We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Nearby Hotels
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$530
US$516
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Occidental Caribe(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$180
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$218
US$196
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$401
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$355
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$283
US$263
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$292
US$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$297
US$272
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$1,108
US$763
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,420)
Filter reviews
2,420 results
Traveller rating
1,127
686
342
128
137
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,127
686
342
128
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids water parkgarden grilla la carte restaurantslobby barbuffet restaurantair canadahuge resortcloser to the beachbavaro lobbydominican republicguest servicesgreat vacationt shirtsmichael jackson showala cartsadjoining roomshot dogs
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 2,420 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Turquesa is one resort inside the large Bahia Principe collection of resorts, and is farthest from the beach, but a regular shuttle runs all day/evening. Bahia Principe is very large with thousands of people from all over the world. It helps to know some Spanish to communicate with staff. The grounds, pools, and beach are very well kept, and very clean. There was a lot of entertainment if you wanted to partake. Our Turquesa rooms were average and had some minor problems such as lights not working/poor lighting, toilet running, tired linens, and the tub was stained. The daily buffet food was average most of the time, but some of the themed dinners were good. The restaurant (reserved) dinners were better, especially the Japanese hibachi in the Bahia Punta Cana. I would stay at a different Bahia resort if I returned.

Stayed: April 2018
1  Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, our goal is to make your stay become an unforgettable experience. It is wonderful to know that, despite not having completely exceeded their expectations enjoyed their trip. Your observations will be taken into consideration.

For any additional information, you can contact us at info.turquesa@bahia-principe.com

Always at your disposal,

Luz Caraballo
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just to set the tone of this review, we are a well travelled family of 4 and have stayed at many Caribbean resorts. My general preference is Bahia or Iberostar.
If you have stayed at the Bahia in Mexico or Jamaica, lower you expectations a few notches for Turquesa ( Bavaro or Punta Cana probably a better choice).
Bahia resort in Punta Cana consists of 5 different hotels (Fantasia, Esmeralda, Ambar, Bavaro, Punta Cana and Turquesa.
Check in a breeze through a designated area for the tour operator, however since we arrived around noon the room wasn’t ready. We were given our bracelets and shown to the buffet. This was the biggest disappointment of our trip. Buffet is fairly small, one pasta station with a massive line up. Another side note, if you have the flexibility not to travel around holidays, avoid! We had difficulty finding a lounger at the beach and pool for a couple of days. Go at 8 am latest to reserve a beach lounger.
Food options were fewer compared to what we are used to. Lunch and dinner were usually the same options. Long line ups at the made to order stations.

Since the resort was at full capacity we weren’t able to move to another hotel ( Punta Cana or Bavaro). The staff was fantastic in trying to accommodate us.
Pool and bar were great, entertainment staff supper energetic. Great water park for little kids, beach and pool were clean, room was clean and modern. We had a great room on the first floor with the pool view.
Teens club in Bavaro lobby is also great! Has a ping-pong table, foozball table and ps4.

We never stayed at the Turquesa lobby for nightly entertainment so can’t comment on that.
The tropical theatre at Bavaro had amazing shows, including kids entertainment before the main show. However, saw massive cockroaches 3 nights in a row, creeped the heck outta me!
Michael Jackson show on Saturday night at the market is a must! Entire cast was amazing!!
Verdict, probably will not stay at Turquesa again, due to personal preference. It’s is a decent resort at the price point.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank 4of7from416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience, which gives us an opportunity to evaluate our performance.

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Please rest assured that we have taken your observations into great consideration.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions or need assistance email info.turquesa@bahia-principe.com

Best regards,

Luz Caraballo
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this resort, from April 18 until the 25th, with friends It was a great week, a great vacation, the food was really good, awesome beach (but not enough chairs in the shade) clean resort, very nice and helpful staff We recommend this resort, yes it is a big resort, but the little trains are always there if you don't feel like walking.

Room Tip: We were in room 40111, very close to the lobby, so at night we could hear the music and entertainment.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MichelleG912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Michelle,

We are extremely proud to know that we exceed your expectations during your visit to the Dominican Republic; it's a pleasure to know that you had an excellent vacation.

It will be an honor to attend you again in our Hotel. Please don´t hesitate to contact us prior arrival to the email info.esmeralda@bahia-principe.com

Kind regards,

Luz Caraballo
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked this place at the recommendation of our Doylestown Travel agent on a Thursday and left early Friday morning. Our Spirit Air charter was cramped, but the attendants provided a level of service that was better than what we have experienced on larger airlines. We were told it was not on the beach and part of a large multi facility property - both true.Trams run frequently, but we chose to take the 10 minute walk to the beach. We arrived early and were told by the manager that our room would be ready after having an early lunch. SR. Rosario, the manager, kept his word showed a commitment to keeping all guests happy. Restaurant reviews have been mixed. We had great steaks at the Garden Steakhouse and the Corral restaurants. There was always something to be found at all the buffets. Many of the seafood dishes were very good. The Japanese and Italian restaurants did not meet expectations - probably better if you get a cooking table seat at the Japanese. Pools, rooms, restaurants, and public facilities were all very good. They did have some good shows in their theater - unfortunately many of the guests we talked with were unaware of them.
Finding beach chairs was often a challenge. Area lighting at night could be improved. The casino is small. Do not walk to the Hard Rock Casino because they will not let you in unless you come via car.

Stayed: April 2018
2  Thank JOHN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear John,

Posts such as yours delight us and give us the confidence to keep working hard to satisfy our customers and improve our service. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed such an amazing stay with brilliant treatment from our staff at our Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa.

You are welcome to contact us for any further assistance info.turquesa@bahia-principe.com

Kind regards,

Adriana Peguero
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently did 9 days been coming to the Bahia Complex for about 5 years now. Had a 3 year hiatus as I checked out other resorts. The complex is pretty old now but the staff and service continues to be legit. You want a fun time? Want to meet new people, Bahia in Punta Cana will give you that experience. I've been to the most modern and newest resorts in PC. But the factor of having 7 resorts in one complex never fails. The Disco will be packed every night... BTW, this is a Resort chain that pretty much lets you do whatever you want as long as you don't bother anybody. Which is always a plus and why they will have me as a life long customer... Unless something changes, as long as they put the clients first. That's all that matters to me, also. "Modern" could be tricky as, let's say. Their Resort is high quality, but could of been "Modern" for it's time. So don't take my saying of it's old the wrong way. It's still a high quality experience. They also include amenities in their bathrooms now. Bahia is the only resort chain where I can sleep like a baby with no hallway noise, because there are NO hallways ;)

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Felix P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Online Reputati... C, Customer Service at Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Felix,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel and we are proud to read that you have had a great stay once again.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you once again next year and continue creating memorable experiences for you at our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Punta Cana.

Regards from Punta Cana,

Adriana Peguero
Bahia Principe Bavaro Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews