We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Negril, Westmoreland Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
andyhanna...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 19 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here in July and throughly enjoyed our stay , the staff are super friendly and always at hand .The neighbourhood was ideal for us as the ocean was just across the street . Bars , stores and restaurants are just a short walk away .
Already looking to book a return in the new year .
Thanks Sajid ,Grandfather Rasta & Shocka for a comfortable stay .
Bless

P.s the mangoes where plentiful and so tasty

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonKubara
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An excellent location for Negril tourism yet in an excellent local neighbourhood”
Reviewed 13 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I are in our 60’s and we just enjoyed the month of April 2018 in the Bougainvillea house part of our time with two adult children and part of our time with friends. This 2 bedroom house slept 4 comfortably and is attached to a larger house on a large property lush with vegetation including a wide variety of fruit trees and vegetables. The grounds are meticulously kept by the gardener Nicholas the elderly caretaker living on the property who rakes, waters and cares for the yard daily. During our month long stay we got to know him well and enjoyed his company and his wisdom of Jamaica. The property is situated in a typical Jamaican neighbourhood a few hundred meters from the main West End road by its own private driveway lined with Bougainvillea bushes constantly in bloom. We also got to know the friendly neighbouring property owners and developed good friendships.

Property owner Saj is a wonderful person who was at the property for part of our stay. Saj checked with us daily and sorted out all our needs and requests instantly. He made every effort to ensure we had a pleasurable experience. When Saj was away, property manager Chuka checked in with us daily. Both these gentlemen as well as the caretaker not only ensured we had a good stay, they enhanced our stay.

The house has 2 bedrooms connected to a toilet/shower between them each with locking doors. The well equipped, large kitchen is separated from the medium size living room with a short wall. Out the kitchen door is a nice tiled patio that gets the morning sun, ideal for that early coffee. The living room exits to a covered porch to escape from the sun and rain yet to be outside. We moved the kitchen table to this outside porch for our stay to enjoy the lush vegetation right out our door. The cable TV had a wide selection of USA and Jamaica channels and has USB, VGA and HDMI ports to attach a PC or USB drive.

While there is no air conditioning, we found the fans provided to be ideal to create a cool breeze as well as white noise to drown out sounds. Night sounds include crickets and sometimes music in the distance, morning sounds were nearby roosters and barking dogs. Note that the home is in a Jamaican neighbourhood surrounded by pets and some farm animals. Over a few days we got accustomed to the neighbourhood sounds and slept solidly every night.

While we daily went for a swim or snorkel from the rocky shore across the street, we also watched the most amazing sunsets while sipping on good Jamaica beer or fine rum sometimes taking our patio chairs. One evening we saw dolphins racing ahead of a passing boat. The snorkeling in the waters from Xtabi to the Rockhouse across the street from our property is very good and all facilities let you use their property to get in/out of the water. On one excursion we entered the gentle sea across the street and snorkeled the coastline with no current travelling 0.50 kms exiting at Xtabi Bar/Restaurant and walking back to the house. We saw large and small rays, many smaller fish and lots of young coral heads.

There is a plethora of inexpensive local restaurants as well as casual and fine dining establishments all within walking distance. While the world famous Rick’s café is a further walk, we preferred a quieter and more casual restaurant/bar and swimming cove of Xtabi On The Cillfs which also has cliff diving. For those who prefer a more gentle way in to the water, there are steps down to the water’s edge. As a bonus, the waters are lit at night for a late night dip in the warm Caribbean Sea. The environment is casual and the staff easy going, we often went for a jump and swim at their property without purchasing any food or drinks. We often enjoyed an afternoon and sunset at this property with their cliff-side tables with the reasonable price drinks and food.

The waters of Negril are pristine and the warm. Mid-day we frequently went to the public beach park of Long Bay and paid the $150 JD entrance fee ($1US) as we liked access to the well kept grounds and facilities. We bought Jamaican patties in town for lunch, brought our own cold beer and had lunch on at their picnic tables on the sandy beach. We also went to other areas of 7-mile beach using lounge chairs and umbrellas provided by local bars/restaurants when you supported their menu with either beverages or food. We also travelled inland for a jump in to the Blue Hole and hike up Mayfield Falls.

While there is a small grocery store and vegetable vendor close by, we mostly shopped at the Hi-Lo Supermarket a few kilometres away in the center of Negril. A few times we drove 30 minutes to the bigger town of Savanna la Mar for a larger selection of goods at a 25% lower price. Several times we purchased fresh fish from the fishermen at the Negril fish market and grilled them in the rustic charcoal fire pit on the property.

The West End of Negril is safe and inviting; locals are friendly and support tourism. If you are looking for a 5-star resort with absolute silence, then you want the Rockhouse Hotel across the street at $500US per night. However if you are looking for a safe, enjoyable Jamaican experience, this property is ideal. But bring mosquito coils, anti itch cream, and/or repellant, it’s a jungle out there!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarstenWo...
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
“Could not have been better”
Reviewed 22 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Hi There
The owner and manager Sajee is just the most fabulous guy you can imagine.
He is well connected in the community and is bending over backwards to organize and arrange whatever your heart desires.
We even had a barbecue 1 night where we could use his facilities and we invited friends from the immediate neighborhood.
The place is very secure, even for your rental car for piece of mind.
Nicely located, just a short walk to the ocean for an refreshing dip in the water. And for those who like good dining the Rock House is just across the street.
Boutique shops, souvenir shops and grocery store is all in walking distance which makes is it very pleasant and easy to cater for yourself.
The brand spanking new fridge was such a joy in a climate like that.

The Tranquil garden invites you to enjoy a nice glass of wine and to stretch out whenever you feel like it.
Rasta, the good soul of the property, minds his own business and racks the garden and waters the plants without you even noticing him. But if you need a helping hand they will be there for you.

Thanks for everything
Karsten

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2018
Thanks Karsten it was a pleasure hosting you and your better half lol
Give my regards to Heidi and all the best to you in life .

Saj
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
172jennif...
Central Florida, Florida
1 review
“Fab place”
Reviewed 23 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Bougainvillea house was ideal for us as a family of five there was ample room for us
Four single beds ,two in each room made sure we have enough room for the kids .
We cooked our own food as the stores are nearby to stock up and with fresh fruit and vegetable truck man we where more than equipped . The garden has so much ackee and I was taught how to cook ackee by the staff .
The garden is very nice and has a wide variety of fruit and veg .
Shaka the manager was so helpful and the groundsman rasta was very pleasent to us .
It's difficult planning a trip to an unknown destination with three children and we are so glad we found this gem we will be booking again soon

It's so quiet and peaceful
Great place and staff and an ideal location

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2018
Thanks Jenny it was a pleasure hosting you & your family glad you had a lovely time .

Take care and all the best
Saj
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing