We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WOW”
other travellers have booked this property
The large lanai with its view of the beach and cove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The large lanai with its view of the beach and cove
Starboard Kai, with parking for 2 cars a short walk from the front door, welcomes your arrival. Beautiful, bioluminescent Sand Pointe Cove is our backyard kayaking playground.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
The large lanai with its view of the beach and cove
Starboard Kai, with parking for 2 cars a short walk from the front door, welcomes your arrival.
Beautiful, bioluminescent Sand Pointe Cove is our backyard kayaking playground.
The pool with its view of the beach and cove.
Lanai sitting area with beach and cove view.
Wonderful open concept layout allows for terrific views out front and back.
The living room with its high end furnishings, HDTV and A/C enjoys direct access to the lanai.
Fully equipped, renovated kitchen with stainless steel appliances including dual zone beverage frig
Laundry room with front load washer and dryer is just off kitchen thru a pocket door.
A breakfast on the lanai....it doesn't get better than this!
Office area overlooking Rum Point Beach has free high speed WIFI
The reading nook and open stairway enjoy 2-storey windows with views to the beach.
Master bedroom has pillow-top mattress, quality linens, ensuite bath, private balcony, A/C and HDTV
Renovated master bathroom with granite countertop.
New walk-in shower in master ensuite.
Master bedroom balcony with view of beach & cove
Guestroom with 2 queen beds, ensuite with new tub/shower, private cove view balcony, A/C and HD TV.
Guest room private balcony with view of the beach and cove
Guestroom renovated ensuite with new tub/shower and granite countertop
The pool, surrounded by tropical gardens frequented by parrots make it the ideal place to relax.
A pair of Cayman parrots can be seen daily in this tree by the pool.
Enjoy an evening dip in the lighted pool.
The back view of Starboard Kai showing the lanai, outdoor shower and beach beyond.
The back view of Starboard Kai showing the lanai, outdoor shower and beach beyond.
Kayaking at Rum Point Beach in 1 of the 6 kayaks provided for your use.
Beautiful Starfish Point is a short bike ride or fun-filled kayak paddle away from Starboard Kai.
Two new bikes are available for exclusive use of our guests allowing you to explore Cayman Kai.
Unobstructed view from the front of Starboard Kai showing Rum Point beach steps away.
Walk directly across the residential road from Starboard Kai to Rum Point Beach.
Rum Point Pier (a great spot for snorkeling and sunset viewing) and steps away.
Beautiful Rum Point Beach - find your own secluded stretch of sand.
This is a five minute stroll down the beach. Snorkel, fish or stretch out in the sun.
Take a trip to Stingray City, a short boat ride from Rum Point.
The stingrays are a spectacular sight and so friendly you can get in the water and pet them.
You can actually hold the friendly stingrays at Stingray Sandbar and kiss them if you dare!
Many other beach 'toys' are available for rent at Rum Point directly across from Starboard Kai.
A feathered friend enjoys the water at Rum Point Beach.
It's easy to find your own stretch of Rum Point Beach to enjoy.
A sunset paddle at Rum Point Beach.
Sunset on Rum Point Beach (directly across from Starboard Kai). Take your cocktail and enjoy!
A pelican flies by, ending a perfect day on Rum Point Beach.
A beach bar/grill as well as fine dining are available at Rum Point Beach a short stroll away
Kaibo Yacht Club offers casual and fine dining just down the road from Starboard Kai.
The basic plan of the main floor.
The basic plan of the second storey.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
93mom
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed 28 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We had an absolutely spectacular time at Starboard Kai. It was beautifully decorated and very clean. Everything you need is available. You cannot get a better location than this on the island with Rum Point in the front and bio lagoon in the back. It is in a quieter location which was right for us. Even talked to some folks who were staying on 7 mile beach and left there every day to come to Rum Point because it is so conjested there. Lovely, lovely, lovely. We will be back for sure

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing. Location,beach, no crowds
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2014
Thank-you for your very positive review Mary. We may be slightly biased but agree that our location cannot be beat. We are so pleased that you enjoyed Starboard Kai so much you plan on returning next year. The fact that you have already booked your week says it all! Thanks for becoming a repeat guest and making our "home away from home" yours as well. Janice & Mike (owners - Starboard Kai)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ardis824
Staten Island, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach Home!”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My friend & I planned a week vacation and chose to stay in Rum Point. After much research of other condo's as well as hotels on 7 mile beach, we chose Starboard Kai Beach front home. It was very private and it was the corner house so we pulled right into our private driveway right on the side of the house. We rented through Cayman Kai Vacations website and Bob Wagner was just great! His website is very informative with many tips and discounts if you stay at these properties. Everything went smooth with booking the house with him. Thank you again Bob! If you are staying outside of Seven mile beach near the hotel strip you definitely will need to rent a car. It is about a 45 minute drive from Georgetown to Rum point. The house has huge windows in the front so you can look across and see the ocean and Rum Point. The back of the house has 2 sets of sliding glass doors that look out to the enclosed/screened in lanai and to the lagoon (bioluminescent). The owners (Janice & Mike) provide 3 kayaks & 2 bicycles to use during your stay. We did go kayaking one evening in the lagoon. The whole house is updated and it was nice to have a kitchen where we stopped at the supermarket and picked up snacks, food, drinks. There was a living room, office area, dining room, kitchen, laundry room, 1/2 bathroom on the 1st floor. The 2 bedrooms were upstairs, each with their own bathroom & balcony. The house was spotless and there were air conditioning units in each bedroom and on the 1st floor. Being across from Rum point was great too. We ate lunch there and had a tropical drink almost everyday!! Starfish point was also pretty close by and we went there a couple of times. We also were picked up at rum point to go to stingray city. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your home. We highly recommend this to our friends and family and would definitely stay here again. Thank you again!!! Wonderful vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home was beautiful and a relaxing atmosphere. The location could not be beat!
Liked least: There was nothing negative to report on this property
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
Thank-you so much for submitting this review Jeanine. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful vacation and enjoyed staying in our beach home in paradise. We are indeed very lucky to be one of the only Island Houses with an unobstructed view of the beach and ocean directly across from us. This is one of the many reasons we decided on purchasing Starboard Kai. The location can't be beat. While 7 Mile Beach is lovely to visit, the Rum Point area is a very special place for a beach vacation. We agree that strolling across to Rum Point for lunch or a sunset drink is most enjoyable, and a trip from there to Stingray Sandbar not to be missed. We are thrilled that you plan to come back and stay at Starboard Kai again. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Janice & Mike (owners)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Leaving this beautiful home!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jul 2014
Thanks so much for your review Bettina. We are always happy to hear from our guests and in particular to know they have enjoyed staying in our home. We can certainly relate to your comment about returning home to Starboard Kai at the end of a day of exploring. This is exactly why we purchased this home. It is indeed a wonderful place. We hope you decide to stay with us again in the future. All the best to you and your family. Janice and Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
England
Reviewed 26 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the lanai feature
Liked least: leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 May 2014
Helen and Chris, thank-you so much for taking the time to write and sharing your comments on your stay at Starboard Kai. As always, we are so pleased to hear from our guests and very happy that you had a great vacation.

We are sorry that you had a problem with the bikes, but relieved to hear that our property manager was able to resolve this quickly and have you "on your way" to Starfish Point (one of our favourite outings as well). We do apologize for this inconvenience and appreciate your understanding.

Thanks again for writing and we hope that you will stay at Starboard Kai again one day. Janice and Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Julia H
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were so sorry to leave after a fabulous week here. Everything was perfect, including the location backing onto a quiet cove with the beautiful turquoise water of the ocean right outside the front door.

We loved exploring the island's various beaches including Starfish Point with starfish galore. We also enjoyed many wonderful meals (excellent seafood everywhere you go) at some of the island's great restaurants including upstairs at Kaibo for fine dining and downstairs on the beach and under the stars for pizza and other more casual fare. Over the Edge was fun for its ocean-side location and it was lovely to be able to just walk across the road for the Monday Night Beach Buffet at Wreck Beach (not to mention the stunning sunsets every night) and then to try something a little more upscale at the Rum Point Restaurant near by.

There was lots to do. We enjoyed kayaking including a night paddle into the cove to witness the amazing bioluminescence, biking, swimming, paddle boarding, snorkelling and walking the beaches. We also took a half-day excursion to the Botanic Gardens and saw lots of iguanas and gorgeous flowering plants.

But the best part was coming back to the beautiful beach house, enjoying the breezes and the view from the two-storey screened in lanai and the wonderfully comfy beds. It was also lovely to have the option of cooking in the gourmet kitchen with its high-end appliances and cookware or just barbecuing outside the back door rather than going out to eat every night.

One tip – be sure to pick up your groceries at one of the large food stores near the airport when you land as the there aren’t many good food shopping options close to the house.

We loved it here and will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The beaches and the turquoise water
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$275
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing