We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$330
Curio.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
US$347
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Ambiance(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$193
US$176
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cardiff Hotel & Spa(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Haven Condo Resort(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Little Savoy(Runaway Bay)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
US$388
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Franklyn D. Resort & Spa(Runaway Bay)(Great Value!)
US$650
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,912)
Filter reviews
2,912 results
Traveller rating
1,709
830
256
67
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,709
830
256
67
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolegg boylaser tagkids clubkids campwater park isplatinum restaurantthe grillfamily vacationstacy annpizza placejade samuraiswim up bararts and craftscoral cafelife guardsjapanese restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 2,912 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent beach excellent staff excellent kids club excellent water park food good room air conditioning no so good would definitely recommend to friends and family
Check in fast and efficient entertainment was enjoyable

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank wwwfranceschij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheldon D, Social Media Champion at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Franceschi. Please come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The younger and younger at heart kids loved the water park and the beach. Older kids loved all the activities available. Like any all-inclusive, there was no want for food or drink. Rooms were clean, comfortable, and safe. Staff was accommodating of every request. Each room has a mini split A/C unit that worked well. Our room, 3219, had no door to the bathroom area, however I believe this is due to the mini-split AC system. It seems that it would be unreasonable to expect this system to work well in the bath area if it were sealed off without another way to remove humidity and cool an enclosed area.

Room Tip: Wifi is spotty and slow, but seemed to be stronger and faster early in the morning, or later at night.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheldon D, Social Media Champion at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you David and family for choosing to stay with us. We also thank you for your feedback and do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just recently spent 5 days at this property in the beginning of June. Prior to arriving, I had read quite a few reviews and wasn't sure what to expect, since a lot of people are nit picky or complain about little things, Well, let's just say that a lot of the reviews were correct. The hotel is run down and needs some up keeping. The rooms are very old and run down. Our shower kept leaking water out on to the floor and we kept having to put towels on the floor to dry up the mini flood we had every day after showering. Which by the way, they are very stingy with the towels, so had to use a lot of the pool towels. The concept of "Island Time" is definitely observed here. Everything takes a very long time, from waiting around on seating, food etc. The food buffet was ok which is expected. The Jade Samurai restaurant was great. We ate there two nights in a row and Llandale was a great cook. The pizza restaurant was also good, but be aware that you they are very slow here. The snack grill was also good but I felt bad for the cooks as there would almost always just be one or two cooks working with a long line of people waiting. One night we had the candlight dinner on the beach and it was amazing. The only set back is that we did have to wait long periods of times between courses and had to wait for dessert in our room since we had to go pick our child up from the kids camp. Which of course we had to wait forever for him to bring our dessert to the room. The kids camp was great. Our son spent majority of his time there, as he did not want to leave or come with us. The water park was also a big hit for him. Overall, we had a great time. It is a very family oriented hotel, so that was a big plus for us, but probably would not come and stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 926niab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheldon D, Social Media Champion at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you you for choosing us and also for your review. Rooms are dated yes but I wouldn't use the term run down since we do upkeeps as much as possible. The property is also in the pipeline for renovations. We are glad that you had a great time at the Jade Samurai restaurant and also enjoyed the others. We hope you will change your mind and come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This resort could easily be 5 stars in terms of quality/value for the money. However, the weakest spot is its poor WiFi. I only got internet in my room in the middle of the night and it was weak or nonexistent throughout the resort,especially during peak periods, including in the lobby. This was a big issue for me because unfortunately, I had work to do while on vacation so I had to wake up in the middle of the night when internet was most reliable, in order to catch up on emails.
The rooms were spacious. Slightly outdated, but I found the furniture to be solid and the layout very functional, so I preferred that to a more modern room, especially since the most critical function is sleep and shower, which were both comfortable.
The food is excellent with a great balance of traditional Jamaican dishes, as well as international fare with great variety. Don't miss out on the french toast. So good!
The beach is beautiful. During our time there, we never had any issues finding a chair with shade at any time of the day. Beachside drink service could be improved, but not a dealbreaker.
The waterpark is fabulous. Children and adults will love it. While we were there, there were locals, who came to enjoy the waterpark, but the lifeguards did a great job of proactively controlling the crowds. The biggest issue that I had was at the waterpark snack bar, where service was lacking from the staff.
I didn't try the kids club, but the room looked standard.
The spa, was not really a spa in the traditional sense, but I did receive an excellent massage treatment. Just beware that the massages are in hut like/containers with portable ACs and fans and the room does get hot. So maybe choose the time of day that you go, wisely. That being said, my therapist was excellent and very professional.
Service was hit or miss. Some staff went beyond the call of duty, others seemed annoyed by basic questions.
Overall, I would definitely return to this resort- just not during a time of year where I had to stay plugged in at work.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Mcsbutrfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheldon D, Social Media Champion at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for staying with us Mcsbutrfly and also for your feedback. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Spent 7 nights at the resort and we had very nice clean room not 5 star luxury but was very clean and the staff are very friendly and went out of there way for you.
The food is good especially the Caribbean restaurant.
The kids club is excellent and professional thank you Ladies my twin girls enjoyed every day they spent there . The hotel is great for families we will definitely be back soon.Please don’t listen to bad reviews about this hotel as we always normally stay in 5 Star hotels and have to stay I think this hotel is the best hotel in Jamaica for children and families and we have been to few hotels and this beats all of them for friendly and relaxing holiday.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Southlondon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheldon D, Social Media Champion at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much Southlondon123. We are glad that you and your family had a great time with us. We truly look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews