We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“For either the Budget-minded or those that want...”
other travellers have booked this property
View from the West
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the West
Lower and Upper Level View View from Rooftop Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
4 reviews
View from the West
Lower and Upper Level View
View from Rooftop Terrace
Available Beach Front Area
Beach Front Window
Second Level Apartment with Balcony-$120 US
Second Level Apartment with Balcony-$120 US
Second Level Apartment with Balcony-$120 US
Second Level Apartment with Balcony-$120 US
Second Level Apartment with Balcony-$120 US
Second Level Apartment with Balcony-$120 US
View from rooftop terrace
First Level Sleeping Area
First Level Air Conditioner
First Level-Studio Apartment Living Area
First Level Kitchen Area
First Level Toilet
Second Level Apartment with Balcony-$120 US
Second Level Apartment with Balcony-$120 US
Second Level Apartment with Balcony-$120 US
Beach House seen from the water
Guest's Photo
Private Beach Area
Private Beach Area
First Level Entrance from back
Location Map
Satellite Photo of property
Travel time from Sangster International Airport
Open Beach Front Area-Private Beach
Looking towards the East-Idle Hours around the corner
Fishermen Boats next door.
Private Beach Area
Beach Front Area
Beach Front Area
Available  Beach Area
Houses to the West
Club Ambiance to the West
Club Ambiance to the West
Jewels Resort to the East of Beach House (Cottage)
Paddle Boating
Going deep sea fishing
View fron Balcony
View fron Balcony
View fron Balcony
View from Rooftop Terrace
Outside View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
566yvonne...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hell Hole”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Neville White: Property Owner. Paulette Anderson: Property Manager.
I rented this Property from December 20th 2015 to March 9th 2016.(80 days)
Arrival Dec 20th,
The View of the Building from the outside was very nice.
Paulette greeted me with a welcome gift of Jamaican fried fish and two bottles of wine, that was greatly appreciated.
After that' it was downhill all the way.
Furniture: everything is cheap and some were broken, there is no bedside tables and no lamps, just the light in the ceiling, I use one luggage rack with a tray to form a night table.
I asked Paulette for a lamp, I got a lamp alright?.. six weeks later' Neville gave me a small lamp and a light bulb no shade.
Wall robe: I pull out the drawers to put my things away, the front of the drawer came off in my hands. One door was also falling off, I had some duck tape with me' I use some to tape the door.
Security: there is no security whatsoever on this Property except for Five Dogs that barked Day and Night 24/7.
Safety: The steps to front entrance have a pathway that goes to the fishermen's beach, That spot is a quick release spot for the local! that is where they urinate.
Those same steps always have some rough looking characters sitting there trying to pick up free Wi-Fi-, There is only one way in or out of the building, so you can call the police or be trapped in the building.
Breach front:The beach is not useable, it is full of Seaweed, Broken glass, Needles, Condoms and Garbage, it is also a public walkway" I was approached many times asking' if I wanted to buy drugs.
Water pressure: water pressure is so low, taking a shower! you must stand almost against the wall' and if you try to adjust the tap to get more water it comes out scalding hot.
Bed linen: They are all hand wash and line dry, but the clothes line is located near the fishermen's hut, the towels are hard as rock and smell of smoke.
Hot water tank: there is only one small hot water tank 'on Solar panel for the entire property. If it rains' there is no hot water, it rained in Jamaica from February 10th to the 15th. No Sun = Cold shower for five days, there were no back-up system in place for hot water.
Kitchen: Not equipped, there is only two small pots to prepare meals, the rest not useable.
I asked Neville for a frying pan' never got it, However the end of January Neville gave me a cheap aluminum duchy pot that he bought from the side of the road, that was six weeks after I had asked for a frying pan.
Roof top Hot Tub: There is no Hot tub? just a concrete Tub that holds Cold water, This was advertise as a Hot tub/Soaker tub, the jets do not work, and there is no Hot water.
Neville's Arrival :Neville spent three weeks on the property during that time it was like a Nightmare from hell, his behaviour was intrusive / destructive and disrespectful, there was no consideration given 'that I was a guest on the property.
I asked Neville about the inconsistencies of what he advertise, and what the property really offers' the answer was ( quoted)
When I built this place' it was for me and my wife to retire, But Jamaican are like Crabs, they see an empty shell and they crawl in' that is the only reason I rented.(but he collected $8,250.00 of my money.
After 80 days in Jamaica I came back to Canada tired and disappointed.
Please do not rent this Hell Hole, the look is very deceiving. You will be disappointed. Only wish I was told before I rented.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I was able to look out in the Ocean ( Ocean View.
Liked least: The Dogs Barking 24/7.very little sleep
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eumeka w
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Looking for a Terrible Vacation -- Rent Here!! Runaway Bay Hell House”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
11
people found this review helpful

This was the worse vacation rental and the ad for the property is completely deceiving. The property is listed as a "Beach house" with roof top Jacuzzi also stating it has air condition. This is ALL UNTRUE, YES A LIE!!! To begin the beach is not accessible, due to the glass, razors blades, plastic forks, old rusted food cans, plastic bottles, old clothing, plastic bags, a tire with debris and trash in and around, old reef and several other things. All a hazard, and far from what I would call a clean beach area, this was directly in front of house. Because the property owner is so economical he has choose not to have the rocks and other debris removed, instead he made excuses saying that the current pushes up that much trash nightly. This was not true as I pointed out to him the same trash from Wednesday when I first arrived was still there Sunday. However, his wife disputed with me it was clean and it was cleaned ever day (clearly we have a different definition of clean, I don't call trash laying around clean). This was not even close to the main problem ... the property list in description to have air conditioning, it just DOES NOT WORK!!! I rented for 9 nights of which 7 DID NOT HAVE WORKING AC!!!!! Which I also asked him about prior to renting the Hell Hole and he claimed yes, it worked. The entire place has "1" fan and he never attempted in making any accommodations. Instead, he said "I know it's hot, because it went out on me and my wife and the next day I went and bought a new AC unit." Really!!!! The Jacuzzi is more like a cold tub the jets DO NOT WORK and it DOES NOT GET HOT!! Or ever warm. It's also covered with two tacky pieces of plywood boards that you have to take on and off if you want to use the cold tub. He will also say this works. Let's not forget the ants in bathroom, kitchen, and the spiders in bathroom and the bugs in the bedroom with the twin beds. The cabinet in other room is all broken up, neither of the drawers work. The shower curtain lining in the bathroom should have been replaced years ago along with the towels that feel like they have rocks in them. Also when you, IF you can get new towels the property manager will stand there and wait on you to gather up towels and give to her immediately (as if they would be stolen). And speaking of her she has very poor experience in dealing with people and although she is a nice lady she does not possess any people /management skills. The so called safe should not even exist, it's not attached to anything I could have brought that back with me. The Wi-Fi only works if you call and get permission for someone to turn it on. They also suggest that you pay $50.00 for parking, this is just another way to get money from you. You can park on the side of road just like everybody else and not pay one dime. And the dogs on the property are annoying and bark half of the night. Now here is the rest of the story: I dealt with him and his wife, both displaying extremely low levels of knowledge and just plan out no common sense. I spoke with the owner, property manager and they were both aware of these situations ALL OF THEM!!! I also asked him to put himself in my place and do the right thing in the amount that I should be refunded. I agreed to assist him in providing him with the proper divers to get beach cleaned, (of which he asked me for number twice indicates that he knows his property is a mess) I provided him with phone numbers, I doubt he uses. Carrying on, I also agreed NOT to make a post about his property if he handled right, instead he allowed his ignorant wife to yell and curse and me and make statement like, "this is Jamaica, I should expect things to happen". Another ignorant statement. As well he did not refund my money, however he did inform me of the financial problems and the cost of his daughter going to school in France, or where ever he said. Bottom line like I told him, I did not go on vacation to sit and speak with him about his troubles, and with all due respect I did not care. It's called vacation!!! I did not receive half of what was offered and if you rent here you will be lied to as well. He claimed he had just put in a new ac unit, his story changed many times. He is a straight out liar and does not take care of the property that he said he inherited from his father and his other family members were not helping like his brother and sister. So because he once again, broke his side of contact I posted only the truth about his property. I'm sorry it had to come to this but I asked to resolve this which he also lied and said that I only rented for 8 nights at $120.00 a night, but my statement says $135.00 a night for 9 nights. He also lied to Trip Advisor stating that he has refunded the additional monies this is also a LIE!!! So at this point, due to the aggravation and all of the other annoying foolishness I have had to deal with, I may as well go all the way. Mr. White you and Trip Advisor should be hearing from my lawyers soon. Thank you all for taking the time to read and I do hope that if you’re looking for a Hell of a Vacation full of B.S. and Bugs ...Rent Here!!! You won’t be disappointed!!! P.S. No cleaning service either for 9 nights really .... TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Leaving the Property
Liked least: Bugs, no air conditioner and no use of beach ...The owner provides you a guest card to go to other beach...and they close at 5 p.m. ...But he wont tell you about until after you thought you had a beach house
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
We have 3 wall mounted air conditioning (ac)units, 1 in each of the bedrooms and the ac units are less than two years old. They are modified with a switch relay to prevent guests from running the units while the house exterior doors are left open. In this case one of the modification on one of the AC unit failed. I was unable to get the technician to correct the problem in a timely way due his broken promises. I can assure everyone the AC units are currently working correctly. I have since purchased a portable AC unit which is to be used as a backup and I have contracted other AC technicians for faster service.
The room layout of the two bed unit, if the all windows and all exterior doors are closed , one AC unit will eventually cool the whole level providing that the two interior room doors are left open. This was explained to the guest.
The full story of why my guest was so angry and why she wrote such a malicious review. Yes, the AC unit failing made the situation worst. But before the ac unit failed, the guest was smoking marijuana in the presence of my property manager, and myself. It was clear to us that she was there in Jamaica with her friends to "party" under the new marijuana laws. And she choose my beach house as the venue to do it. She was reminded that smoking of marijuana was not allowed in the rooms or on the balcony of the building. She was offended and accused my wife and I of being there using our ground level unit to "spying on her".
The lifestyle habits of my guests are no business of mine but when it interferes with the enjoyment of my building for myself and my future guests it becomes a problem for me.
She asked for a full refund and I gave her refund for the nights the AC was not working and for only the room that the AC did not work in. She was not happy and threatened "no one will ever rent from you again" if I did not give the entire stay for free.
During her 9 days stay we did other things to accommodate her. I personally repaired her rental car flat tire to save her time, I loaned her extra lounge chairs so she could enjoy other beaches on her travels, we also loaned her new life jackets and an electric inflatable air pump, these things she requested.
Cleanliness and running AC is my number one priority for my guests and my family.

Neville White
Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave C
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“For either the Budget-minded or those that want to experience life in Jamaica the way it really is…..”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
21
people found this review helpful

Okay, so I rented this Beach House from December 28-January 5 (inclusive) and although this review is long, I've gone to great lengths to ensure it’s both accurate and thorough.

If you prefer the illusion of security provided by sleeping security guards, maid service provided by individuals you've never met, seeing the “power drinkers” at a resort and conversing only with individuals you've met on your flight, then I suggest you skip this review and look at a resort.

If you are budget conscious and don’t mind saving money, making your own bed, cooking the occasional meal, and meeting locals then read on…..
The House: The house is exactly as shown. The owner (Neville) has clearly taken great pride in its building and upkeep and for Jamaican standards, it’s quite nice indeed. Now I’m from Canada and I’d equate it to a Cottage Rental north of the City. In fact, I've stayed at friends cottages that are not as nice.
I chose to rent the entire place and at the cost, it was a wise choice. Being an insomniac, my wife, daughter and “rented child” (brought down a friend of my daughters) could all sleep and I could use the lower unit to watch TV and make coffee during the wee hours of the morning.
The upper unit sleeps 4 in 2 bedrooms (1 Queen and 2 twin) and the lower unit sleeps 4 (2 queen) on an open concept. Plenty of hot water and I've stayed at resorts with less water pressure. Oh, BTW there are wall safes for use but I will not publically post where they’re located in each unit rather, I’ll leave that to Neville to tell you.

The Location: you’re about 20km east of Ochos Rios (maybe 20 minutes) and about 50km west of Mo Bay (about 45 minutes) so really, it’s a great location if you want to get out and “do the island”. A car rental is strongly advised and I rented a Mitsubishi Lancer from Budget for 8 days for $450USD and saved a lot of money. Given that a taxi is about $40pp from the Airport I saved $320 alone there (return trip). Dunn’s River Falls (Ochos Rios) is about $100pp if you’re at a resort but only $20 if you drive yourself so I saved another $320 so right there, I more than paid for the rental. Also, this gave us the freedom to go wherever we wanted and whenever we wanted to do so.
There’s a neighbor (Rico, great guy! More about him later under locals) that will allow you to park within his gated and secure house. A gratuity ($40 or $50 would be the right thing to do). I did pretty well the entire north side of the Island but didn’t go into the mountains (and I’m kicking myself for not doing so). Remember, they drive on the left and some drivers are overly cautious and others are simply wacko….

Shopping (& Groceries): Paulette, the property manager lives in a place adjacent to the house and she owns a little store up on the road (The Little Shop) that’s good for emergency needs but is also a wealth of information. It’s also a gathering place for locals and transplants as well. There’s a place in Mo-Bay called “Mega Mart” that’s a lot like a Price Club or for us Canadians, Costco. Pretty well has just about everything but milk sells out quickly so it’s best to go early. There’s also a new place on Ochos Rios that looks very clean and new but the name escapes me. You can find souvenirs anywhere so I won’t even go there. I brought down a couple pounds of frozen bacon, cereal, some instant rice and pringles chips and by the time I arrived (8 hours door to door) the bacon was just starting to thaw so choose what to bring depending on your flight time. There’s also a local Supermarket about a 5 minute walk to the west and it’s augmented by a lot of local street vendors (sugar cane, bananas, peppers, onions, plantain, coconuts, pineapples and that kind of thing). Remember, most of everything is a bit pricey and to get an idea, google Mega Mary or Hi-Low Supermarkets in Jamaica to get an idea.

Safety and Pot: Let’s face it, it’s Jamaica. There’s a lot of pot and it’s not my cup of tea so I simply said I was a police officer and they left me alone. The area is safe and the police station is a couple of miles away but just like everywhere else, use common sense. Both units (upstairs and downstairs) are quite secure with bars on the windows but again, tastefully done. Again, Paulette is right next door as well.

Dining and Nightlife: Great food everywhere and Paulette even hosted a Jerk BBQ one night (outstanding). There’s the Ultimate Jerk to the east by Green Grotto Caves (a nice tour and they filmed a James Bond movie there) and Sharkies to the west but the best Jerk is to be had at the “pop-up Jerk BBQ’s”. They appear every now and then (& gone just as quickly as they came) and it’s almost like a competition to see who has the best Jerk. They take great pride in their cooking and is a “must try”. Bars, well that’s up to you but again, use common sense.

The Locals: I made a lot of new friends that I’d like to stay in touch with. Paulette; a sweetheart who is always willing to help (sidebar, like Rico earlier, a gratuity is the right thing to do). Rico, one of the nicest guys you’ll meet. Claudia and her husband (German couple that winter long term at Rico’s) are very nice and provide a European perspective on things. Again, just head up to the “little Shop” for some good conversation and a drink. There is one spooky looking guy that apparently used to be one of the most promising artists on the island but sadly, he got mixed up with drugs and is now a homeless mess and although he may look spooky, he’s harmless and is “shooed” away quickly. Pogie is kind of jack of all trades that maintains the property and although a little difficult to understand, he’s always willing to help.

The Waterfront and Beach: The front is covered in sand and is fine for sunning but the water’s not really swimmable due to coral augmented by the fact that the wind blows from the north east and seaweed, rocks and plastic wash up nightly. With that being said; there is a rooftop hot tub kind of thing but Neville is also a member of a Club that has a private Beach down the road (20 minute walk but 2 minutes by car) and it’s quite nice. Beach lounging chairs can be rented for $200 Jamaican ($2) per day but again, with a car you can go anywhere.

Cellular and Wifi: If your kids are like all others, internet access (data) is a must and an all you can eat digital plan can be had for $20 + $5 (sim card fee but make sure that your phone can accept one of the larger sim’s otherwise they’ll cut it to size for you) at the Digicel store in Mo Bay down by Doctor’s Cave but Neville can get you directions.

A couple of Must-Do’s: Margaritaville in Mo Bay. Expensive but worth it and wear a bathing suit (you'll understand why once you're there). Dunn’s River Falls (Ochos Rios), Green Grotto Caves (neat), Negril, that’s a day trip but worth it and Doctor’s Cave in downtown Mo Bay.

Duty Free at the Airport: No real bargains to be had I’m sorry to say. Oh, have a bite before you go or you can enjoy your $8USD hamburger.

The Owner: I found the owner (Neville, from Canada) to be quite easy to deal with and most willing to make sure that your stay is enjoyable. Remember, things are tough to get on the island and small gestures like offering to bring something that is needed down would be greatly appreciated.

Summary: It’s EXACTLY what I expected and like anything else, it’s what you make of it. Given that I was down over New Years, I saved a few thousand over a resort. I’d recommend it for those that want to enjoy the sun at a reasonable cost.

Remember, its island speed and everything “Soon Come” so be patient.
Overall, good value for your dollar.

I hope you find this of use.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall cost augmented by location
Liked least: the coral in front
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachbunn...
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Live like a local”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in March 2014
12
people found this review helpful

My boyfriend & I stayed for 3 days for a wedding. I'm not going to lie, I was a bit nervous of the area, but it is actually quite safe. You don't get harassed like you do in the touristy areas. There's a little store where you'll meet Paulette. She takes care of the units & will help you with anything you need. We stayed in the upper unit. One thing you need to know is that this unit has NO AIR CONDITIONING & this is one of the main reasons why I booked this place. It states that it has air conditioning, but the lower unit has it. It was hot & humid & I couldn't really blow dry my hair & I was attending a wedding, but at night there was that tropical breeze. We even had our door open for a breeze & nobody bothered us. The inside is decorated nicely & is very clean. There was some things that need to be looked over such as the shower pressure is low unless you want scalding hot water on you then it's fine. The dressers need hangers in them & although the view is beautiful, there was some trash along the fence along with a gas can. Two major things you should know....one is that there are wild dogs that roam on the beach & there is one on the property. He's friendly, but won't approach you. He actually protects you believe it or not. The one night we had our door wide open & he slept outside of it, never came in. If you want to sleep in, dogs barking will wake you up. The second thing is that the beach is not swimmable at all, but I learned from a local that there's a beach to the right where you can go snorkeling. Again, we only stayed for 3 days & weren't there much, but everyone there was friendly & they are making the roof into a rooftop deck which I'm sure will be beautiful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the cleanliness & furniture
Liked least: No air conditioning
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;