We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
36
23
3
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
23
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front street the bus comfortable chairs toaster oven the location is perfect continental breakfast small kitchenette a king size bed shops and restaurants ferry service spacious room boiled eggs home away from home wedding anniversary fresh fruit other guests smith
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2018

My girlfriend and I stayed at this lovely B & B for 5 nights last week. Mrs. Jones was at the desk early every morning and was most helpful. The Taxi service was a BMW limo yet cost what others would charge. The room was on a corner, #11, and was airy and very comfortable. We had two twins, but they were larger than twins! The bathroom was up to date and everything was very clean. Breakfast was the best bargain with many choices and fresh juice. Coffee or tea was available almost all day. It was centrally located, only a block from Front Street in Hamilton. This was originally built as a B & B, in fact, it was the first one on the island. Beautiful sweeping staircase greets you in the lobby. Reading Room for quiet time, only 12 rooms, so the staff is not overstressed with guest requests. Microwave and frig made having cold beverages or reheat leftovers a breeze. Please check it out - you will not be sorry.

Room Tip: $very room was just a nicely appointed as the next one. The twin bedroom was larger than single bedrooms.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SandyMJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

Oxford House is a comfortable bed and breakfast in the town of Hamilton. The room was large, nicely decorated with a king-size bed, TV and chairs, etc. The was a kitchen area in the corner with a toaster oven, microwave, fridge and coffeemaker provided. The bathroom was very small and cramped however, though it did have a decent shower, pedestal sink and toilet (though watch your head when alighting or rising as the edge of the sink is very close!). Breakfast were OK, buffet style, but nothing too exciting, coffee/tea, juice, standard cereals, toast, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, etc. The staff were friendly and helpful, though fairly impersonal. In that way its a very British type of place (I can say that, I'm British). But the location is great for access to anything in Hamilton and close to the ferry and bus terminals for travelling around the rest of Bermuda.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford H, Owner at Oxford House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Mr. Farnsworth,

Thank you so much for your kind words after your stay at Oxford House.
The girls are highly amused at your comment.

Do hope you will visit us again!


Best regards,
Ann Smith
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

My husband and I stayed at the Oxford House on our recent trip to Bermuda. We've been to Bermuda several times and usually like to try new places to stay.
Overall, our stay was fine. The location was great. Super close proximity to downtown Hamilton, scooter rentals, restaurants, etc. It seems that this location perk is the rationale behind the prices for staying here. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were decent and the support staff was friendly.
We did find it odd that our room's kitchenette was outside of the room in a separate foyer area. That didn't so much bother us as the fact that the staff uses this space to store guests's luggage when they want an early arrival or late departure place to keep their belongings. This was never mentioned to us before or during our stay. My husband asked about this on our first day and the young woman he spoke with didn't seem to know anything about it. This continued for the 4 days we were there. We had other guests actually coming into our kitchenette space themselves (which sounded like they were coming directly into our room, startling us awake in the early morning), and storing their luggage, which we then had to navigate around to get to our mini fridge, or just to get into and out of the room. We may not have minded this so much if someone actually acknowledged that it was happening, or at least sent a staff member to pick up and drop off the luggage quietly instead of random guests.
Again, considering how much we paid to stay here, it was not a very welcome surprise. Everything else was just good, but not spectacular.

Room Tip: Room 5 is directly attached to room where breakfast is served Kitchenette is used for other guests to store luggage.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford H, staff at Oxford House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Good morning,
We are terribly sorry that your stay with us was anything less than pleasing and relaxing. We do apologize for the inconvenience of the small closet we were using outside of your room. It sounds like this really spoiled your stay with us. We will discontinue that for the future.
Thank you for staying with us and we really do hope our guests are the most comfortable while here!
Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Stayed for 3 nights with my wife for our 20th wedding anniversary. Very friendly staff, comfortable bed, spacious room, lovely garden. Fine continental breakfast with boiled eggs available. We really appreciated the china cups and glasses, fluffy towels and robes. Comfortable chairs and lots of room for sitting in the room.

Convenient location just minutes from the ferry and front street shops and restaurants.

We were in Room 1 right by the front desk which could be a bit noisy at times, though it didn't really bother us.

The only small think I would suggest is that a little more fresh fruit with the breakfast would be nice.

Room Tip: Suggest upstairs or in the rear for quieter rooms
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelinFamilyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We spent 7 nights at Oxford House and really enjoyed it. The rooms are beautifully appointed with English fabrics, some antiques, and original art on the walls. We were concerned that it might be noisy being in downtown Hamilton, but found the property quiet and a wonderful place to relax. We enjoyed speaking with the owner Mrs. Smith most mornings, and the staff was pleasant and attentive to our needs. A filling continental breakfast was provided.

Room Tip: Paget #12 is the only room featuring a kitchenette.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews