We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,172)
Filter reviews
4,171 results
Traveller rating
1,037
1,662
785
380
307
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,037
1,662
785
380
307
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jimmy's buffet pizza lobby bar fish family suite beach restaurant ocean view a la cartes beautiful beach italian restaurant main building other resorts nightly entertainment pasta bar pork a great vacation recommend this resort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,946 - 2,951 of 4,171 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2005

We stayed in a junior suite at the Bella Costa that had a very nice view(ocean) which was very clean and everything worked. We were there from Feb10-24.
The temperature was hot during the day(25-28'c) and a light sweater required for the evening.
The food was good with quite a bit to choose from. The lobster was very good when you were in the right place at the right time.The ice cream was great as were the pastries.
Animacion were always friendly and entertaining,especially Jackmal.
Sun rises and sunsets were a thing of beauty even when there were a few clouds.
The beach was clean and the ocean was as clear as being in your tub at home.There was never any need to get to the beach early to reserve loungers as there were always some available.
The only thing that we were taken aback by was the tipping, which we only have ourselves to blame for.
The resort had just changed it's manager and food services manager which over the 2 weeks we were there you could tell by the changes that started to happen.
Overall the group we were with had had a great time and enjoyed all aspects of this resort.
The eye opener was the tour into Havana . The restoration was well underway as some of the old buildings that are finished looked great.
The markets were quite narrow with all kinds of illegal cigar pushers around. The begging became alittle annoying and when you finally gave in they came out of every crack in the ground almost taking your clothes off of you.
The Katamaran (playo Blanco)tour was an excellent adventure with fresh lobster being picked up just as we left the dock area and they were huge.The Lobster was cooked for you right on the Katamaran which you got to eat just out of the pot. The island you get taken too(Aquaworld) was very nice and hot.
We will get back to this resort again.................

Date of stay: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank MrGrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 February 2005

hi, i just came back from this hotel yesterday feb. 19 2005. I stayed there for a week and i really liked this resort. First of all, the hotel is near the beach. The drink at the pool bar are good and the barmaid are smiling.
The pool by the way is small and they have not a lot of chairs!!! My room was at the fourth floor (room 370) and the view from my balcony was super.

the bar inside the hotel is pretty and big. near the reception there's at least 4 boutiques (one to devellop your film, one for the drinks.. food... cigar... souvenirs...). When we arrived at the reception the personnal were friendly and smiling, and one welcome me in french. My room was not very big, but it was ok, i was there only to sleep :0)).

The food was so-so, but i ate a lot!! Fish, pasta, french fries, pizza, salad, rice ... name it, ho yes and also shrips! hummm. I guest i'm not very difficult but i liked it!! At the restaurant El Mirador near the beach, the birds were eating the rice!!! And they were IN the buffet, they were eating pizzas!!!!! At first i was like, well it's disgusting but we get use to this! I hope they didn't did a little gift in my salad (i hope it was the sauce) lolll.

The animator at this hotel are not very annoying to do sport volleyball, when we don't want they don't force us, compare to another resort I went. Say hello to Jesus or Alexis!!! I really liked the place, the person at the buffet were smiling (give tips and they will serve you fast!!) . Sometimes you have to wait the waitress to have fork and knives. The service is nice, me I gave 1 cuc at each meal , and they dressed well the table and gave me wine, coffee, what i wanted!!

so have fun and take a drink for me!!

25  Thank montrealtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 February 2005

We were in Varadero May 15 - 22,2004. It was wonderful, we read as many reviews as we could, talked to as many ppl as we could before we went. We felt we were ready and prepared, and we were! Thanks to great suggestions from this site, we had an absolutely fantastic weekend.

This is a great time of the year to go, the weather was 30 or better all the time, it was breezy outside, which made the heat feel less intense.At the resort there were only about 500 ppl, instead of the busy time of 700. We never stood in line for the buffet, nor the line up for the la carte restaurants. It was very clean, better than the largest mall we have been to,( no names mentioned. )

Food~ there is a wide variety, for even the pickiest eaters,, bread~amazing!!, cheese, vinegar salads, rice, pasta, chicken, pork, lil sirloin steakettes, sometimes there was shrimp salads, lobster one night, potatoes, breakfast was great, pancakes, french toast, bacon, eggs fried right in front of you, or an omlette, toast, There are 3 buffets/day, for 3 hours each, so really, there is no excuse for being hungry, and there are hamburgers and hot dogs bbqd outside every afternoon with tomatoes, onions, ketchup, mustard...so good during the day at the beach! If you sleep in, which I dont know why anyone would,,,u can get a late continental breakfast at the beachfront restaurant. The birds can get in, but the food is shielded, but they werent sitting there devouring and pecking at the food.

There is also a lunch w/hamburgers served there for those in swimsuits, and dont feel like getting dressed to go to the inside buffet. The steakhouse ala carte was great!! So was the mediteranean, we didnt try the other one.

BAR~~ oh my,,,,so much booze, the wine was very nice at meals, the beer was refreshing at the beach, DEFINATLEY take insulated mugs, everyone rinsed them out for us, filled them with anything we wanted, and when we left, we gave them to the beach bartender, and the hamburger dude who served us all week. They appreciate gifts more than money. Be sure to tip, dont be tight, a dollar goes a long way, we were served like kings and queens, and never complained. They dont have shot glasses, i think they only use 3 fingers to measure the alcohol. Yah, i couldnt handle the alochol, and never drank for the last 4 days. They are happy to give you other drinks too, I love lemonade slush w/ sprite...mm very refreshing. Oh yah, dont take drinks to ur room, the ants like them, and so does the occasional thirsty cockroach. We didnt see any, but if u get one in ur drink in ur room, its ur own fault! The tiny ants like candy i found out,,,no candy or food in the rooms,,,,common sense eh?

There was no need to take spices, there was pleanty of tobasco sauce, ketchup,HP sauce, salad dressings, mayo, oil & vinegar, salt and pepper.

ROOMS~ as nice as in the picture, more spacious than i was expecting, the bathroom, a sink, tub, shower, good water pressure, a buddee,,(we washed our sandals in it)! no facecloths, take disposable oil of olay cloths, took tissue, need an adapter, they only had 220 v, leave the maid hair stuff, nail polish, aspirin, not shampoo and stuff the y can get from the hotel.Leave the maid a note, u get one back. The safe was excellent, I guess some ppl dont lock it up , and something can go missing, but , duh! we locked ours up. It was worth the 2$ a day. Air conditioner was good, we used the heat the last nite, ,,hehe it was 25 but i guess we were getting used to the heat. On the balcony there was a clothes hanger, nice.

CLOTHES~ take t shirts for the buffet, and the ala carte resaurants, and cooler evenings. no jacket, everyone wears very short skirts there, i wish i took more skorts, needed pjs at nite, it was cool w/ac on. Men~ short sleeved shirts for the restaurants, lightweight pants for the evnings, dressy sandals, wrap for the beach, no need to bring beach towels, hotel has them, i bought one at market 10$, very nice , i used it flying home for a pillow.

TRANSPORTATION~ we rented a moped, the best thing we did, but they are not insured, and our agent recommended we didnt, but it was good. we dont drive it fast, be very careful, yeild to everyone, be very patient. Next time we would rent it for the week, 120$. It was 20$ for 5 hours . The carriage was sweet tho, 15$ to market. The cococars are cool too, 5$ to town for 2 of us. We wouldnt rent a car. The Catamaran ride was worth the $, and the junghle tour. We had lobster in town for lunch, right across from the park. We dont go clubbing, and we got friendly with the entertainment staff, big mistake, they leeched on, and that annoyed us, it was our fault, so be aware. Do not but black market cigars, not worth, it, they are cheep at duty free, we bought all our rum, and cigars at duty free shop in airport for 2 of us, for 91$. Definately take immodium, pepto bismo, and advil. We felt ill many evenings from the heat, and ran out of advil. Dont mistake heatstroke with food poisong, we were just not used to the heat, drink lots of water. Bottled water, the maid leaves a huge bottle in the room, if u need 2 , ask her, she has no problem with that, the water was safe at the hotel, and the bartenders will refill ur bottle for u if u take it to the beach. We took small ones with, and refilled them when we went to the markets, or beach. There is a mini fridge in the room, and worked great.
If you have any questions, or would like to see pictures of our holiday, please feel free to email me or ask any questions.

Oh yah,. and the best part of the end of our trip,,,ty Deb for telling me about this,,,,, GET THE V>I>P> lounge at the airport, oh my god, i cant tell u how ez it was, and it was like a cherry on top , to top our holdiay off. Well worth the 20$/person. We had a nice sleep b4 boarding, had a glass of wine, ham and cheese, chips, etc,, all included.

We took gifts to the school across form the market, so rewarding, coloring books, games, jacks, marbles, crayons, pencils, stickers, etc are appreciated. We didnt find the ppl at market would trade stuff,,,,so didnt waste our time with them.

So , go here, have fun, relax, be patient, tip, smile, enjoy urself, they are in slow gear there, it is too hot for them to do too much too fast, expect that!

Oh yah, we needed lots of sunscreen, started running out, take lots, different levels, strong for the first few days, then lighter as u go along,,, and aftersun cream, a hat, cheap sandals for the beach, cheap sunglasses, lots of film, we used 10 rolls, so if u want to see lots, email me!!

72  Thank Tour36254
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 February 2005

Beautiful setting - beach was calm, powdery sand, no debris whatsoever with the exception of a couple of sea shells.

The staff were kind, friendly very accomodating - always a delight. Plenty of activities and decent night shows - salsa lessons!

The bars, both indoor and outdoor were exquissite -killer pina coladas and mojitos!

Plenty of excursions available - havana is a must-see!

The room were spacious, clean, no problems, nice comfy bed, nice bathrooms. Plenty of stprage for our belongings plus a good tv with a good selection of channels.

The decor of the hotel was beauiful - plenty of lush plants, indoor fountains, nice lounge area with couches, boutiques, all you could ever need.

Excellent food, wide variety of options at all the buffets, from fresh fish, seafood, salads, vegetables, pasta made-to-order and impressive spanish paella to freshly baked bread and tempting desserts. Elaborate breakfasts included french toast pancake and omelettes made on the spot.

An excellent vacation, very reasonable pricing and well worth it - we are going back as soon as we bank enough vacation days!

36  Thank Tara2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 February 2005

I've not had a chance to post this sooner but I was there the very first week of January 2005. I must say the resort is very clean with friendly staff. The food was exceeding the expectations, especially if you don't mind waking up for an early breakfast before going on a day trip. The cleaning maids always surpiresed with new creative figurines made out of blankets. Drinks are perfect 10. Hint: Tip the gardiner (staff in green uniforms) couple of pesos and you can have your cocktails out of freshly opened cocconuts. Tour guides for daytrips were very helpful with all the info you need. The two must see day tirps are Catamaran Tour to swim with dolphines, best part was Cayo Blanco island with the most beautyful beach ever and while there don't pass up the chance to try the cuban style made lobster included in your package. Other trip is Havana tour, we did colonial only and it was worth it. If you are there (in Havana) grab yourself a bottle of "Legendario elixir" 7 years old rum. YOu won't find it anywhere else (at least I didn't at the resort or airport,and it isn't exported either) but it is sweetened and tastes delicious. The nightly shows at the resort were entertaining. For the wild teens, Club La Rhumba is only 10 meters walking distance from the hotel. And for the beer drinkers, the beach buffet restorant "el Mirador" offered self serve beer tap. So there, go to Bella Costa and enjoy.

30  Thank CubaBoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews