We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Culinary tour ”
Review of Savor The Spice

Savor The Spice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our guided tasting tour will take you on an entertaining 3 to 6 hours culinary adventure to authentic local restaurants where you can experience the culture. The tour will combine delicious Grenadian cuisine with historical cultural experiences. Known as the Island of Spice, Grenada is full of many delectable treats that are sure to satisfy any palate. You will experience many local delights and receive a mini culinary tutorial/demo incorporating our local spices and herbs while showcasing their multi-faceted uses. You will have the experience of tasting our local delights while having fun along the way. This tour will leave you with new culinary perspectives, a comfortably satisfied belly, and the confidence to try our Grenadian spices in the luxury of your own kitchen.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

The tour was a lot of fun I would recommend it to anyone who's up for a little Island adventure !

Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savorthespice, Owner at Savor The Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Thank you we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"culinary tour"
in 6 reviews
"chocolate cheesecake"
in 5 reviews
"local food"
in 4 reviews
"spice market"
in 6 reviews
"chicken roti"
in 2 reviews
"fresh coconut milk"
in 2 reviews
"obvious love"
in 2 reviews
"tasty treats"
in 2 reviews
"rum shop"
in 2 reviews
"plantains"
in 2 reviews
"booked this tour"
in 2 reviews
"spice island"
in 2 reviews
"grand etang lake"
in 2 reviews
"belmont estate"
in 2 reviews
"dorothy"
in 3 reviews
"smoothies"
in 3 reviews
"savour"
in 13 reviews
Filter

82 - 86 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2017

My family and I are foodies and we try to find these tours whenever we travel. We were pleasantly surprised by what this tour had to offer. This was our favorite thing to do on the "Isle of Spice". Our tour guides were extremely knowledgeable and pleasant and the food was to die for. If you are ever in Grenada please be sure to take this tour you will not regret it. Can't wait to go back

Thank kwamealexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savorthespice, Owner at Savor The Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to having you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Highly recommend! Tour guides, Addie and Amhose, were young, entertaining and knowledgeable. Go with an appetite! Started with a full lunch at Country Kitchen, a small local restaurant where we were treated to curried mutton and chicken stew, two local dishes that were absolutely delicious, as were the rice and peas, dasheen, plantain and pumpkin that were served with them. Then a short walk to the market where we enjoyed fresh coconut water in the coconut with a straw and especially enjoyed learning about spices from Jemma at Sister's. Next, a trek up the hill to Old Fort St. George. It's a bit of a hike for anyone not in good shape but the view and the history were really great. A walk down into the Carenage and a stop at The Nutmeg restaurant for fabulous chicken roti before heading up the road to The House of Chocolate for a lesson in cacao bean to chocolate bar and treated to chocolate cheesecake and Nutmeg ice cream. Delicious! Finished off the tour by walking through the Sendall Tunnel back to the terminal. We thoroughly enjoyed this tour and would highly recommend.

Thank Yvonne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 May 2017

Yvonne we are so happy you enjoyed your time you spent with us. Thank you for a such a wonderful review. Please keep us in mind if you are ever in the Spice Island. Regards to all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

I love to find food tours in our travels and have experienced many. This tour we took was one of the top food tours. Friendly and informative guide combined history, nature, and local restaurants to showcase the island and most importantly, local food traditions.
We enjoyed a traditional Grenadan breakfast with local coffee and chocolate tea. We visited the fort, and drove up to Grand Latange. Waterfall visit with fresh coconut water served. We were guided to a private organic estate growing local fruits, vegetables and spices. An overview of all was provided and a multi course food tasting which highlighted these ingredients. All demonstrated by a private chef. It was really special.
There was more, but I think I would like to keep it a surprise should you choose this tour. Highly recommended. Special thanks to our guide Addie, the driver, and Tasha.
We will see you next time we visit for your Market Tour!

Thank huatatime4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 February 2017

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to see you again for the Town Tour upon your return to Grenada. All the best, Tasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Wonderful tour! Lots of local foods to try and very accommodating. Dorothy my guide was very knowledgeabe and tailored my tour to suit my needs!! I loved the seamoss beverage. Highly recommended

Thank lilly77067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 February 2017


Thank you so much for your kind words. Glad you enjoyed your seamoss. Please keep us in mind the next you visit our little Island of Grenada.

Best,
Tasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Savor The Spice also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Savor The Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing