We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Costambar beach
Costambar aerial view our property circled in red
building and pool area
pool area
pool area
owner family
Costambar beach
roof top terrace
Kajak
Cable car to Mount Isabel
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
shigung12...
Nova Scotia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I enjoyed my stay at Michael .Its close to the beach , I stayed on the second floor the studio is small but it has everything you could want . there is a safe under the stove with keys .and just a short walk to many restaurants if your not into cooking .I broke a tooth and Berta found a English speaking dentist Dr Cristobal Payano he was in Puerto Plata tel 809-261-1921 he did a great job fixing my tooth .I also met a Doctor. who would do house calls DR. Cristino Silverio. tel 829-862-1055 .good to know just in case. Michael has a very safe place to stay . and it is very clean and if the beach is not for you he has a beautiful back yard with a nice pool . You cant go wrong. if its your first visit to Costambar this would be the best place to stay . you will not want to leave.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lillan181...
Squamish, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Nice.clean and secure place to stay. Studio was very nice and close to the beach.Owner very helpful and would definitely stay again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bundojl
1 review
“Nice place, you can walk to the beach”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The studio is perfect nice and clean, and less than two minutes away from the beach I love it. The location is perfect and secure.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dixmai
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place, I'll go back”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Micheal's house is beautiful, and the three studios are perfect. The one I had is the smaller and the kitchen is tiny, but I could manage. However go for the other 2 studios if you'll cook a lot. There is a little market in Costambar but you could go in Puerto Plata for a real supermarket. The beach of Costambar is beautiful. A lot of expats, retired people, dominicans, a great mix. Few restaurants around so you don't have to go in town.

Michael and Berta are sympathetic, so is the dog (if you're afraid of dog,you wont't be of this one). Nice landscaping, beautiful pool and my favorite: the little terrace on the roof!

I will definitely go back.

Gracias Michael y Berta y nos veremos pronto!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is beautiful and the landscaping also.
Liked least: Kitchen
Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkGirl198...
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful studio with fun activities!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Spent a week here in February 2014 and had a marvelous time! The studio is great, fully and nicely furnished, and located in a walled garden. Very conveniently located within walking distance of the beach, restaurants, a grocery, pharmacy, etc. Michael is a fantastic host and also offers tours to his guests. We took three tours of the surrounding areas and loved each of them! Michael does a great job at showing the country-side, explaining everything, and making each day special. These private excursions are much better than the large package tours and I recommend both the studio apartment and the tours to anyone looking for a great time in The Dominican Republic!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful, peaceful location
Liked least: No wifi access
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2014
Thanks a lot for your nice comments. I am happy to hear that you liked the studio and the excursions a lot. You have been great guests, very interested in the country and the culture and I am looking forward to have you back one day at my property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing