We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of closer management supervision”

Victory Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #37 of 85 Restaurants in St. George's
Cuisines: American, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Located in Port Louis Marina Happy hour every day at 5pm. Friday has a good Texas Slow-smoked BBQ.
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Nice position and ambiance alongside the yacht harbor, and obviously has a captive clientele of "yachties". We have been there on a number of occasions, but this time found the service had gone seriously downhill. After a perfunctory and hurried greeting, we were assigned to a nice table. The white wine we ordered arrived unchilled , and when (fortunately) we checked the bill we found that we had been charged for two bottles. When we pointed this out, the response was one of irritation, rather than apology. After two attempts to get a refill of water, we ended up having to go up to the bar to help ourselves. All this left a sour taste in our mouths. This was a shame, as the food was really quite nice. But it takes more than nice food to make an enjoyable evening. Closer management supervision would seem necessary.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2018

I've been here a couple of times now. I've had pizza both times, and it was consistently good each time. The menu is definitely international, not Caribbean. So if you're craving something like pizza, burgers, steak, etc., this is a good call. As a vegetarian, I was able to find several options on the menu (some may have required slight modifications; others didn't). The outdoor seating is covered, which is very nice. While you're not right next to the water while dining, it is visible from some seats and overall has that marina feel. Prices are reasonable. The only down side I've seen is the slow/inattentive wait staff. I have had to request things (like more water) more than once before getting it. But... it's the Caribbean, so this is part of life here. :-) I'll definitely eat here again.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

The pizza is absolutely delicious! We have tried some other menu items but so far the pizza is hands down my favorite. BBQ Fridays has many fantastic options that you can't go wrong. As with many other restaurants here on island the service may be on the slower side but just sit back and enjoy "island time".

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank LeslieT1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 June 2018

This is my second visit to this restaurant for lunch and the food was good, the staff were not on the ball but certainly were friendly and its definitely a place that you will visit agasin.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carolynhP7453DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately the place has closed down this week for renovations. So call up before going.

A superb joint with an international marine touch. Food and drinks menu are quite diverse to fit all tastes.

The Port Louis marina next door is just romantic by night and refreshing at daytime.

Their seafood brosh main course and authentic italian pizzas are highly recommended!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank 473Smiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Victory Bar and Restaurant also viewed

The Lime, St. George's
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
The Lime, St. George's
 

Been to Victory Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.