We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rockhoun
Barbados

Magical experience

Review of Maca Bana
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Apr 2023
We live in the Caribbean so pretty picky, but we chose here for our anniversary. View from our suite was amazing, we loved having cooking facilities for breakfast although the restaurant Aquarium was excellent. Small but very well equipped kitchen.

Hotel was very accommodating with providing foods for first morning, adapting to our allergies/preferences. Wen we had an issue with mosquitos (had rained a lot just before we arrived) they quickly sprayed the area and provided us with interior bug repellent device.

If you sty on the hill, be prepared for a good leg workout on the way back to your room from the restaurant/ beach bar!
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The Two Bedroom Oceanview at the Gem Holiday Beach Resort
$156
  • Expedia.com
    $182
  • Agoda.com
    $143
  • Hotels.com
    $182
2.2 km from Maca Bana
Free Wifi
Free parking
pool view
$224
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $224
  • Expedia.com
    $272
  • Hotels.com
    $254
1.1 km from Maca Bana
Free Wifi
Free parking
$309
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
3.9 km from Maca Bana
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Relax Inn
$162
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $177
  • Priceline
    $162
  • Hotels.com
    $176
1.4 km from Maca Bana
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
bedrooms
$219
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $219
  • ZenHotels.com
    $191
  • Lol.travel
3.3 km from Maca Bana
Free Wifi
Free parking
$687
Get rewarded with One Key
  • travelup.com
    $611
  • Vio.com
    $559
  • Hotels.com
    $687
2.5 km from Maca Bana
Free Wifi
Free parking
$1,374
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $1,374
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    $1,373
4.4 km from Maca Bana
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $775
  • Booking.com
8.7 km from Maca Bana
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from Woburn Villas
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $152
  • Booking.com
6.8 km from Maca Bana
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in St. George's
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
164
20
5
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
164
20
5
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pineapple villa complete privacy amazing place to stay well equipped kitchen beach bar aquarium island caribbean george taxis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2023

Stayed in pineapple villa wow it was amazing . Villa was very very clean . We met Joanna in reception who was great any info or any advice needed was always eager to help , Organised restaurants and taxis for us . We then met Josanne who kept our Villa spick and span . Josanne checked everyday that everything was ok enough towels enough toiletries nothing was too much trouble for her, We had an amazing stay and would definitely recommend this amazing place to stay .

Room tip: Pineapple Villa is great
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 June 2022

We visited 5 different resorts on Grenada stating at Maca Baba to take in the scenery and we were rewarded. We came directly from the airport very close by using a taxi. Maca Bana has a small kitchen but we came without provisions so we had to rely on meals at the restaurant at the bottom of the hill at beachside.. Our unit was at the top of the hill and granted complete privacy.

The next day was Monday and the restaurant was closed so the manager drove us to a restaurant near a harbor for breakfast and take out sandwiches for lunch. This saved us a $25 dollar taxi fare. We stayed two nights and enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 October 2021 via mobile

My friend and I stayed in the Mango villa which was enormous and had the most amazing view and a hot tub on the deck. The beach that Maca Bana is on must be the most beautiful on the island. And the restaurant, Aquarium was absolutely wonderful. Really fabulous food, the best wine cellar on the island and all in the most beautiful setting. But what sets Maca Bana apart are the people who work there. Joanna, Uli and Josh went above and beyond to look after us. Highly recommended to anyone visiting Grenada.

Room tip: People have mentioned the steepness of the walk down from the villas to the beach, it’s totally fine though unless you have mobility issues.
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 240kittyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 July 2020

The views from Maca Bana’s Paw Paw villa must be the best on the island! Simply breathtaking.

I had been wanting to stay at Maca Bana for a while and was delighted to finally have the opportunity last month. My visit coincided with the reopening of The Aquarium restaurant (attached to Maca Bana) which is one of the best in Grenada.

Maca Bana was the perfect choice for my short summer break! The villas are really well-equipped and comfortable. I particularly loved the private outdoor jacuzzi and spent hours just lazing around on the sun deck.

In addition, Maca Bana is located on one of the most beautiful beaches in Grenada - Magazine Beach. There’s a steep hill back to the villa from the beach but it is a small price to pay for the gorgeous, practically empty beach at your doorstep.

Maca Bana was blissfully quiet during my stay (because of the Coronavirus) and I found Paw Paw villa very private, just as I had hoped for.

If you’re interested in more details, photos and a video, check out my blog Hopping Around the Globe in Style for a full review.

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank bunnyhatgis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maca Bana, General Manager at Maca Bana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2020

Thank you for taking the time off your busy schedule to share your experience. We do appreciate it. We are happy to know that the villa did meet your expectation. I hope we will be giving the opportunity to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Once again, THANK YOU.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2020

Maca Bana is perfection! This small luxury hotel is perched on a hillside overlooking the Caribbean. My lovely villa had one of the most spectacular views I’ve ever encountered in my nearly 60 years of world travels. My villa also had its own outdoor jacuzzi, huge deck, and full kitchen. Joanne, the concierge, and Uli, the owner, are terrific! They are veterans of the island and have all the resources one needs. The Aquarium Restaurant just at the foot of the resort’s hillside villas and the outside seaside bar are also owned by Uli and are a huge amenity of the resort. Great food, two large bars with extensive wine cellar, and full staff are available daily (except Mondays), and fantastic live music is presented on designated days. The beach (Magazine Beach) is one of the most gorgeous and pristine on the planet, and the swimming is sublime. Maca Bana has the huge advantage of being off the beaten path of tourist-laden Grande Anse, but is still very close and convenient to all points on the southern side of the island. What a fantastic place! I can’t wait to come back!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews