We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$211
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Melia Varadero(Varadero)
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$142
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Palmeras(Varadero)
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Solymar(Varadero)
US$132
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$368
US$301
iberostar.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$376
US$230
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$212
US$181
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$123
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,089)
Filter reviews
4,089 results
Traveller rating
1,595
1,500
646
202
146
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,595
1,500
646
202
146
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivilege sectionpiano barprivilege poolmike's coffeea la carte restaurantspizzaprivilege guestsprivilege roombeach restaurantbeach towelsrain showergourmet restaurantmain buffetfishprivate poolrecommend this resortmain pool
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 4,089 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018

one week stay at the Ocean Varadero El Patriarca. pool and beach entertainment wasn't great. they really could use some music all day. we were told there would be a foam party, well.... that didn't happen, they don't even have a foam machine. Food at the a la carte was amazing!!! snack bar had the best burgers. Yohan, the beach boy, was very helpful and friendly. Pavel and Henry at the lobby bar were awesome, fast and made the best drinks. Rooms were nice and clean. beach was not as nice as the other restorts. could really see the difference when talking a walk along the beach past the other resorts.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanCustomerService, Director General at Ocean Varadero El Patriarca, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear Customer: Thank you for writing your experience in our complex. Your comments are very important to us and to other readers. We look forward to welcoming you for your next trip to Ocean Varadero El Patriarca Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Gorgeous beach, nice sandy entry to ocean. Lots of loungers . Entertainment at the beach was great. Music , sports, water aerobics in ocean. Mostly calm. Some days were small waves. Beach bar was close by. Water excursions at beach available till 4 every day

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank RS44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanCustomerService, Director General at Ocean Varadero El Patriarca, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Dear Customer: Thank you for writing your experience in our complex. Your comments are very important to us and to other readers. We look forward to welcoming you for your next trip to Ocean Varadero El Patriarca Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Just back from the holiday of a lifetime having stayed two wonderful weeks at the Ocean Varadero El Patriarca. A smart low rise complex of apartments set around a huge swimming pool with swim up bar. Our room was kept immaculately clean and the mini bar in the room topped up daily. A good choice of food in the buffet restaurant and also 3 A la carte restaurants also with free unlimited use. Branded drinks all part of the deal- we tried so many different cocktails and drinks during our stay! Brilliant music in the piano bar or lobby and something going on in the main theatre most evenings. The hotel also has its own section of beach with beach bar and snack bar but we preferred Varadero town beach which was simply stunning.. like a holiday brochure picture! Varadero town like most of Cuba is very safe, low crime rate because of ultra tough zero tolerance policies means you can go out and party with the locals and sample real Cuban life.. talking of which a trip to Havana is an absolute must, a real treat and a trip I will never forget. A very very good hotel with amazingly friendly and helpful staff.. we will be booking to return next year!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Erny1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanCustomerService, Director General at Ocean Varadero El Patriarca, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Dear Customer: Thank you for writing your experience in our complex. Your comments are very important to us and to other readers. We look forward to welcoming you for your next trip to Ocean Varadero El Patriarca Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

We just arrived at the hotel and we are trying to switch to another hotel. It’s not like the photos and not 4*. Maybe 3. Main buffet is so dark to make sure we don’t see the hidden stuff and sewage smell fills the whole restaurant. Food worse than the average restaurant in Cuba. We traveled to Cuba many time and we are not high maintenance ppl but by far this the worst I have seen.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
9  Thank Not-a-Returner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanCustomerService, Director General at Ocean Varadero El Patriarca, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Dear Customer, Thank you for writing your experience in our complex. Your comments are very important to us and to other readers. And thank you to approach the general direction and express your feeling We hope to welcome you for your next trip to Ocean Varadero El Patriarca Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

We are spending our last night here, waiting for the last show to start. The drinks were plentiful, and there was a great variety. The coffee in mikes coffee shop is great! The animation team are so energetic and entertaining!
The rooms are nice, and have everything you would need. The a la carts were great, and the buffet had something for everyone. The staff work so hard to please you, and always remember you!
We met so many people and hope to return next year. We have been traveling south for the past 4 years and this is by far the best stay in Cuba so far.
Tip always put your bag on your beach chair. The sand fleas do bite. Haha. That isn’t the resorts fault. It was entirely our fault lol

Also remember to be kind to the wait staff. I wouldn’t run to someone who is rude and snapping their fingers at me. Kindness goes a long way.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanCustomerService, Director General at Ocean Varadero El Patriarca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Dear Customer: Thank you for writing your experience in our complex. Your comments are very important to us and to other readers. We look forward to welcoming you for your next trip to Ocean Varadero El Patriarca Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews