walk to any number of restaurants.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Beautiful views
Liked least: no such thing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stan K
Stuart, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Vacation House on The Beach”
Reviewed 20 March 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Clean and well cared for. Great location, walking distance to a variety of good restaurants. Clean white sand beach with great snorkeling. the pool is secluded and private. Quality beds, beautiful view of Grace Bay, nice raised deck and walkways I will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything it was a great week
Liked least: The fact that I couldn't stay any longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$589
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing