We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,630)
Filter reviews
1,630 results
Traveller rating
1,079
385
97
45
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,079
385
97
45
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskon tikimood beachsalt watercabana restauranttropical paradisefriday and sundaymedicine cabinetbeach bagtwins pushed togethervip sectionshower roomprivate deckshort walk to the beachbeach bedsour honeymoonbring earplugsvery pleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
293 - 298 of 1,630 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2016

The gated resort has a beautiful designed tropical garden and counts a number of free standing two story villas. Each villa houses four rooms. The rooms are tastefully decorated, are large in surface and have a private terrace.The staff is friendly, professional and service oriented.
The resort has no restaurant, but gives acces to the horeca facilities at Cabana beach. The contrast between the beauty of the resort and the run down beach facilities could not be bigger. Food is allright, service as well, but you might as well go to a two star hotel and get the same quality. The beach itself is public, but there were enough beds to share.
What really annoyed us was the music that kept us awake until late. Three times a week a nearby beach organises a beach party with corresponding sound levels. Bring your earplugs is you wish to sleep! Rooms on the same floor have a connecting door. Great if you bring your kids. Not so great if you have a noisy neighbour. But your earplugs should rescue you again.

Room Tip: top floor rooms are less noisy
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerencevdValk, General Manager at Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Dear Bartholome,

Thank you for taking the time and write a review on your stay.

Great to see that you've experienced luxury at the resort itself and really enjoyed our tropical garden, rooms and your private terrace. Very good that you've also experienced great service from our staff and found them friendly and professional. Unfortunately not everything was to your liking outside of the resort and your feedback on that is of great use to us.

Hopefully we may be welcoming you again and offer you an even better experience.

Kindest regards,

Terence vd Valk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2016

Kontiki is an interesting mix. The grounds are flat out lovely with meandering pathways through tropical plants and flowers, over bridges and laced with interlocking salt water pools you can swim in.

The room we had was comfortable and clean. It is was not a huge room but had beds that were good, the bathroom had a shower and a large tub and the water was hot and had good water pressure. There was a nice deck with chairs and a table and a nice view of the ocean. There was also adequate storage. (I had called and asked if they had a coffee maker in the room and was assured they did but it turned out to be a hot water pot only. No good coffee... sigh...)

The staff were all very helpful and nice. A woman drove a golf cart in front of our car to show us where to park and helped us to our room. We asked for help several times in making dinner reservations and they were always very accommodating.

The only down side was mostly to do with the time of year. We were here between Christmas and New Years and there are many, many parties on the beach at this time. I don't think we would stay here again in high season just because of the noise of the bass from the beach! New Year's Eve was astonishingly noisy because the whole island is enamoured with fire crackers and they went off all night long. Thank God for ear plugs!

The last day we were shocked to receive a bill for an extra $300 US! It listed a 7% tax of some kind and a $25 per day "resort tax". We were quite taken aback because we thought we had paid the entire bill in full months before we came. It was late when we got in that night so we decided to discuss this with the hotel staff the next morning when we checked but when we stopped at the front desk early the next day, the only person there could not help us - she didn't have the authority to take payments or discuss the bill so we left to catch our plane.

The next day we got an email from the hotel about the unpaid bill, so I wrote back and asked what the charges were and expressed our displeasure at being charged such a hugh amount without any warning. I contacted the booking agent also and a couple days later, got an email from Kontiki saying they would drop the entire extra charge because they didn't want us to have a bad impression of their hotel! Wow. I cannot say I have ever had that happen. It was a nice resolution to a troubling problem and I am very grateful for it. However, if you go to Kontiki, make sure you are very clear what their charges are. I think this "resort fee" may be a common practice and many people probably don't know about it or object to it.

All in all, Kontiki was a good place to stay and I would recommend it with the caviat of making sure about the resort fees.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Mary'n H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerencevdValk, General Manager at Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Dear Mary'n,

Thank you taking the time to write a detailed review on your stay at Kontiki Beach Resort.

Great to see that you've enjoyed the beauty of our tropical garden and natural pools running through. Very nice that our rooms were experienced as comfortable and clean and that you had a wonderful view from your private deck. That you've experience great service as well and found our staff very nice and helpful is a pleasure to read. Thank you for your feedback on some issues you've experienced and we will definitely look into this. Glad that you were satisfied in the end.

Hopefully we may be welcoming you in a different period and offer you an even better experience at Kontiki Beach Resort.

Kindest regards,

Terence vd Valk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Hotel was nice, service was exceptional and the rooms where very comfortable.
the garden is very peacefull and i would for sure return to the hotel for second stay.

breakfast and beach were nice and again the service we received was very very good.

Room Tip: if you like to swim in the salt water pool ground floor is better however if you prefer your privacy move to the second floor
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank faried k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerencevdValk, General Manager at Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

Dear Faried,

Thank you very much for taking the time and write a review.

I am very pleased to see that you experienced exceptional service and are describing our rooms as very comfortable. Great that you would return for a second time at Kontiki Beach Resort.

We would really like to welcome you for a second time and offer you an even better experience.

Kindest regards,

Terence vd Valk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

I really enjoyed my stay at the Kontiki Beach Resort. It has recently been renovated and I thought that the room was beautiful. I stayed in Hut 33, which was more by the road than by the ocean, but the resort consists of "huts" of 2 rooms on each of 2 floors. They are scattered throughout the resort with paths and swimming pools nestled in between.

The staff was very helpful, especially when I had some issues with my return to the airport (not the hotel's issue). The rooms were clean and stylishly decorated.

The only difficulties I had were related to being there on New Year's. There were late and loud fireworks all over the island on Dec 30 and Dec 31, so getting to sleep early was not an option (not the hotel's fault, again). The other issues are more related to being an American at a primarily Dutch resort: Only one set of 110v outlets under the desk (if you need to charge phones, laptops, etc) and although English is generally spoken by everyone, the understanding isn't all that good.

Meal options are at Cabana Beach which basically is the beachfront of this resort. Service is good but the menu is a bit limited. Definitely worth going to the Fri night fishmonger dinner. Delicious!

For all of the other locations that I saw on Curacao during my trip, I would definitely recommend this resort. The beach is quite nice and the rooms and location is great. Meant for adults only more than those traveling with kids (the pools are more for lounging than kidlike frolicking).

Room Tip: Higher floors are better, but limited bungalows near the ocean.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rich T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerencevdValk, General Manager at Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

Dear Rich,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review and describing Kontiki Beach Resort as a Fantastic Hotel.

Great to see that you really enjoyed your stay and experienced our staff as very helpful. I am very pleased that you describe our rooms as beautiful, clean and stylishly decorated. Excellent that you are recommending Kontiki Beach Resort
and the Friday night Fish Market at Cabana Beach.

We appreciate your feedback and I'm sorry to see that you've had some difficulties during the last days of the year.

Hopefully we may be welcoming you once again at Kontiki Beach Resort and offer you an even better experience.

Kindest regards,

Terence vd Valk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 9 nights at Kontiki and chose it for the high ratings at Tripadvisor, a good location close to the start of the KLM Curacao marathon (at Lions hotel) and the adults only profile for a relaxing quiet vacation.

PROS
Beautifully designed hotel area with several smaller "private" pools for each house. Lots of flowers and greenery, a true tranquil paradise setting. The rooms are large and of good standard, even if some renovation is needed soon.

Friendly and helpful staff.

Very close to the Cabana beach which is surprisingly nice even if it's a "man-made" beach, free use of beach beds are included in the hotel price.

CONS
The restaurant Cabana is not on par with the hotel standard. Very uneven food quality, unprofessional management and overpriced. The breakfast is not worth $20 and I strongly suggest not to book any meals with your accommodation, there are much better restaurants in the area. Service in general quite bad and they don't come close to deliver on the "trendy beach restaurant" they aim for. Cabana feels like a typical Ibis restaurant and not what you expect at such a nice hotel as Kontiki, it should really be changed.

If you want a quiet vacation it may be a good idea to avoid the rooms closest to the beach. Even if the ocean view is nice it will be A LOT of disturbance on Wednesday nights when Cabana has live music and club night, impossible to get any sleep before 2 am no matter how many earplugs you bring. On Friday and Sunday nights there are beach parties at nearby Wet&Wild which are also quite noisy.

SUMMARY
In total we were happy with our stay at Kontiki and if they fix the few flaws we may definitely consider returning.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Hatten313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerencevdValk, General Manager at Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2016

Dear Hatten,

Thank you for writing a detailed review on your stay at Kontiki Beach Resort.

Great to see that you've experienced our staff as friendly and helpful and that
you've enjoyed our tropical garden and natural pools running through it.
Also very good to see that the beach just outside of the resort was to you satisfaction. Unfortunately you've encountered some flaws and we really appreciate your feedback, because we constantly are trying to improve.

Glad to see that you were happy with your stay at Kontiki Beach Resort and hopefully we may be welcoming you once again.

Kindest regards,

Terence vd Valk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews