We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,339)
Filter reviews
6,339 results
Traveller rating
3,644
1,524
665
289
217
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,644
1,524
665
289
217
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue bay spa pool alfredo beach bar the oriental restaurant animation team jade garden teddy bear seafood steak restaurant the grill el dorado a la carte restaurants chateaubriand an adults only resort time share beach vendors
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 6,339 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Very clean the staff were very nice,room was always cleaned to a high standard it was a little worn in places but nothing to spoil our stay.we always found a bed at the pool or beach when we needed one as we did go out of the hotel most days.we could eat in one of the three restaurants once a week the rest of the time it was the buffet restaurant which for me became a bit boring.We found the fish restaurant was ok the Chinese was terrible, and the steak restaurant was poor.one thing could be improved is the charge for the safe ( must have payed for a new one ever two weeks wake up management this should be included).The WiFi didn’t use as I got a SIM card from jimmy at the mall for phone calls and my personal hot spot.All in all we had a nice weeks break

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Roy508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCISCO D, Guest Service at BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Dear Roy508


Thank you so much for choosing BlueBay as your holiday’s destination resorts.


We also want thank you for sharing your review regarding to your experience in our hotel and advise others future customers.


We all hope to have you back for many years as possible.



Best regards.

Hamler Perez
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

My husband and I just spent 2 fabulous weeks at Blue Bay Villas, our 2nd visit to this resort. Had fantastic weather, great food and accommodations. Made some great acquaintances with staff and guests alike. Veronica with Anamacion especially lovely as we're all of the staff. The Dominican people are very friendly and hard working. We will return!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Yogamama99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCISCO D, Guest _Service at BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Dear Yogamama99

Thank you so mucho for coming to BlueBay Villas Doradas and sharing your positive experience.

It’s a great pleasure for us to read your positive review about us and highlight the great work of our Staff and point of improvement, we always work very hard in order to exceed our customers’ expectations however it would not be possible to get it without our good employees.

Please be informed that your review will be shared with the entire management in order to take action, we appreciate so much your comment that is a great opportunity of improvement.

We hope that you back for many years.

Thank you again for your good review.

Best regards.

Hamler Perez
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

This was my first time to the Dominican Republic and I booked an all inclusive stay at Blue Bay Villas Dorados. The hotel it self is beautiful. It is incredibly clean and the staff is so friendly!

Pros:
-Very clean and well maintained
-Incredibly friendly staff
-Great entertainment
-The pool bar was awesome and a great spot to meet new friends
-Easy access to the beach
-Very well kept beach
-A La Carte's were delicious
-The shop on the resort has everything you need (small but practical)
-Close to the mall, which is just down the road
-Very safe!

Cons:
-Buffet was ok, but don't expect 5 star food
-The rooms are clean, but a little out dated
-You will get approached by vendors on the beach, but most of them are friendly and not overly persistant
-You have to pay for wi-fi! It isn't included
-You have to pay to use your safe in the room
-Nightlife is low-key, very low-key

All in all, it was a great stay! As I said earlier, the staff are friendly and courteous and the hotel itself is very well maintained! I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is travelling to Puerto Plata!

Room Tip: Try to book a room by the beach or near the spa
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCISCO D, Guest _Service at BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Dear Jordan D

Thank you so mucho for coming to BlueBay Villas Doradas and sharing your positive experience.

It’s a great pleasure for us to read your positive review about us and highlight the great work of our Staff and point of improvement, we always work very hard in order to exceed our customers’ expectations however it would not be possible to get it without our good employees.

Please be informed that your review will be shared with the entire management in order to take action, we appreciate so much your comment that is a great opportunity of improvement.

We hope that you back for many years.

Thank you again for your good review.

Best regards.

Hamler Perez
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

This was our first time to visit an adult only because our children had school and we loved it! We have been to several resorts in several countries and this was our third time in the Dominican Republic.  For the price we paid the value was amazing! We personally have stayed in nicer resorts but we paid much more money. We would definitely go back here if we had another chance to go with only adults. The grounds were well kept and everything was clean. There were security guards for safety and we felt very safe. Blue Bay is in a resort complex and is gated there as well. You can leave the resort and walk less than five minutes to a mall and also a park.
Rooms: We had two as we travelled with my mother and aunt. Both were ground floor with a patio table and chairs. The rooms were basic and clean. The beds were okay. The bathroom were a bit on the small size with limited counter space. The air-conditioner in both rooms had a mind of its own! We had to do a lot of manual changing of the temperature but they worked. You do have to pay like 3 dollars a day for the safe, but it wasn’t that much and an easy process to get the safe working. Overall the rooms are a little tired and need some updating, but well worth the price we paid! We literally only sleep in our room so that never bothers us. We used our own data plan, but there is no free wi-fi but you can pay for it.
Food: The buffet had different themes and definitely enough variety. The food was good and everyone was happy with it. The snack bar by the beach was also good and the fries and chicken there were amazing. We tried each the three restaurants that needed reservations. The Steak Place was good and the Seafood place was good. We had reservations for them again, but thought the buffet was just as good so didn’t go. We did not like the Japanese place. As far as the separate restaurants they were average as best, but we aren’t huge foodies so it was okay with us. We felt the drinks were great. The bar at the beach was 24 hour and the snacks were 24 hours so that was a plus. They also have a security guard on duty there so it feels very safe.
The staff was very nice and we especially liked Antonio in the buffet and snack bar. He was so great every day and made us feel like family. Tipping is not expected but very much appreciated. We like to tip as we know how hard they work but we have been to some resort were they expect tips and this place wasn’t like that at all. The entertainments was fun. They had shows nightly and karaoke. They had disco music by the beach as well. There were bicycle tours and other activities which were aren’t really into, but others looked like there were having fun. The pools were cleans and never crowded. The beach was nice and you can definitely play in the water, but it’s not snorkeling water. There was plenty of seating and we loved the beds they had there! One negative is the vendors. I don’t mind vendors but some were plain rude. Every five minutes someone is trying to sell you something. One time my mother was resting with her eyes shut and a lady vendor stopped and shouted at her “hey lady, you sleepy, hey lady.” It would be better if the limited the vendors or only had a certain area for them and not the entire beach.
Ultimately, we give the place a four, but for the price it could be a five! Loved our adult only vacation!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank cstrusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCISCO D, Guest Service at BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear cstrusa

Thank you so mucho for coming to BlueBay Villas Doradas and sharing your positive experience.

It’s a great pleasure for us to read your positive review about us and highlight the great work of our Staff and point of improvement, we always work very hard in order to exceed our customers’ expectations however it would not be possible to get it without our good employees.

Please be informed that your review will be shared with the entire management in order to take action, we appreciate so much your comment that is a great opportunity of improvement.

We hope that you back for many years.

Thank you again for your good review.

Best regards.

Hamler Perez
Guest Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Visited for my friends 24th birthday. From the start the staff were very helpful and informative. We arrived early and they were very accommodating. They have a buffet with different food every night. Multiple reservation restaurants for dinner. The serves were always around to help if you didn't understand something on the menu. They had plenty of options for you to eat or drink. Made sure we stayed hydrated with lots of water. The resort has multiple pools in different areas. They each give you a different vibe. All clean and have there own chairs to lay out on.

The resort was very well maintained. You always see the staff around making sure nothing is out of place and looks amazing. It's a short walk to the beach, they have a straight path there. Bars outside and one in the pool, bar at the beach. They keep the party going.

We met a staff member Alfredo on our first night. He is the best. Always informed us on what was going on, activity wise, during the day and made sure we were having a good time. If we needed anything we could ask him and he would get it done or know where we could go. Gave us information on what was around us and how to get there. Friendly and respectful. Always up dancing and enjoying himself. Helps us enjoy ourselves even more.

We also met Veronica, Anthony and Sewinty. They always included us in the activities and made sure we stayed entertained. They were all very polite and respectful. If we needed information we knew one of them would know. Definitely one of the best highlights of the trip was meeting them.

All the entertainment staff WERE THE BEST. They ran the different activities and would look for people to join in. Very convincing as to why you should join in. You are on vacation lol. Always was a good time. From yoga to dance lessons with a live band, they were awesome.

They had different shows every night. Were all good. Different dancers and routines so it was always something new.

Love this place. Will be visiting again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Krystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCISCO D, Guest Service at BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Dear Krystal M

Thank you so mucho for coming to BlueBay Villas Doradas and sharing your positive experience.

It’s a great pleasure for us to read your positive review about us and highlight the great work of our Staff and point of improvement, we always work very hard in order to exceed our customers’ expectations however it would not be possible to get it without our good employees.

Please be informed that your review will be shared with the entire management in order to take action, we appreciate so much your comment that is a great opportunity of improvement.

We hope that you back for many years.

Thank you again for your good review.

Best regards.

Hamler Perez
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews