We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
24
25
17
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
25
17
15
13
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2017

The only redeeming feature of this hotel was the staff who were unfailingly lovely, if a little bumbling.

On arrival, the hotel was evidently far from capacity but we were told our room was not ready so were split between two other rooms. As neither of the rooms on the first night had air conditioning, in fact, mine had a hole in the wall where an air conditioning unit might once have been, we decided to stick with the two room arrangement. Sadly, I drew the short straw here because we were left in the room without air con whilst the others were moved to a room that did. Meanwhile, the power sockets were so far away from the beds that fans were useless.

There were ants in my bed, for which I requested but never received bug spray, cracks in the walls and temperamental water availability. They're lucky there hasn't been a fatality on the rickety staircases and the bedclothes had more holes than a cemetery. The pool looked pretty grim so I didn't dip a toe in.

Staff cut off the wifi and emptied the bar whilst we were there giving us a couple of freebies whilst the owner told us about his plans for refubishment and told us that cutting off the wifi and the bar was in preparation. However, returning a few months later, there doesn't seem to have been any progress. Despite all of this, I would return as the owner was telling us about his plans to renovate and it has all the potential to be a really lovely destination. The jetty was a great place to be and watch the ocean traffic on the horizon.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Rooms were very basic, but clean, the Hotel is under renovation. The water of the pool was adjusted with clorid while we were there, but the pool itself was not clean and anything but inviting. We went for a swim in the ocean instead.
The hotel is righ ton the beach and sitting on the porch/balcony just watching the ocean was very relaxing.
The wifi didn't reach room 18, so we had to go to the lobby
The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Great if your travelling on a budget and dont expect too much in terms of comfort.

Room Tip: One fo the renovated rooms on the upper floors would be a good choice, the view is fantastic from there.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

I visited oceans sands with a friend when backpacking. It's located close to Ochis small city centre so location wise it was great. Unfortunately we woke up to a water leak and all our clothes got wet and we had to change rooms in panic in the morning. The other room was better, with a balcony & 2 queen beds. Standard quality of rooms & nice receptionist.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nadja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Basic rooms, needed updating but all and all it was just basic nothing in terms of luxury but it was alright if you plan to spend most of your time out doors on the road. Its close enough to the centre of ocho Rios where you can visit restaurants and party spots. I highly recommend spending most of your time outside

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank diseankadeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Horrible place. Everything was old and broken, it was raining in, leaving a big wet spot in my bed (and this is when we just entered the room). Mouse/rat droping on the ac wich was placed next to bed. I think there was one lamp in total in a room with 2 beds, bathroom & balcony. Broken furniture and condoms left in the drawer. No wifi in the room, no restaurant, bar, breakfast to order, every day cleaning, child care, or basicly anything they claimed to have. Extremely unhelpful staff refusing to refund our money.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Annica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews