We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,382)
Filter reviews
6,382 results
Traveller rating
2,105
2,493
1,132
414
238
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,105
2,493
1,132
414
238
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel tour missile crisis hall of fame historic hotel frank sinatra movie stars executive floor national monument cabaret parisien steeped in history famous guests step back in time old havana lots of history cabaret show buena vista social club terrace bar
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 6,382 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my second stay at the hotel. Last visit was almost 2 years ago and the Hotel once again lived up to its reputation of a 1st class hotel with friendly staff and great service! The room, common areas and grounds are very clean and well maintained. Looking forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio M, Director General at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear William.

Very nice opinion about Hotel Nacional de Cuba! Thank you very much for sharing it and being faithful to the Hotel Nacional de Cuba.

Welcome back soon!!!

Best Regards.


Antonio Martinez Rodriguez
General Director
Hotel Nacional de Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just returned from a 1 week holiday/vacation from this Hotel in Havana and our impression is overall very positive.

The Hotel was build in 1930 and many parts are still from this time. So was our room with its old furniture, old doors, an old bathroom and old windows but all is very well looked after, clean and tidy. Our room showed to the West and always remained nice and cool even when outside temperatures were above 30°C. So we never needed to use air conditioning and had an excellent sleep in the night. Room service was efficient.

In our room, there was a safe which is quite handy allowing you to keep your personal values and documents.

Our TV had heaps of local and foreign channels for South Americans, US Americans, Asian and European tourists in Spanish, English, Chinese, German, French, Italian, Russian and even BBC, Fox and CNN. Compared to some places elsewhere in Europe and in Northamerica, the TV choice is excellent and without any restriction.

Internet connection was in most of the times smooth and quick and comparable with the quality Western countries. Sometimes, connection got lost, I presume this was because too many people were connected at the same time but this did not happen more than in any hotel or any public WIFI place in Europe. I even could watch Youtube videos or internet TV without any problems. Actually, my wife spoke to her family via Facebook life video in the garden of the Hotel and had excellent reception.

Breakfast was very good with a wide choice of meat, vegetables, local bread and bakery, fruits, eggs, jam, salad, sausages, cheese, fruit juice and fruit cocktails etc.....Of course, sometimes things were not perfect, like the waffles being sometimes burned and so on...., but these are only details. In all, food was great and staff visibly displayed its efforts to do a good job.

The Hotel offers a lot of possibilities to eat out and to have drinks in various restaurants and taverns inside the building and in the garden area. We recommend food in the BARAKA restaurant which was great and impeccable. As we concentrate more on the taste while eating, we do not need big portions which on the contrary a big eater might criticise about the Hotel restaurants.

I generally screen through positive and negative reviews of the place before I write a review myself. Concerning the staff and the hotel service, we cannot complain. I am well travelled and did not find staff different or less friendlier or less helpful as in Western Countries. As always and in all places all over the world, there are nice people and also strange and frustrated ones, so in all no remarkable difference. People treated us correctly and we did not have the impression they were chasing us for tips, although they always were very thankful when we had given one.
The fact I speak fluently Spanish made it probably easier for me but many staff adressed us in English first which shows their willingness to adapt.
Some tourists display arrogance towards staff by showing their wealth with expensive jewellery, a big purse and boasting with big tips asking to be served like kings. You also will see strange couples where you might ask yourself a lot of questions.

There are 2 pools. At the time we visited the Hotel, they renovated the Tarzan pool (named after Johny Weissmuller who jumped into it from the second floor). The bigger pool was open and is nice to swim and relax.

Concerning some concerns expressed about the water, I personally did not have any problem with brushing my teeth with it but we did not drink it. My wife and me ate and drunk exactly the same things during our week in the hotel. I did not have any problem but she caught diarrhoea which must have been caused by ice cubes in our drink in a bar the historic center of Havana. At that moment, I had a beer and no ice cubes. So the cause of diarrhoea was not the water of the hotel but the outside source in downtown Havana. I personally think, that brushing teeth with the Hotel water is no problem.

The history of the Hotel is impressive, stretching from visits of famous actors, singers and politicians which is displayed in the bar Hall of Fame and also all over the hotel. There is a daily free guided tour of the hotel organised by the staff which you should not miss (in English and Spanish).

Hoping that all visitors will be as satisfied and positive as we are. In all, its a great place to be, a big thumb up.

Room Tip: Avoiding exposure to sunlight during the day
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
1  Thank the_traveller0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio M, Director General at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest.

It is a pleasure to greet you.
We consider that your detailed opinion is very useful for customers. Thank you for sharing your experiences.
Thanks for recommending us.
Come back soon!!!

Antonio Martinez Rodriguez
General Director
Hotel de Cuba Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The facade of the hotel and the common areas ( Foyer, bar and outdoor sitting areas) are as charming as you may have seen in the old movies.

Although the quality of some the rooms in the hotel are 2-3 star quality, the overall feel and ambience of the hotel (outside the rooms) is 6 star.
The outside siting area, where they serve drinks, play live music with views of the ocean transforms in to a scene from a 1950s movies every evening. You can sit there all day and enjoy.

If this hotel was renovated and managed by a major hotel Chain ( Hilton, Ritz, Marriott) it would attract upwards of $500 - $800 per night. Right now you will be paying around $250 per night but the experience is worth $1000 per night.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio M, Director General at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Armen.

It was a pleasure welcome you in the Hotel Nacional de Cuba.

Thank you for sharing your experiences and for recommending us.

Welcome back again!!!

Antonio Martinez Rodriguez
General Director
Hotel de Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel has a LOT of history and it's filled with pictures and accounts before, during, and after the Revolution. It oversees the Gulf and the entire City of Habana. There are two canyons that were used to defend the City against foreign vessels coming in to overtake the island as well as a tunnel system that was used similar to the tunnels in the jungles of Vietnam.

Room Tip: Beautiful ocean views
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Inwood T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio M, Director General at Hotel Nacional de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Inwood.

Thank you for sharing your nice experience about the Hotel Nacional de Cuba. As you say this intitution is a history hotel, here the visitors can to learn about Cuba history.

Welcome back again!!!

Best regards.
Antonio Martinez Rodriguez
Director General
Hotel Nacional de Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped here for lunch one afternoon. The hotel is elegant to say the least. We had lunch in the back of the hotel at the restaurant. It was a bit over priced and honestly the flies were unbearable. I would recommend coming for a cocktail and enjoying the beautiful property and view!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank brown41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews