We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well appointed historic cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Fort Cottage

Street View of the Fort Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Street View of the Fort Cottage
Bedroom 2 - with queen sized bed and en suite bathroom Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Street View of the Fort Cottage
Bedroom 2 - with queen sized bed and en suite bathroom
Living Room
Bedroom 1 - 2 full sized beds
Beautiful blooms
Fully equipped kitchen
Hammocks
Breakfast nook
Cozy reading nook
View of Scarborough from the back porch.
Sunset view from historic Fort King George - just a short stroll away...
Holiday lights
View of side deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Scarborough, Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Camille B
Tunapuna
1 review
“Well appointed historic cottage”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Spent Christmas at this beautiful and well kept cottage with my family. The cottage is a combination of the old and the new. The historic integrity of the cottage has been maintained while providing all modern conveniences.
The back porch which overlooks the well maintained grounds where chickens freely roam and forage as well as Scarborough, was my favourite area of this charming house.
The owners' attention to detail as well as the extra touches such as the decorated tree branch Christmas tree were much appreciated.
I have been recommending Fort Cottage to all and sundry since my return from Tobago. My only complaint is I got no eggs from the chickens!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
We are really glad you enjoyed your time in the house, especially over Christmas. We hope you have a great 2016. Please come again. If you do and find out where the chickens nest, please let us know!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Trully wonderful place to create beautifu lifetime memories!”
Reviewed 27 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

My partner and I, with our good friend, came to this lovely home for a wedding in Tobago. All in all this place went above and beyond our expectations. We would HIGHLY recomend a stay here to anyone looking!

To begin with the home itself is a historic colonial home that is incredibly well maintained. It is also stoocked full of any and all amenities/supplies you could hope for. If you have any trouble the grounds keeper Chris is so helpful and attentive! A great guy!

Also great to note that there is both a market and produce stand minutes from the house and tourist destination "Fort King Goerge" just up the street.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful large patio with its lovely view.
Liked least: Mosquitos - but this is a given most everwhere on the island.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2016
Christopher,
We are really happy you enjoyed your time in the house. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We look forward to hosting you again

Happy new year to you.
Glenn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheron l
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
“A long outstanding dream come true”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

OMG, O-M-G.
This was a dream come true for me.For over 15 yrs I had always looked forward to spending some time in a little oldhouse in the countryside without having to use an outhouse. I kept wishing that I had an elderly aunt or uncle that I could visit. The thought hadn't crossed my mind for a while though and when I turned up at the Fort Cottage I realized that this was exactly the experience I had longed for, ...Plus.
I have been to Tobago every year fror the last 12 yrs and always stayed at a different comfortable location each time but this one is the bomb. Its an excellent mix of vintage and modern.
Also my husband suggested that I keep it simple, no overpacking and we would just buy whatever we needed. To my surprise, there was nothing to be bought .It was like home. All our usual high quality brands were there. Every possible modern utencil, spotlessly cleaned bathrooms.Tthe fact that we had full use of the entire property was totally unexpected but welcomed by all.The location is great, with easy access to food stores, mall, beach and entertainment spots. It was just my best Trip to Tobago. We even considered an extended stay. I will definitely be back soon and I do recommend it for others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that the entire property was occupied by us only.
Liked least: A floor-length mirror would have been an asset.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2015
We are really happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back. On your next trip please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your experience even better.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy G
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
“Let the history and ambiance of this home soothe you”
Reviewed 23 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Fort Cottage. It is situated in a quiet neighbourhood close to the main town of Scarborough. It is a lovely old house which the owners have managed to update with all modern conveniences and comforts without changing its character. The 2 hammocks installed downstairs are a nice touch—great for a nap or for watching the sunrise or sunset. I also got fresh fruit for breakfast from the trees on the grounds (which was pretty cool!). There is a small supermarket and a fruit vendor within walking distance (3 minutes) which will keep you supplied with the essentials. For fancier fare, there is a good Italian restaurant and other fast food chains about 5 minutes by car. The beach and other restaurants are all easily accessible by car. The owners and caretaker of the property are all very responsive so that any issue which may affect your stay is immediately attended to. Just unplug and unwind….sheer bliss.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The architecture and ambiance of the home
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Thank you for your review Kathy. It was a pleasure having you. Welcome back anytime.
Glenn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolando D
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lugar amplio, confortable y limpio, buenos servicios, seguro
Liked least: que no se encuentre cerca de la zona de turismo de Tobago, dependiendo siempre de tener que utilizar el automovil.
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2016
Gracias por tu opinión. Estamos tan contentos de que haya disfrutado de su estancia y esperamos volver a verte pronto.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing