We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Holiday of a lifetime!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Plantation View

pool and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
pool and garden
verandah kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
pool and garden
verandah
kitchen
Large spacious kitchen with washer etc. overlooking front garden.
pool table
pool table
lounge area
TV lounge
Master bedroom
upstairs bedroom
family bedroom dwonstairs
family bedroom
View over the lowlands of Tobago
View of the garden
Garden
Porch
visitors to the villa.... a pair parakeets
woodpecker visiting
View over the lowlands at night
Ideal space for bar.b.q's
Upstairs Layout
Downstairs Layout
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Race B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice house but it needs some upgrades”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I recently stayed at the villa with a group of friends. Our stay in Tobago was enjoyable and the villa accommodation was adequate for the group of persons who stayed there.

While the stay there was comfortable there are some things the owner should note:

1. For the price of the villa we were expecting more. The furniture is outdated, worn out and needs to change. The beds looked and felt like makeshift pieces of wood put together in a wood work class. For the price we paid we were expecting better beds with a more sturdy base. In addition the living room furniture, beach lounge chairs and gallery chairs were worn out, rusty, dirty. The owner should throw them away in favour of new ones.

2. Mosquito nets were a plus considering the bush that is around the villa. However mosquito nets with holes in them serve no purpose!

3. The bedrooms are equipped with ensuite bathrooms and there is an additional bathroom outside. However, the villa can sleep up to 8 persons - at least more than two towels per person should be provided.

4. The cupboards and dishes, etc were old and dusty. In addition, the cupboards felt as though two swings would take them off the hinge. It was not a pleasant sight to see spider webs and spiders in cups/glasses. Furthermore, cooking with that stove was like cooking with a crock pot - talk about slow! The microwave serves little to no purpose since a meal can't be properly warmed in 3 minutes - that old machine needs to find a new home in the garbage.

5. The space was large enough in each room to accommodate our group but the lights in some of these rooms were poor - almost as if there was a 10 watt bulb in the socket.

6. We enjoyed using the grill but did not enjoy having to clean it before we used it. This should have been done before we arrived.

7. The general look of the villa is honestly not worth the money we paid. Coats of paint are needed and the place has to get a facelift. We have stayed at villas in Tobago that are cheaper and felt more like a villa rather than a house that is on the brink of extinction.

This is in no way a review to take offense or be negative. However, you must take these reviews into consideration should you want to continue this business investment for the future. I suggest you make a quick trip to Tobago to see for yourself. I am sure you too will be dissatisfied to pay so much money for an advertised "villa" when in reality it was more like a old house close to foreclosure. Please look at accommodation sites to see what visitors are looking for.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: The small pool
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2014
Hi Good day .Thank you for your review .Your comments are much appreciated and they will be looked into and any changes needed will be carried out asap . Regards Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J W
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Holiday of a lifetime!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This was our first trip to Tobago. Plantation View was a lovely place to stay. It is fully equipped with everything you could possibly need. The balcony area is a lovely place to sit and eat from morning to evening, with a fantastic unspoiled view.
4 of us stayed so we mainly used the upstairs facilities, however you could easily have a comfortable stay with 8 when using the downstairs facilities also.
The pool is a lovely depth for swimmers and non swimmers,and its warm enough all day long.
Outside of the villa Tobago is a lovely place, with lots of different activities to take part in if desired. The people are friendly, and the weather is fantastic!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the pool
Liked least: You will need a car to stay here
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2014
Hi Good day .Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay .I will look forward to you staying again .Regards Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Too good to be true!”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This secluded villa is extremely comfortable, spacious and very well equipped. It makes you feel like you are the only occupants of Tobago. It has some stunning views, and sitting on that balcony having your breakfast overlooking the sea, and on a clear day (that's most of them) you can even see Trinidad on the horizon. The view is not restricted to the balcony, walking around the tropical colourful garden or sitting in the pool which is not overlooked watching the world go by peacefully below you is just so relaxing. If you manage to tear your self away from this wonderful villa, which is a challenge in itself there are some great beaches nearby for swimming or just soaking up the sun, We had a day trip on the catamaran 'Island girl' which was great value for money, very friendly crew. There are plenty of restaurants not far away with great menus and reasonably priced. The owners are very knowledgable on the area and only too willing to assist and offer advice. In summary a truly great and memorable holiday, one we hope to repeat before too long.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and panoramic view cannot be beaten
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2013
Thank you for your review .I am glad that you enjoyed the villa and Tobago and if you are making a return trip I would be happy for you to stay at the villa again .Regards Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester
Reviewed 10 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the garden to the lowlands
Liked least: The track to the villa
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Apr 2013
Thank you for letting me know that you enjoyed your stay please come again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2011 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the veranda with a cooling breeze
Liked least: Nothing - we were in paradise.
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Apr 2013
I am very happy that you enjoyed your vacation at my villa please come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing