We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great place”
other travellers have booked this property
Featherstone's House of the Rising Sun
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Featherstone's House of the Rising Sun
Partial view of totally private beach Romantic Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Featherstone's House of the Rising Sun
Partial view of totally private beach
Romantic Bedroom
Living Room in Great Room
Sunset from Featherstone's Private Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
David S
Chapel Hill, Nc
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 31 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

i have come to the caymans for quite some time and find this place my favorite. charming. quiet. the owner helpful with any questions concerns or needs. a definite return for a real get away. only a few restaurants and grocery stores. can find what you need. one of the last real island experiences without the commercialism.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2016
I am always so happy to have you here David! Your presence lights up my world and all the world that shares you.

Please come again and please come often!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liv2slide
Lewistown, MT
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Private Cottage”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Featherstone has a two story cottage, where we stayed, that sits behind the owner's two story main house. It is very private and beautifully decorated by the interior decorator/owner. We stayed for 9 days. It is a short walk around the main house to a lovely white sand beach. Two cabanas and plenty of chairs, chaise lounges, and hammocks are available to read or watch the sunset in the shade or sun. Access to the water, however, is difficult without protective footwear as it is rocky and sea urchins abound. This is the case for most of the island. There are however, excellent entry points for snorkeling and swimming elsewhere on the island. There is a small view of the ocean from the upstairs bedroom of the cottage. There are no screen doors on the lower level, just screen curtains. We kept the cottage doors open most of the time and did have visits by various sized hermit crabs and the neighbor's dog. We found that to be the charm of island life. There is AC, so you can close up the cottage if you choose. The kitchen is stocked with pots and pans, though the fry pans could use some upgrading as 3 out of 4 stick no matter what. There is a gas grill however, a real plus. Minnie and Hank were onsite while we were there to help with any questions. This is unquestionably a beautiful and unique property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Access to a beautiful sandy beach. Privacy
Liked least: Slightly disappointed that this cottage did not sit right on the beach and had less of a view than I had anticipated.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Minnesota
Reviewed 12 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Feb 2015
The love that this beautiful little family has for each other made the light on Featherstone brighter than before. What a delight to have them here and to see them every day grow more rested and with more color in their faces! Thank you for this sweet review Jodi. I hope you will come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Olichops
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Private and stunning views”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 9 days and had a fabulous time. The cottage was nice and Ms. Minnie was so accommodating. Great beach view with the little cabanas to relax and swing in the hammocks. If you get a chance have Tara from the spa on Little Cayman give you a massage on the beach in the cabana with the ocean breeze and sounds. Heaven ;) We were there during low season and it was so quiet, like having the island to ourselves, which was perfect for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2015
It was a pleasure to have you at Featherstone and I hope you will come again in the near future. I enjoyed watching you relax and then see the beautiful color in your faces when you left.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VALCARON
Queensbury, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This is the vacation you wish you'd taken”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Our Honeymoon at Featherstone was nothing short of perfect. The bed facing the ALWAYS open doors to the sea was an incredible way to start and end each blissfully relaxing day. Our most urgent concerns each day were where we would eat dinner, whether it was too early for a Cayman Papa and whether to take a left or a right onto the main road.
The house had everything we needed and the island gave us exactly what we wanted. Thank you Minnie, for sharing your beautiful home. We hope to return soon.
Ray and Val Burlett

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Remote, quiet, gorgeous GORGEOUS property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2015
I is always a joy for me to see a couple start their life's journey at Featherstone. Thank you for this lovely review. You are a darling couple and I wish you a life of bliss. Come again and soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing