We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Vieques North Shore Vacation Paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
55 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sloopdors...
Washington, D.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vieques North Shore Vacation Paradise”
Reviewed 6 August 2007 for a stay in June 2007
1
person found this review helpful

Vieques, in the Spanish Virgin Islands and in sight of better known St. Thomas, is everything one dreams of in an island paradise still mostly untouched by commercial developmant. The many white sand beaches (and one black lava sand beach) are uncrowded and often completely empty. Casa Ladera is a beautifully kept up gated estate with many fruit trees, flowering shrubs, and a huge well maintained pool shared by only the three apartments.

My wife and I plus our adult son and his fiance chose the upstairs of the main house and enjoyed a spacious, clean and comfortable two bedroom space with full kitchen, two full baths (the pool area has an additional bath), and a breathtaking view of the unbelievable blue water with the islands of St. Thomas and Culebra in sight. The living room, dining area and full kitchen have a vaulted ceiling, while a gallery (upstairs porch) runs the entire front of the building facing the sea. The entire indoor space is centrally air-conditioned.

Adjoining the pool is a covered al fresco dining area complete with refrigerator, sink and gas grills. Our week in paradise went by much too quickly and we look forward to returning to Casa Ladera again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Liked best: The proprietors, Jen and Lauren, take beautiful care of this wonderful property
Liked least: Island time is supposed to be slow, but our week was over much too soon
Visit was for: Quality time with family
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarsonCus...
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 15 February 2007 for a stay in February 2007
2
people found this review helpful

A group of four of us stayed in the upstairs rental at Casa Ladera and just returned yesterday. We had an amazing time and didn't want to leave.

The upstairs was spacious and well-decorated, and contained all the appliances and accomadations that you could ever need. We didn't spend much time inside, as we were off exploring all day, and generally cooked meals and hung out outside in the beautiful pool area.

Jen was able to pick us up at the airport and give us some very useful information regarding the island. Also, the property offers a convenient car rental, which is necessary to explore all of the amazing beaches that Vieques has to offer.

The beach is a short walk from the house, and is actually quite a unique beach. Though not the best for swimming, there is nice sea glass, and great snorkeling on the far left side.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Visit was for: Quality time with friends
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerkeleyT...
Berkeley
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“An exquisite experience- we can't wait to return”
Reviewed 18 December 2006 for a stay in November 2006
4
people found this review helpful

After thoroughly researching our beach vacation we chose Casa Ladera based upon the Trip Advisor reviews. The property was exactly what we had hoped for: Clean accomodations, a large beautiful pool, quiet and comfortable. Our upstairs unit was well appointed with new appliances, AC, satellite TV and tiled floors. The owners Jen and Lauren made us feel very welcome and provided lots of helpful island advice. Without doubt, this island has the most perfect beaches in the Caribbean. A wonderful week in paradise!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Liked best: Quiet, low key, comfortable
Liked least: Having to secure everything
Visit was for: Quality time with friends
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne D
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never let your guard down”
Reviewed 19 April 2006
8
people found this review helpful

Pictures can be a little deceiving in this beautiful little out of the way paradise. Although it doesn't get much better than this beautiful little island of Vieques, beware. We visited Vieques and Casa Ladera last year for two weeks and were robbed twice. Unfortunately, the laid back life and tranquility of the island led us to putting our guard down. The first time we were robbed was on Garcia Beach. It had started to drizzle so we decided to take a few minutes to walk down the beach in hopes that it would clear(nobody was on the beach or parking) and within 3 minutes our bag was gone along with 2 cameras and $200 (we planned to do groceries and get gas on our way home from the beach). As bad as this all sounds, it was our fault for letting our guard down but a week later our apartment on the 2nd floor at Casa Ladera was broken in to in the middle of the night. We woke up at 2:30 in the morning only to find the thief in our bedroom. Luckily when we yelled out the person took off but not before he had gone through all our luggage taking the last digital camera, titanium eyeglasses and a good sum of money. As it turns out there was a lock on the patio door that we did not know existed and were never told about. When trying to reach the owners, one was in London, England and the other in Boston on vacation. We were the only occupants at the time. There was no follow up action taken by the owners.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2006
This incident happened over a year ago, and we immediately took measures to make sure it wouldn't happen again. We installed security doors with a deadbolt lock, and we've never had any problems with theft or anything else since then. We always tell our guests to keep the doors locked at night, and not to bring valuables to the beach.

If you continue reading the rest of the reviews of Casa Ladera, you'll find lots of helpful information about the amenities we offer and other details about the property.


This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoxFanInN...
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Home away from home (but nicer)”
Reviewed 15 March 2006 for a stay in March 2006
6
people found this review helpful

After five consecutive years of visiting Puerto Rico (Isabela on the 'Big Island'), my girlfriend and I, along with a friend, finally made our way to Vieques. Our decision to stay at Casa Ladera was based mainly on previous guest reviews and I can confidently say that we were not disappointed. The house is very well-maintained with comfortable beds, quality sheets (seems like a weird thing to mention but this has always been an issue for me in other rental units),a well-stocked kitchen (thanks for leaving spices in the cabinet), as well as a large selection of movies and books. The unit we stayed in was large and airy (never felt the need to use the air-conditioning). Also, the SUVs offered for rent were definitely of high quality.

Jen and Lauren (go Red Sox!) - you're both doing a great job. It's clear you're both working hard to keep your property in great shape. Plan on seeing us next year!

Value Rooms
Cleanliness Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing