We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just as described”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Santo Domingo, Santo Domingo Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
wsperkins
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just as described”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The photos do it justice. The outside wall is 4, either 3 feet or 4 feet, sliding glass doors. Only the one on the far left opens. So the outside of the glass doors can't be cleaned. This cut down on the nice view a lot due to coating from the salf spray. Of the open door gives you a beautiful view. The comment that everyone makes in their review is that it is noisy. Quite noisy at that. But on a previous trip I stayed the the Jaragua Hotel and was awakened by roosters in the morning. Santo Domingo is a noisy city-all night long. I recomment ear plugs. In general not just at this apartment. The apartment is fine and I was very satisfied. Petteri was a great host. I did infact recommend this place to my best friend. SEPARATE TIP--take a crisp US$10 bill to use in the machine at the airport to buy your tourist card and avoid the lines for the clerk.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2015
Thank you for your review Walter ; i appreciate it.

I would like to clarify that you can open all 4 sliding doors but for practical reasons i always advise my customers to open only the far left one... And naturally all glass doors can be cleaned as well ( which we do frequently because of salty air being in front of the ocean)

Unfortunately in Malecon - as everywhere in Santo Domingo - there might me some noise due to traffic. According to new project it is a only question of time when all heavy traffic will be prohibited in Malecon so in future there will be less noise.

It is a pleasure to have customers like you and hope to accommodate you again soon in the future...

-Petteri-
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramblingd...
St. Petersburg, FL
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Convenient location, attentive property owner, noisey city”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The condo was clean and very conveniently located for my purposes in Santo Domingo. The only problems are the noise and the traffic. It seems that the locals love their car horns and take delight in using them whenever possible. This isn't just this location, I don't think that you could find peace and quiet anywhere in Santo Domingo. Also the traffic is terrible anywhere near Santo Domingo. The rules of the road mean nothing to the majority of drivers. I would recommend this property for its affordability, location and comfort.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron F
Laguna Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The place is really modern and you feel lucky when you see the view the apt has overlooking the clear blue water,”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Place was extremely clean; located on a main strip referred to as the Malecon which boost the major hotels as well as casinos (also known as George Washington avenue); 5 to 10 min cab drive to the colonial zone by tax; modern oven and stove; radio as well as cds provided; cable tv with some English speaking channels such as MTV, VH1, CNN; power outlet in the bathroom; hot water at all times, the feeling of safety; doorman and basically a 15 min cab drive to Avenida Venuezulea and a 5 to 8 min cab drive to the zona colonial; cheap food and breakfas within walking distance; and perfect WIFI. The apartment was great for so a solo traveler such as myself.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttawaRev...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very reasonable price for beach front rental”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Place was clean and it felt quite secure. Within walking distance to a few things like the Malecon beach that has outdoor zumba classes in the evening and waking up to the beach is awesome. You do need to rent a car or take a taxi if you want to see much of the city. There is also a major road right outside of the window and the traffic in Santo Domingo is a constant stream of honking - so if you are a light sleeper bring some ear plugs.

I'd stay again.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corsey_m...
philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very nice and cozy place with a beautiful view”
Reviewed 2 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
3
people found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I had the most amazing time so relaxing and mostly convenient bars, good dance club across the street and frozen yogurt place Bon was very good went to local resturant in walking distance Tony Ramonos was great good food local bodega delivered and was very nice walked along the Blv. With great views the beach was far that was the only downfall cause we love the beach the rental owner was very nice and helpful and it is a secured building in good condition thanks trip advisory for a great recommendation

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing