We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Head in the clouds”
other travellers have booked this property
Spyglass front elevation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spyglass front elevation
Spyglass side entrance morning Choose your breakfast spot
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Spyglass front elevation
Spyglass side entrance morning
Choose your breakfast spot
Arrive as Spyglass
Spyglass side entrance evening
Spyglass side facing St Eustatius
A full sized kitchen for your use - or why not bring in a chef?
Cool breezes are the norm at Spyglass, in all parts of the house
Inside table setting - but there are many nooks and alcoves for eating al fresco as well
Have a gaze outside over tea
Two equal bedrooms, one with a view of the neighbouring island
And one looking out over the Saba Bank
Large his and her shower en suite
Spacious bathrooms in teak and travertine
Closets designed for roll-in suitcases and maximum ventilation with baskets and curtain fronts
Books and mod cons like Ipod dock
Pure cool breeze around 22 deg C at night, passing across your bed as you look over the low sill
360 degree view from Spyglass
Veranda is en suite to bedroom
Al fresco dining at its best
Gazebo - gaze out to Statia while you relax in a hammock or grill some lunch
The telephoto shot from across the ghut.  Spyglass stands alone on a promontory
Relax in the rock tub with islands on the horizon.
Spyglass occupies a 1.5 acre site
Mount Scenery in the distance
Watch the sun rise and set from the observation deck
From 1500' or 500m of elevation, even cruise ships look small
Since 2010, Saba is now politically a part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Saba

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jakeman35
Cornelius, NC
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Head in the clouds”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
5
people found this review helpful

This place is touted by locals as the best view on the island. Whether this is true or not, Spyglass is a very unique 2 bedroom villa with breathtaking views of ocean, Sint Eustatius, and of course the island itself including the highest peak Mount Scenery, typically covered in clouds.

Spyglass is a very beautifully renovated (reconstructed) villa with a lot of history. The original site was owned by Calvin Holm, a well-known personality on Saba who died in 1998. There is a grave on the property with his name, but do not worry, it is tastefully placed out of sight.

This place should be on everyone's bucket list. Where else will you sit on the porch and see the sunrise over the ocean and the clouds rolling through Mount Scenery at the same time?

Reservation process and the communication prior to our arrival were super easy. Mark, the property manager seems to be on grid 24/7 and we took care of everything via emails. Mark managed to arrange taxi at the Saba airport, rental car and offered to provision house with groceries.

A few improvement ideas - there is no air conditioning in the villa. While there is ubiquitous breeze on the porch, the place gets humid inside during rain showers and cloud weather. The beds in both bedrooms are squeaky and mattresses are lumpy. There was about 1" visible mold spot on one of the windows curtains. We assumed the villa was going to be cleaned every day, but ended up emailing Mark asking for another cleaning. Some dishes and glasses were chipped.

Overall, we had a great time in Spyglass and on the island. We will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: No air conditioning
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeJenny...
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
629 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Stunning and flawless!!!!”
Reviewed 26 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Absolutely stunning! Beautiful house with at least 270 degree panorama of Mount Scenery the ocean hills roads in distance Also Eustacia, st Kitts and Nevis. House is perfect. All appliances super cold fridge. Washer dryer available if you need and ask for it. Large deck outside gazebo BBQ great furnishing. Enormous tile shower. House would be ok for walking impaired once up the stairs. We have stars in Many VRBO houses but this one blew them all away. My wife already has the calendar loaded into favorites. Dive shop Saba divers came to driveway to get us every day and both the manager Mr. Johnson and his assistant Jobie were great about any arrangements. Both management and Saba divers will pre stock with food and beverages if you email them. Is one of the most prestigious places to stay though we just picked it out and did not know that. A well to do couple from Texas were on shuttle cab from diving. They were newly weds and when we were being dropped off asked if they could get out and have a picture taken due to the stunning view. Super filtered and UV sterilizer drinking water full kitchen with dishes. Remember any food you need. We had to buy salt but left enough to cover this year. Also cream and sugars. Is mr. Coffee not a Keurig. Great freezer but fill the ice trays. Goats wander around as well as an iguana. The original owners grave is on site. Quant outdoor tub right on cliff edge. Cool after dark but great at sunset. It is breezy. Take jackets. Super safe and clean island. Very Eco conscious population. The owner mr Gibbs replies to emails promptly as does his manager mr Johnson. Mr Johnson runs a grocery there as well. Nothing open but restaurants on Sunday. Is a bit of a walk up a steep road from tow but doable. Can walk down take cab up with groceries. Cabs are around but you have to call them they are not easily hailed. House has a free hard wired phone for that and listing of cabs restaurant dive shops on counter

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devin W
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jaw Dropping”
Reviewed 14 December 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

An incredible view in an excellent location with a fantastic property manager. What more do you need to know?

Mark (the property manager) was extremely helpful and responsive during our time at Spyglass. We stayed in contact via WhatsApp both before and during our stay. I don't think I ever waited longer than 10min for a response. He made excellent food and activity recommendations, arranged for a rental car to be delivered to the property, had our laundry done on request, and handled the delivery of our groceries. In addition to all of that, we had a delightful conversation or three.

Also, regarding the view: the pictures cannot do it justice. Believe me, I tried to capture it a hundred times on my camera. Every 10 minutes you'll look out, feel compelled to capture the moment, and try again.

I could go on and on, but bottom line: If Spyglass is available during the dates you'll be staying on Saba, you'd be a fool not to book it. My only regret in writing this is that we'll need to compete with you for dates when booking our stay next year.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanne W
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Secluded, panoramic delight”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Unlike any other Caribbean island (seriously), Saba can truly boast that they have the cleanest, most peaceful atmosphere and of course the best hightop villa with outstanding panoramic ocean views.
Saba is truly unique! Where else would I behold grave stones in a back or side yard. Saba is so small and all land has been owned for generations, so I enjoyed reading the history of Spyglass Villa and marveled at how the current owner was able to so thoughtfully recreate a sea cottage with mixed European styles on the ruins of the original owner's homestead.
Wonderful experience for visitors who crave a relaxing cultural vacation.
Be sure to bring all toiletries and expect to pay handsomely for groceries since getting food to Saba is expensive. Buy extra cartons of eggs. They sell out in a hurry and don't come in but once a week!
Enjoy spotting the bunnies in the wild. A population explosion once the domestics got loose and never came home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The seclusion and panoramic views
Liked least: Mattress
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott R
Fairfax County, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“On Top of the World”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have visited gorgeous islands all over the world, but have never stayed in such an amazing villa as Spyglass. It is difficult to put into words what is visible from the balcony. Ocean, volcano and rain forest - all in one sweep of the eyes. As if that's not enough, the elevation and strategic construction, provide a constant flow of cool, clean air. With unobstructed views of the sunrise and sunset, we hardly left home except to dive. The interior is so open it never lets you forget what is outside waiting for you. Spyglass is worth every penny, and paid us in return with a vacation to remember.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing