We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveller rating
663
67
17
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
663
67
17
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cave dinner blue hole hot tub rum bar blue dolphin our honeymoon the cliff bird's nest sands bar island outpost butterfly room moon shadow other guests banana pancakes foot jump couples massage private sunset
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 755 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Prior to arriving someone from the hotel calls to get general information prior to stay, which in our case was not given to anyone as we had to complete the information when we arrived and noone reads it anyway. The information includes allergies and other notes like purpose of travel etc.
Getting here-We rented a car and drove from Montego Bay airport which took about 3 hours. We were quoted $95 pp from the hotel for airport transfer and the rental was about $150 total. You do have to be an aggressive driver and luckily we did not have issues, but some blogs report issues so proceed with caution. There is one checkpoint but again no issues. Call the hotel once you arrive so you can park the car inside.
Hotel-We stayed in 2 little birds cottage and it is a garden view room with an outdoor shower, which was weird to get to use to, but it was actually really cool especially one night when it was raining and i showered in the rain. There is complete privacy with large walls so noone can see. The beds were comfortable, room has a safe, temperature was fine, no issues with bugs, noise does carry from the onsite entertainment so I would recommend ear plugs if you are light sleeper. The site is kept clean. You will have to wake up early to claim a good spot and swimming from the site is not an issue because you have a private beach (just no sand). The hotel has some water tubes and noodles you can use. Paul took my husband and I kayaking and snorkeling and once in the rain, which was a little intense but interesting to see different fish. This place has incredible views and amenities that we did not leave the site.
Food-All of the food was delicious. They also have top shelf liquor so good drinks. The reason I did not give this hotel 5 stars is because despite me detailing my food allergies multiple times no one took it into account and I had to constantly ask for ingredients in the foods.
Staff- Everyone, except Paul, seems indifferent almost annoyed by guests.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktjf07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCavesTeam, Manager at The Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Dear Ktjf07,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we appreciate the details and its thoroughness. We are happy you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that the room, views, food and beverage were to your liking. It is always great when guests take the opportunity to go snorkeling and kayaking, the ocean and marine life just outside the property is incredible and we agree Paul makes the most excellent tour guide. Our sincerest apologies that you had issue with your meals and the allergies you noted. This is something we take very seriously and a note is placed in the Kitchen daily of guests’ allergies so both Servers and Cooks are aware. We also do a daily Briefing in the Kitchens which lessens the likelihood of any mishap so we will have to see where the breakdown happened with your meals and fix it immediately. Again we are so sorry this was your experience but we are grateful for your feedback on this so we can remedy it.

We understand that these reviews on Trip Advisor are subjective to the writer therefore some will be laden with facts, some with great exaggerations and other with untruths. For you to say of the over forty team members you encountered beside Paul everyone else seems indifferent and almost annoyed by guests is very untrue. This is not even debatable. The Caves team collectively are happy to serve and take care of our guests to ensure they have the vacation of a lifetime here. This has been tried, tested and proven. If you had issues or concerns with one or two staff members we would be surprised but we could take that and look into it but to say the entire staff body barring one was indifferent, no, unequivocally not true.

Once again thank you for your review. We would love the opportunity to host you again so you can see we fixed the issue you encountered and so you can get a better picture of what The Caves is about.

One Love,
The Caves Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

We have only one word to describe The Caves... Blissful! This was our fourth and longest trip. We stayed a full week and it was just perfect. From the food to the service to snorkeling with Paul to cliff diving to the view from our beautiful room Butterfly to floating in the ocean to the best spa treatment I have ever had! Everyone should experience this amazing resort!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank piratesoftheeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCavesTeam, Manager at The Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Dear Piratesoftheeast,

Thanks for your lovely review. It was our great pleasure to welcome you home again and we are glad you were able to stay a week this time. We are happy you enjoyed the food, service, spa treatment and Paul's cliff diving. Yes floating in the ocean is one of the most serene thing you can do here.

We look forward to having you back for your fifth trip!

One Love,
Your Caves Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

My partner and I stayed here for two nights at the end of a week in Jamaica. It really was lovely and the perfect end to our holiday - especially as our last place was much more basic and we had got out and about the area quite a lot already so were looking forward to two days of not doing anything too strenuous. We stayed in Moon Shadow, at the northern end of the property, and the view out of the top bedroom over the ocean from our bed as we woke up was incredible, as was falling asleep to the sound of the waves. We indulged in some spa treatments - the deep tissue massage was great - and the hot tub for sunset. We enjoyed that The Caves is quite rustic and simple in its way but it is small and quiet and you can have as much privacy as you want and you are taken care of by the staff. The food was of a high quality and the drinks flowed plentifully. I'm sure there are more overtly luxurious places to stay but The Caves was supremely relaxing. I still can't get over the view and walking down the steps to take a dip in the sea before breakfast is something I wish I could do every day. I hope that we will be back again!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank bobbyirvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCavesTeam, Manager at The Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Dear Bobbyirvs,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review, we are glad to hear that you really enjoyed the spa, Hot Tub experience and just the overall tranquility of our resort. It is great to hear you were truly taken care of by the team here.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and hope you stay longer.

One Love,
The Caves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

After lots of research to find the perfect location for our 25th anniversary we must say The CAVES in Negril delivered. From the start Melissa and the complete office staff assisted in booking VIP Services during arrival and departure, off sites activities with private transportation and most importantly personalized activities for us including a delicious dinner for two inside a cave and spa services. Nothing was sparred “totally spectacular”. Although it’s laid-back surrounding are it’s charm, plenty of things to do. Spend a day or two to explore the water and it’s caves with Paul. Everything we ate was top quality and drank was top shelf. Highly Recommended from high stressed city couple.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Saul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCavesTeam, Manager at The Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear Saul,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our property. We are delighted that you chose The Caves to celebrate your "Silver Anniversary" and we are also happy to know that we have met all your expectations with the food, amenities and the service that we offer. We especially love the fact that you were able to experience some off property excursions and got a true taste of our island culture with the assistance of the team here.

We will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team especially those who you have mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back.

One Love,
The Caves Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Our 21st anniversary here was stunning..we were debating on couples resorts vs Caves. It was a no brainer. Hands down Caves is the ultimate choice. Quiet, only 12 units here. You meet everyone and have a great time!! My new secret go to for when my wife and I want to escape from the states . The staff and Food is amazing

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank krp115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCavesTeam, Manager at The Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear Krp115,

Thank you for selecting The Caves for your milestone anniversary, we are elated you had a wonderful time with us. We really do appreciate your kind words and we are happy to know that our service and food met your expectations. It was our great pleasure to host you.

We hope to have you again in the very near future.

One Love,
The Caves Team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews