We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical Family Vacation”
other travellers have booked this property
Retreat Plantation House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Retreat Plantation House
Retreat Plantation House - view toward the cane fields Retreat Plantation House - evening light
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Retreat Plantation House
Retreat Plantation House - view toward the cane fields
Retreat Plantation House - evening light
Retreat Plantation House - view from driveway
Retreat Plantation House - steps from parking to kitchen
Retreat Plantation House - garden
Retreat Plantation House - garden early morning
Retreat Plantation House - entrance from Negril
Retreat Plantation House - entrance from Savla Mar
Retreat Plantation House - living room North view
Retreat Plantation House - living room South view
Retreat Plantation House - front veranda morning light
Retreat Plantation House - front veranda West view
Retreat Plantation House - front veranda East view
Retreat Plantation House - front veranda early morning light 1
Retreat Plantation House - front veranda early morning light 2
Retreat Plantation House - dawn mist in the valley
Retreat Plantation House - side veranda morning light
Retreat Plantation House - side veranda with hammock
Retreat Plantation House - green bedroom 1
Retreat Plantation House - green bedroom 2
Retreat Plantation House - green bedroom 3
Retreat Plantation House - middle bedroom 1
Retreat Plantation House middle bedroom 2
Retreat Plantation House - pink bathroom  (for middle & green bedrooms)
Retreat Plantation House - back veranda
Retreat Plantation House - main bedroom 1
Retreat Plantation House - main bedroom 2
Retreat Plantation House - main bedroom 3
Retreat Plantation House  - main bedroom bathroom
Retreat Plantation House - kitchen 1
Retreat Plantation House - kitchen 2
Retreat Plantation House - dining area 1
Retreat Plantation House - dining area 2
Retreat Plantation House - dining area 3
Retreat Plantation House back yard
Retreat Plantation House back yard toward dining area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Negril, Westmoreland Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Orestes P
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Magical Family Vacation”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Booking this vacation was really easy. Robin was always in touch with us via email and phone and answered all our questions and requests we had. He arranged an extra crib for both our boys. Robin had arranged for a driver to pick us up in Montego Bay Airport, he was waiting for us just as we came out of the gates. We took the coast road towards Negril which takes around an hour and half. On our way, we stopped at a supermarket to buy groceries and drinks.

When we arrived to the house, Robin was waiting for us. He helped us bring our luggage to the house and explained everything about the house. We immediately felt like at home. The house is very spacious, large living room and bedrooms. The kitchen had everything you need to make delicious meals. The fridge take a bit to cool things but works fine. All outside windows and doors are protected by a screen to prevent bugs from coming in. One of favorite place was the backyard, where we sat for coffee as hummingbirds came to visit us. It also had an outside shower in case you wanted to cool down quickly.

They whole property is really big. You have a wonderful view from you verandah. Across from the house there is a working sugar cane plantation and mountains in the distance. Sometimes we would smell the sugar cane being burned. There are also some tropical fruits on site like coconut, mango, banana, aki, bread fruit and if you feel a bit adventurous, there is little cave at the end of the yard. You will have to climb a bit but the views of the whole place is much better. Enjoy the sunrises from the verandah.

The house is really clean. Miss Edna and Miss Marcia do an excellent job. They can go to town and get groceries for you. They both cooked an amazing Jamaican lunch. It was a real treat. You can contact massage services if you like. Billy came to your house for a very affordable price. She is very professional and has excellent hands. The gardener "G", brought us coconut and bread fruit, something we had never tried.

Going to town is very easy. Just walk down to the road and taxis are passing frequently. Maximum we paid to go four persons to Margaritaville was $10 US. I recommend first calling Clifford, Robin recommends him. He will make your trip much happier. On our was back to the airport in Montego Bay, Clifford took us through the mountain road. The views were expectaculars as we went across Jamaica.

I recommend this vacation house if you want to experience a real Jamaican experience just outside the noise of Negril

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how easy i felt like home
Liked least: the stove
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jess_can
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A home away from home...”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My family and I have just returned from a wonderful week at the Retreat Plantation House, where we went to celebrate my Mother's birthday.

We'd been to an all-inclusive hotel last November, and unfortunately, we had found it difficult to accommodate everyone's needs, particularly with two babies who are up at the crack of dawn and then go to sleep around 6 pm. It seemed like we were always stuck in the room, and couldn't even leave to grab a cup of coffee, etc. As such, I'd been looking for vacation rentals online and was excited when I came across the Plantation House. I contacted the owner, Robin, and knew immediately from his rapid response and friendly tone that this would be the right place for my family.

When we arrived at the Montego Bay airport, Robin had kindly arranged for a driver to pick us up in a van large enough to accommodate our group. The drive to Negril took about an hour along the coast road, and then another 15 minutes or so past Sheffield to the Plantation House. Robin was there to meet us at the house, and helped us bring our luggage in and get settled. He showed us around the house, and answered any questions we had about the property and getting around Negril.

The house has three bedrooms, which comfortably accommodated our a group of 6 adults and 2 infants (11-month-old twins). Robin made a special arrangement to have an extra crib brought into the house (we needed 2), which we greatly appreciated!

The house has a full kitchen with a large refrigerator (which takes a long time to cool things down, but they do get nice and cold), a coffee maker and grinder, a toaster, a toaster oven, and a microwave. We bought groceries from local markets, and had no trouble preparing our own meals and snacks throughout the day. The entire house is completely screened, which was fantastic because we were able to walk around at dawn and dusk without bugs bothering us.

The housekeepers, Marcia and Edna, are lovely ladies, and did a wonderful job keeping the house neat and tidy throughout our stay. We enjoyed chatting with them when they were in the house, and we certainly didn't find them intrusive in any way. The gardener, 'G', is also lovely, and brought us fresh coconuts and roasted breadfruit. What a treat!

In sum, we had an excellent week, and wouldn't hesitate to return to the Plantation House. Robin is a lovely host, and works with a number of very reliable, honest, and overall special people to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We miss you all, and look forward to keeping in touch!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the ambiance of the old wood and the large, fully-screened veranda.
Liked least: The road just beyond the property is quite noisy throughout the day and into the night.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danfrog20...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool Country”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

A very relaxed stay for two nights. It is in the country side and away from the heavily visited Negril coast, but there is still traffic noise heard from the road. We had no problems with safety. One or two quirks of the place; first, we were instructed to drink bottled water (provided free of charge). I am glad they are looking out for their guests. Two, the kitchen is separate from the house. It was kind of neat. Three, the refrigerator took a day to get cold enough to keep anything chilled, but it was the only place we stayed that had a full-sized frig in Jamaica.

I would write all the great things about this place, but it would take hours. The cleaning lady was attentive, almost overly so. The cleaning lady came early morning (7:30/8 a.m.?) and just waited for us (on the porch) to get out of bed. Sometime it was awkward for me, but she was very nice.

I would not hesitate to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spacious and private
Liked least: traffic noise
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catlovers...
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“In summary...Excellent!!”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
6
people found this review helpful

Where do I begin? Staying here is like taking a step back into the life of yesteryear, but with all the modern trappings one could desire.
The house is well presented and very well taken care of. Dotted around the house are interesting artifacts and artwork/framed photographs by local artists or by Robin himself. Robin, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. He has a depth of local knowledge and has provided information detailing local and national attractions. Robin took us on a tour of his sugar cane fields one morning and gave us an interesting and insightful commentary as we drove along; stopping periodically to give us photo opportunities and to have a detailed look at some of the machinery and building relics. In the afternoon of that same day, Robin recommended a nice restaurant to us which we enjoyed visiting and he even picked us back up again to take us home. Nothing was too much for him. It was reassuring that he was on hand whenever we needed him, despite having a busy and full life himself, but he in no way was obtrusive.
The housekeepers, Marcia and Edna were also very friendly.
The house is ideally located for both Negril and Sav La Mar. Sav was great for shopping for groceries, clothes, etc.. Negril was great for restaurants and mingling with tourists, we even had a wealth of local churches to choose from. Getting around wasn’t difficult as there was a wealth of local cabs passing by the property.
We had a great time and enjoyed the great scenic views from the verandah, whilst relaxing and listening to the sounds of the natural wildlife around the area.
This was my first stay in Jamaica and I could not have had a better time. I would highly recommend this house to anyone looking for alternatives to impersonal hotels and wanting to have a more home-from-home experience. I will definitely visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
558alisl
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A gracious, tranquil house, lovingly cared for”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
6
people found this review helpful

Retreat is a gracious, tranquil house in a lovely location. It has been lovingly furnished and decorated, and is beautifully maintained. Spacious, with polished wooden floors and crisp bed linen. It wants for nothing. The listing description is spot-on, and the photos convey the ambiance very well. Robin is a delightful host, and the staff kind and caring. A world away from Negril, yet close enough to make it quick and easy to get there… if you can tear yourself away from the house! A good base for exploring the western end of the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall ambiance and attention to detail
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing