We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect house for one or two families, with the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Goyo C
San Juan, null, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect house for one or two families, with the best views towards Francis Drake Channel.”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Just stayed for one week, two families with teenagers. Fully equiped kitchen, a balcony with a pool and a view to be enjoyed at anytime. Master bedroom has huge bathroom and spectacular view. Suzie was available at anytime. The microwave gave up, and it was replaced same day.
The four rooms were comfortable and cleaned. The house is in a hill, so you will need a car. Its 5 minutes drive from Moorings and 8 minutes from Village Key and Supermarkets.
The house is away from the noise of Road Town but close if you need provisions or groceries.
We are already considering coming back to the Sundowner House.

Thank you
Mr. Nabarro (owner)
Thank you Suzie!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
We look forward to seeing you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmle0nard
New Bern, North Carolina
1 review
“Amazing place to stay on Tortola”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Could not have been happier with this rental. Perfect arrangement for 4 couples. Great value for the price. Fantastic views! Comfortable accommodations. loved the pool & deck. Was contacted by owner immediately after booking; was very helpful. Property manager Suzie recommended car rental agencies & shops to provision for our upcoming sailing charter, helped arrange airport transfers on St Thomas, met us at the Road Town ferry to show us the way to the property. Had light meal & drinks on hand for our arrival. Definitely need a rental car; caution that the road to town & driveway are very tricky (and they drive on the left).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: plenty of space for four couples
Liked least: driveway access
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blown Away”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the Sun Downer for 2 weeks for my 60th Birthday. The owner contacted me immediately upon my deposit and set all wheels in motion. Suzie, the property manager met us at the ferry to take us to the house. Two words BLOWN AWAY. from the moment you walk through the front gate the view is stunning. We had 7 people in our party the 1st week and 10 the 2nd week and everyone was more than happy with the arrangements and facility. We had a great time in a clean, beautiful house. I would recommend it to everyone.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthursmo...
North Bend, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just okay...”
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We spent 8 nights here with another couple. The "compound" is private and large. We stayed in the 2 bedroom/1 bathroom cottage. Susie, our contact in Tortola, was excellent. She picked us up at the ferry terminal, helped us get our rental car, and got us settled, even had stocked the kitchen with a couple bottles of wine, milk, butter, bread, coffee, tea, etc.
The good:
The view is exceptional.
The "L-shaped" pool is nice.
Lots of towels available, both bath and beach.
Privacy
Safe area
The not-so-good:
Driveway to enter is treacherous
Trucks start barreling up the hill below 4:30 to 5 a.m. so forget about sleeping! It's extremely noisy!
Wi-Fi is a hot spot that ran out of gigs twice, so no internet until Suzie could re-up it.
No soap in our shower
Ran out of toilet paper!
Could use a good cleaning...the door to the kitchen is filthy from fingerprints

Though the view is beautiful and it is located very near the grocery store and Road Town, I would select a villa on the west or north shores for a more serene stay. I feel it was way overpriced for what we got.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The loudness of the road below made for a less than peaceful vacation
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2016
Many thanks for your good comments.
On the not so good, you were extremely unlucky to have trucks drive by so early in the morning, we have now changed the wifi so that it is automatically topped up without interruption of service, and apologies for supplies running out, we pride ourselves on the house being well equipped and supplied.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurenaw9
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Amazing!”
Reviewed 30 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I cannot say enough good things about Ralph's home on Tortola. We traveled as a group of 6 (three couples) and we were all completely blown away with the property. From the second we walked in through the front gate we could see the amazing almost 360 degree views.

Suzie, the on site property manager was more than accomodating and helped with car rentals, groceries, calling the ferries for us and more. It was great to have her on call if we needed anything although they took care of most things before we could even ask about them!

What I wasn't fully aware of was that the property is actually three separate buildings-The master bedroom connected to main living area and kitchen, the two queen size rooms were in their own building off the pool and then their was the guest house up top. This was quite an exciting surprise when we arrived because it gave everyone their privacy. The Kitchen had literally anything you could want and we made dinners at home every single night.

This is the perfect property for groups that want to get away from it all and enjoy their own views an private pool. I highly recommend this property, you won't regret it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: the driveway
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing