We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveller rating
343
37
6
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
343
37
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews soper's hole our honeymoon rental car west end ferry small resort private beach two bedroom villa air conditioned piece of heaven grocery shopping snorkel equipment north side lounge chairs beautiful spot other islands virgin gorda living area
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 389 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

On a return visit to Tortola after some years we stayed in Frenchmans. Beautifully decorated villas overlooking turquoise seas, the only noise is the wind and waves. The resort is small, elegant with an excellent restaurant, quiet beach, and marvellously friendly staff. The manager Peter, hosts a weekly drinks party and could not be more charming and helpful, even personally drove us to the ferry on our departure. I could not rate a visit more highly and hope to make many return trips

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Emali8491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

After years away, we came back to Tortola with two teens in tow. We chose Frenchmans Cay because of its location on the West End. It turned out to be a lovely, low key resort that made for a perfect basecamp for our island adventure. Manager Peter Roy made us feel welcome and although the 9 villas were occupied most of the time we were here, the property never felt crowded or busy. There's a small private beach and a nice restaurant. We'd definitely come back.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank MCPetrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

I've travelled around the Caribbean and always love the turquoise water and beautiful views, but the 8 or so villas at the Frenchmans hotel are so special because of the privacy, cleanliness, and comfort. But what makes this a jewel is the staff. Everyone is so warm and engaging. From the welcome to the goodbyes, the staff makes sure you have everything you need for your visit to Tortola. If you crave more action you are just a short walk or taxi ride to Sopers Hole harbor. With the kitchen and balconies and lovely restaurant a few steps to the ocean, I was very happy indeed. Breakfast was included everyday so after my omelette and cappuccino I was ready for Smuggler's Cove one of the best beaches on the island. I would highly recommend.

Stayed: February 2016
3  Thank Loriko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Very friendly and caring staff will make you feel right at home- if your home happened to be a romantic villa located in the most beautiful and tranquil bay in the Caribbean. Thanks especially to Mick the bartender for showing us how to open a coconut! A small, exclusive resort with emphasis on peace and quiet. It wouldn't work for large rowdy parties or children who require varied activities. They do have easy snorkelling, tennis courts and a small swimming pool. The main attractions here are the peace and quiet and lovely views. Restaurant serves carefully prepared seafood.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mngirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016

Our 5 night stay in Mango Villa was exceptional. The resort is quiet, well run, wonderful friendly staff across the board. We were there with two young daughters and greatly enjoyed the pool and small, well kept beach. There are some basic pool toys/noodles/rafts on hand, the kayaks are nice to use when the water is calmer and the snorkeling just outside the man-made "lagoon" is quite nice. Would absolutely recommend to couples and families alike. Car rental for at least a few days is recommended but not necessary given the close proximity of Soper's Hole Marina with restaurants and grocery store.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews