We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect too much”

Dodgy Dock Restaurant and Lounge Bar
Ranked #10 of 84 Restaurants in St. George's
Price range: $7 - $57
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, View details, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our colourful oceanfront alfresco dining delight is the perfect spot to relax with comfortable seating, stunning views and friendly service. Open for breakfast lunch and dinner everyday- here you can taste the most authentic of Grenadian meals or choose from a variety of international cuisine spiced with the flavours of Pure Grenada and the Caribbean region. Our menus cater to vegans, vegetarians and gluten free diets. Four nights a week we have some of the best live band entertainment on the island. Join us and get carried away with the “funner” things in life.
Reviewed 21 June 2019

On our first visit to Grenada this Bar Restaurant was recommended for its 'Street Food' and live music every Wednesday evening. Well it did have 'Street Food' that was way over-priced for its quality and it did have live music which was average. The idea is that you check what food you fancy and then go and buy ECD$5 tickets at the entrance which you exchange for the food, which is rather over-priced for the quality. The place was very busy with locals and the Staff were constantly moving tables around to try and fit more people in. An 'experience' but that is all and wouldn't go there again.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lynton4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Magskaraya, Guest Relations Manager at Dodgy Dock Restaurant and Lounge Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2019

Thank you for your comments. Wednesday Street Food Night is a visitor and local favorite, but not for everyone. We celebrate Grenadian food, music and culture. Locals and island guests mingle, learning about their similarities and differences. The majority of people who join us on Wednesday night have an amazing time. Most likely, this is why Street Food Night was recommended to you. We understand this atmosphere is not to everyone’s taste and only host it one night per week. Other nights are quieter and offer a relaxing seaside dinner. Another night may be more to your preference and we invite you to give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 107 of 717 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2019 via mobile

We hosted a friend's sendforth party here and it didn't disappoint. This was my second visit as I was here 3 years ago for a friend's birthday. The ambience was great with fantastic entertainment by the in-house band and their dance group (we were there on a Friday night when they usually have their mexi-caribbean night). Food took a while to arrive but was worth the wait. I had Alfredo's pasta and it was very nicely served in calabashes, and was quite good. The band also serenaded us with popular numbers like 'Baillamos', 'Guantanamera', and 'Redemption song' just to mention a few.

Date of visit: May 2019
2  Thank Femilongus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Magskaraya, Guest Relations Manager at Dodgy Dock Restaurant and Lounge Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2019

Thank you for your kind words. We are honored you chose to spend your friend’s sendforth party with us and pleased you had an awesome night. Friday MexiCaribbean Night is a festive evening with live music and dancing loved by visitors. It makes us truly happy to hear we made it a special night with great memories. We appreciate your repeat business and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2019 via mobile

The staff hardly speaks to you, and the service is slow. The food is mediocre, at best. The only thing worth your money is the pizza. Overall terrible service, super expensive. The Wednesday night band, Solid, is the only reason to go there. Otherwise, save your money.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank ReanneAshley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Magskaraya, Guest Relations Manager at Dodgy Dock Restaurant and Lounge Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the pizza as we have been perfecting this for many years. Our Wednesday night band Solid is a local and guest favorite. We appreciate you mentioning these positives though you did not enjoy your overall experience. We sincerely apologize for the slow, lackluster service and the food quality not being to your liking. Our new Restaurant Manager is working with our team to improve food and service. Reviews have improved since you dined with us so we believe training is the key to getting us back on track. Your comments on our short comings are assisting us in achieving our goal of providing exceptional service and delicious cuisine. We invite you to give us another try to see the positive changes made as a result of your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2019

The food was awesome, the service was a bit slow, but that is to be expected on island time! Definitely worth the wait!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank RAS8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Magskaraya, Guest Relations Manager at Dodgy Dock Restaurant and Lounge Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2019

Thank you for your comments. Our chefs are delighted to hear you loved their carefully prepared cuisine made from fresh local produce. We are working on speeding up the service and raising our team’s awareness of exceptional customer care through retraining. We appreciate your patience and look forward to the next time you dine with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2019 via mobile

I have visited many times and have had some delicious food, they make a wonderful Pina Colada, although the chocolate martini is a very close second. Just work your way through the cocktail list, it's all good. Street food night on Wednesdays is a must, very busy and lively, brilliant band, so book a table and get there early. Huge food selection but I was privileged to be shown around by the Executive Chef, who is an absolute star. The best bit about Dodgy Dock is the staff, they are just so lovely and friendly. A fabulous casual restaurant that welcomes everyone, young, old, locals and tourists. That's what makes it such a nice place to hang out, it feels real!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank lockwoodsflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Magskaraya, Guest Relations Manager at Dodgy Dock Restaurant and Lounge Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2019

Thank you for your lovely comments. Our staff aim to please and love getting to know guests. They will be so happy to hear your feedback about their welcoming attitude and proud you enjoy their cocktails. Wednesday Street Food Night is a favorite with local food vendors, live music and a great cultural mix. Our Executive Chef recently came on board and is truly amazing. He is wonderful at creating fresh dishes with local produce and engaging with guests, maybe sharing some of his culinary secrets. We appreciate your repeat business and can’t wait until you dine with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dodgy Dock Restaurant and Lounge Bar also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
Lance aux Epines, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Dodgy Dock Restaurant and Lounge Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.