We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melia Cohiba
Nearby Hotels
US$318
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$195
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Habana(Havana)
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$241
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$443
US$312
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$93
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$208
US$177
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$91
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (3,866)
Filter reviews
3,866 results
Traveller rating
1,772
1,410
488
107
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,772
1,410
488
107
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshavana cafepoolside restaurantold havanabreakfast buffetcigar loungebusiness centervery nice hotelfree shuttletwin centre holidaycigar storejazz clubsea wallthomas cooklovely poolconcierge servicepool area isfive star hotel
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 3,866 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a lovely hotel with beautiful and really interesting art throughout. Our room was on the 14th floor and was overlooking the pool. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. I was really surprised to find the bathroom even had a bidet! We used the free shuttle to Old Havana almost daily as it was a very convenient way to get there with a few departure time options (10am, 1pm, 4pm, 6pm). You can also use the shuttle for your return trip, although if you want to take a classic car taxi for the ride back, it's only $10CUC from there. The pool area is also lovely and there are nice padded loungers available, as well as sun shade cabanas. We never had any problem getting towels or finding an an available lounger, as there are plenty. There is a bar and grill available out by the pool and they deliver. We didn't use the gym but did go see it and it was impressive - definitely a lot more equipment than the bare bones you usually see at hotels. There are 3 additional restaurants in the hotel which we didn't eat at but had a nice range of menu options. Compared to the other restaurants we went to, the prices here are quite expensive and since we weren't impressed with the hotel breakfast buffet, we decided to go elsewhere for meals. The breakfast buffet does have an incredible selection and so many different stations, from delicious fruits (I did enjoy these) to all kinds of cheeses, charcuterie, salmon, omelettes made to order, eggs, bacon (far too underdone), yogurts, a variety of breads, and a lot more. There is a separate station with an impressive selection of fresh and even exotic juices. Of course, there was also table-side coffee delivery from very polite and attentive staff. Despite the incredible number of choices, most of the food was just okay. I have to add that the champagne and orange juice at the breakfast buffet entrance was a very nice touch, as was the live music. Compared to the other meals we had elsewhere, I would rank the hotel as the most expensive place to eat and my least favourite. There is a very convenient Cadeca for exchanging your money in the hotel which opens early and closes around 8pm. You are only permitted to have one person go inside at a time, however, with such long operating hours, we never found the wait very long at all and there was almost never a lineup of more than a couple of other people. There is a Cigar lounge (and shop) and several other shops in the hotel. We found the gift shop here a little on the expensive side, but the selection was really good. If you forgot to pick up souvenirs during your outings, as a tip for last-minute gifts, go next door to the Riviera's gift shop as the prices there were quite a bit better. There is a Concierge desk at the hotel where you go to get the daily shuttle tickets and who can help you with all kinds of questions. The lady Concierge we spoke to several times was always helpful, although if you want something more than information, you do have to ask quite directly. For example, we were having trouble using the phone to schedule a meeting with our Sunwing tour rep and the Concierge didn't proactively offer to make the call for us, as I would have expected. However, when I did ask if she would do so, she did right away. Check-in and check-out were quick and easy. Check-in is also when you get your wi-fi access code. The other hotel we considered staying at was the Nacional, but I'm glad we didn't because we went there for drinks to check it out and yes, the Mohito was good, but I found inside the hotel was very dark and cramped-feeling, not at all as nice and bright and spacious as the Cohiba. In summary, our stay at the Cohiba was very comfortable and we would recommend this as an excellent hotel for a stay in Havana.

Room Tip: We had a great view from the 14th floor.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Gina,

Thank you very much for choosing us to spend your vacation in Havana and also for sharing such a nice opinion about your experiences in our Hotel with the users of the Tripadvisor community.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed our facilities, the services that we provide to our customers, our location on the seafront and especially the Shuttle free for your daily walks to the old Havana.

It is also good to know that you enjoyed our gastronomy, especially our breakfast buffet with live music and the good service he received from our staff.

We are pleased to know that we also meet your expectations with the money exchange service at Cadeca, with the variety and quality of cigars at Casa del Habano and with free wifi service for our guest.

Thank you very much for the recommendation you make of our hotel, we hope that you return soon to Melia Cohiba, it will be a pleasure to welcome you and make your next stay another unforgettable experience.

Until then I send you our warmest greetings,

Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahl,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for three nights in April and were very happy that we had chosen this hotel. One morning we took tge hop on hio off tourist bus which stops outside the hotel and were rather smug when we passed other hotels we had considered which were not nearly as attractive snd situated in unattractive areas. We chise this hitel because we wanted a pkace with a reasonabke sized pool and which would be away from the city centre so sleep would be undisturbed. We had a corner room actually more like a suite on the 9th floor and had magnificent views of the malecon and excelkent nights sleep.

The hotel is out of tge fentre but we walked in one day aling tge Malecon which is a long eay but oercectly feasible. Taxis are cruusing oast all tge time so you could take a taxi if yoy wanted at any time. We rode back in a vintage American open top car which cost around £7.00. Yellow taxis were more at around £10.00 each way.

Breakfasts were plentiful with plenty of choice of cooked items fresh breads and fruits. Every morning there was a three piece band playing live classical music which was beautiful. We also tried the poolside bar and can recommend the stone baked pizza.

Staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful and we did not find any language difficulties.

Everything was extremely clean and well cared for although maybe not up to smart european hotel standards. The pool area is maybe in need of an upgrade but if you take a look at the surrounding environment you can see that this is extremely luxurious for Cuba. We were extremely comfortable at this hotel and works highly recommend a stay here.

Thank you for a wonderful start to our first holiday in Cuba.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Joanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Joanne,

Thank you very much for choosing us to spend your first vacation in Cuba and also for sharing such a nice opinion about your experiences in our Hotel with the users of the Tripadvisor community.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed our facilities, the services that we provide to our customers, our location on the seafront and your city tours on our Shuttle free.

It is also good to know that you enjoyed our gastronomy and the attention that you received from our staff.

You should know that our Hotel is a process of maintaining our facilities with the objective of improving our image and continue in the preference of our customers.

Thank you very much for the recommendation you make of our hotel, we hope that you return soon to Melia Cohiba, it will be a pleasure to welcome you and make your next stay another unforgettable experience.

Until then I send you our warmest greetings,

Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahl,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and me went to that hotel and we are very happy for the overall experience, we enjoyed the local musicians, the staff, our commute to "Old Havana" . Rooms are very comfortable, the view of the Malecon from floor 16th was so beautiful.

Room Tip: Suites at the upper levels with ocean views are the best
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank davidromana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear David,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your positive experience in our Hotel with the users of the Tripadvisor community.

We are very pleased to know that you are happy to visit our hotel whit your wife, that you enjoyed our facilities and the service that we offer to our guest, of the tour for the old Havana and the beautiful views of the Malecon that you can see from our Hotel.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again at the Melia Cohiba on your next visit to Havana and make your stay another unforgettable experience.

Until then I send you a warm greeting from all our staff.

Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahl,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a very nice hotel, part of the famous and luxurious Melia-chain. It is really beautiful inside but - if you have a closer look - its most glamorous years are already over: cracks, rust, etc. everywhere. Staff was friendly but will speak mostly Spanish. We wanted to go to some place, asked at reception, were told to go ask the concierge, who told us to go ask at Guest Services. The lady there told us that her English would be too weak to unterstand our inquiry and sent us away. Our room was spacious but very, very loud. We usually can stand some noise but we had to use earplugs. It sounded like aircons (we switched ours off) which was even louder in front of the room. Also, our room was next to the elevator and every time someone pushed the button to some floor, it made an alarm-sound which was annoying. Complementary 2 bottles of water and 1(!) capsule for the coffee maker for 2 days.

All fine but the noise was really affecting our sleep.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank psymaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear psymaggs,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your stay in Havana and for sharing your comment about your experience in the Tripadvisor community.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and the friendliness of our staff.

It is important that you know that our Hotel is in the process of renovating our facilities with the objective of improving our image and keeping us in the preference of our guest.

It would have been opportune to inform us of the eventualities that you had with the communication with our staff and of the noises in your room during you stay, we would have taken all the necessary measures to solve these problems immediately. Anyway, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused.

We hope that you choose the Melia Cohiba in your next stay in Havana, it will be a pleasure to welcome you back to our Hotel and make your stay an unforgettable experience.

Until then I send you a cordial greeting,

Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahl,
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been bringing groups to Cuba for the past 6 years and am never disappointed. Not only am I happy with the accommodations but all of the people I have brought down have enjoyed their stays as well.

Room Tip: Most of our stays are on "The Level" and the staff is always pleasant.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Exclusive E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Exclusive E,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your positive experience in our Hotel with the users of the Tripadvisor community.

We are very pleased to know that you are happy to visit our hotel during these 6 years and that your clients are also happy. Thank you very much for helping us to get to know our country, for your loyalty to our Hotel and for considering us the best hotel in the city.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again at the Melia Cohiba on your next visit to Havana and make your stay another unforgettable experience.

Until then I send you a warm greeting from all our staff.

Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahl,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews