We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view and good food”

The Aquarium Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 85 Restaurants in St. George's
Price range: $28 - $107
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Expanded and refurbished in September 2009, The Aquarium Restaurant has a stylish yet relaxed atmosphere, right on Magazine Beach with stunning ocean views. Fresh cocktails or lunch under palm trees, fine dining, relaxed lounging… a breezy dining room with two seawater aquariums, bamboo railings and leather couches, a river-stone lounge bar with funky rattan furniture, a new Koi-pond and waterfall from the natural cliff. Local fish carvings and 3D paintings reflect the tropical underwater scenery.
Reviewed 24 July 2023

We stumbled on the spot while walking on magazine beach. We were so happy we did as the view from the restaurant is beautiful, the food is delicious, drinks are great and it is reasonably priced!

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pinki2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 1,262 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2023

We all enjoyed dining here. The food and drinks were delicious. The service was excellent. The atmosphere was really cool, too.

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2023

We did not make advance reservations but arrived early enough in the day to secure a table as walk-ins (party of 2). Before service started, we walked the beach, enjoyed a long dip in the water, and snorkeled around the rocks (there were squid or cuttlefish hanging out!) - beautiful spot.

Food was of mixed quality. Ribs were very good and juicy, jerk chicken was dry and stringy. The different portion sizes for different items were kind of hilarious - the ribs took up the entire plate while the chicken maybe a quarter of the plate. The Mac and cheese side could have fed a family of four, while the corn on the cob is literally half of one ear of corn. Our favorites were the ribs and the salad selection platter (you can choose between many different options like pasta salad, cole slaw, etc and all of these were tangy and good). Pricing is mid-range and a premium for the setting more so than the food.

Music started around 3 and that is when the crowd really started to gather. It was more people than we’ve seen in one place the rest of our stay by far. We can tell why reservations are highly recommended and would be 100% necessary for a larger group. Some of the music was good, some mediocre (if you’re going to cover popular songs you need the pipes to hold the notes) but the volume was too much — even a number of tables away it was hard to talk, and we could still hear it clearly while underwater snorkeling after lunch. Would have been a lot more fun, and still felt like a dancing vibe, if the decibels were cut by a third in our opinion!

Exiting the parking area is quite the game of near-vertical Tetris since people leave cars wherever they can find space… we made it out unscathed but if you’re nervous on tight hills, better to park at the top even if there are spaces open at the bottom!

Date of visit: June 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RMG07
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 June 2023 via mobile

The restaurant is located near the beach and has a nice view. I’ve been here before but this time around it was very basic. The first hostess and or waiter was very blah. She wasn’t pleasant. She had no recommendation for drinks. We ended up getting another waitress who was more pleasant and able to provide recommendations for my friends in regards to drinks and food. She was very knowledgeable and apologize about the other waitress. She shared that the girl just came back to work and wasn’t feeling well. Informed her that then her peer needed to stay home. When we informed her that it was indeed my friend bday, she asked for ID. I know this isn’t her calling but to think that a restaurant would ask for us to verify it’s your birthday because of pretense of others who had celebrated their bdays early and it is not allowed. How can a restaurant dictate when someone can celebrate their birthday.? The birthday individual cannot control if someone is taking them out to celebrate their bday early because of whatever reason. This was a little very distasteful for the restaurant/owner. If you do not have enough cake to provide the service then why offer it? The food is okay and the drinks were good and delicious. The bartender and the waitress was very nice and pleasant.

Date of visit: May 2023
Thank maysworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2023

The restaurant looked run down. Great outlook but that's the only plus. Asked for tropical juices expecting liquidised fresh fruit and barman came out with large bottles of juice which looked really old and he sniffed them first to see if they were off !

Date of visit: June 2023
    • Service
Thank richardpI9065IH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Aquarium Restaurant also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
Lance aux Epines, Saint George Parish
 

Been to The Aquarium Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.