We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WIOL.com
Snaptravel
Riu.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,535)
Filter reviews
1,535 results
Traveller rating
1,027
289
123
53
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,027
289
123
53
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool party la isabela scooby doo pool bar breakfast and dinner specialty restaurants evening entertainment buffet restaurant family vacation palm trees dominican republic main restaurant hotel is beautiful steak an amazing job wait staff entertainment team
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,535 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2021

I have stayed at the Riu Palace Punta Cana one time before and i am so happy i made the decision to come back. They really upped the cleaning and sanitizing with hand sanitizer everywhere including your room. Tables are socially distanced everywhere and all staff where masks all day. I felt incredibly safe traveling during a pandemic. Be aware that COVID tests have to be scheduled ahead of time and the cost is not cheap (combining the the cost of the actual test and the cab fare to get to the testing location). Staff is very helpful to help you coordinate and find the best option. Adonis, Benito, and Mathos are the best!! They took care of us everyday, by the pool, at dinner and during the outdoor shows.
All and all i will 100% be coming back and would recommend this hotel to everyone!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank paulafJ1639MW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2021

Family of 7 traveled, 5 adults and two teenagers. Riu did a pretty good job during the pandemic to ensure safety. It would have been helpful to have more staff in the buffet area to montior and enforce covid precautions on the weekend. The resort is stunning and is well kept! Alot of individuals selling items on the beach however, they are respectful and do not push. I thought the food was very good and there was always a variety at the buffet. Waiter Sanchez was the best!! We looked forward to be greeted by him each day. He went the extra mile to help make my daughter in laws 40th extra special. Due to the pandemic the hotel was not at capacity which was great for us. We only had a few complaints that were not even a big deal. Almost daily we had to request towels and our fridge to be stocked. There is an APP which works great for sending requests you need. We had no problem with the wifi. Staff was always helpful and very nice. A change in time for entertainment would be a recommendation as it really did not start until 9:30. I would recommend this resort and am looking forward to returning.

Date of stay: December 2020
1  Thank lnichols212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2021

The hotel requires wearing masks during meals, check the temperature at each breakfast, and wash antibacterial liquid on hands at every step. I saw a situation in the swimming pool area where young people breached the 1.5m distance, and they did not want to understand the seriousness of the COVID situation and were laughing at the manager straight in the face. Question where is the security ?? How are You want to keep the distance of such behavior is allowed? First of all, talk to children who did not keep their distance, if this does not help, call their parents (which was not done) and call security (which was also not done). If the rules of distance are violated, they have to act quickly and decisively, not like the facility manager, walk from group to group and repeat who is more intelligent. A lot of people saw tis stituation! If we are required to use masks and covid restrictions (there are a lot of them during a pandemic, restrictions in themed restaurants, no bar in the room, etc.), staff must do eveeything to keep dostance beetven guest especiall when other guest are lauging with everything and short distance next to boss of the staff (this boss have seen this). If guest have to make all resteiction the hotel staff have to takie care of distance all guests!

People wants to feel safe, if you can't ensure it, maybe the hotel needs to be closed?

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Monic762021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2021

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to give us your feedback. We always strive to provide an exceptional experience to all our guests and it is always troubling to hear that we missed the mark.

We are surprised by your impression of insecurity regarding the anti-covid measures implemented. We assure you that we apply strict protocols on a daily basis, advised by Preverisk, a prestigious company specialising in health and safety in the tourism sector. Our priority is to ensure that both our guests and our employees enjoy a safe and secure environment.
While we do our best to implement these guidelines, we are saddened to learn that not all of our customers adhere to them.

The situation described in your review does not match our standards and we shall share your words in order to investigate what may have happened and avoid further recurrences.

We hope that you can give us the opportunity to host you again and change your perception about our resort.

Best regards,

Hotel Riu Palace Punta Cana
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2021

We stayed at the Riu palace for a week with a big group about 20 or so people and it was fantastic. Sandy at the buffet was so friendly. He did magic for the kids and made the table extra nice for us each time we were there. All around all the staff was friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank ashleyvJ4704RW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2021 via mobile

Great family vacation, staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel room was very clean, food was fresh and there was a lot of variety at the buffet. Sandy in the restaurant went above and beyond making my birthday celebration extra special.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank baljrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews