We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A nice apartment, centrally located in St...”

Review of Crooked Elbow

Front entrance and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front entrance and garden
Sitting room/dining room Bedroom with queen bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Front entrance and garden
Sitting room/dining room
Bedroom with queen bed
Kitchen with fridge, stove, microwave etc
Living room with cable TV
Achilles Bay in St George's
St Catherines Beach in St George's
Tobacco Bay in St George's
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
St. George, St. George's Parish, Bermuda

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Eugene_th...
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A nice apartment, centrally located in St. George's”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This apartment is in an excellent location in St. George's. It is a 15 minute walk to Tobacco Bay, Achilles Bay and St. Catherine's (Gates) Bay beaches. The waterfront, with all amenities including a well stocked supermarket, is 5-10 minutes walk. The bus stop is one block away. The accommodations were clean. During our stay, the weather was unusually warm and humid; the small air conditioner in our apartment could not keep up with the midday heat, meaning it was difficult to cool down at times. Multiple fans are available to help move the air around. That is the only downside that we could see. In cooler weather, obviously this wouldn't be an issue. Sleeping was not a problem, as the air conditioner is located in the bedroom. Our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. The two complimentary transit passes for bus and ferry travel were a great addition and saved us a good deal of money. Communications and dealings with the owner during the booking and arrival processes were excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TwoKayake...
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best way to stay in Bermuda”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

This was our 4th trip to Bermuda and probably our favorite visit. St Georges is a wonderful part of Bermuda and staying at the Crooked Elbow made it even more special. We felt like we were staying in "old world" Bermuda just steps away from all that the town of St. Georges offers- shops, restaurants, beaches, nice hiking trails and easy access to the rest of Bermuda by bus or ferry. On previous trips we had always stayed at resorts, but on this trip we decided to spend a few days in a private rental apartment. We chose the Crooked Elbow based on its location and the previous reviews and we were quite pleased with our stay. The Crooked Elbow met all of our needs - plus. We had plenty of space, a nicely equipped kitchen, Wi-Fi, a wonderful outdoor patio where we could sit for breakfast and in the evening to hear the tree frogs sing, and a helpful, onsite owner who respected our privacy but made sure that we had what we needed to enjoy our stay. In addition, one of the nicest features about the Crooked Elbow for us was the use of kayaks for a very reasonable fee. We went kayaking twice during our stay and loved it. We were really able to explore the "natural" side of Bermuda this trip by kayaking and hiking a number of trails in the St. Georges area. If you are looking to stay in the town of St Georges, we would recommend the Crooked Elbow. Everyone who has stayed there seems to have loved it, and so did we. We are already considering our next trip to Bermuda and will plan to stay at the Crooked Elbow again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location, outdoor space, kayaks
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TandK2014
Whitinsville, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quiet, comfortable, convenient, private and spacious accommodations in St. Georges.”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
7
people found this review helpful

We totally enjoyed Crooked Elbow. It was convenient to downtown St. Georges, a great snorkeling beach, restaurants and the Railway Trail. We highly recommend a bus pass (ferries are included) as bus is by far the best way to get around. Make sure you tell the drivers where you are headed and they'll take care of you. The best restaurant we found in St. Georges was the Wahoo on Water Street. The Pickled Onion on Front Street in Hamilton is also outstanding. Do not miss Hidden Gem Tours. The owner and primary guide, Ashley, is extremely knowledgeable and a sweetheart. We saw places only locals would know to access and learned an incredible amount of history and local flora and fauna. Be advised that food in Bermuda is very expensive. The beauty of Crooked Elbow was that we could fix a breakfast each day, walk to the market to get fixins and do a meal in the evening, if we chose; so nice to sit in the garden over a muffin and coffee or a simple dinner with wine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the privacy, walking distance to downtown and bus stop and the private garden.
Liked least: Property could use some updating.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewold...
Berkeley, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“lovely place, superb location”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
9
people found this review helpful

The location simply could not be better. Walking distance to the lovely Tobacco Bay. Three minutes from the supermarket and bus stop, 10 minutes from the Ferry. The apartment is lovely, even has a small garden, and the owners are very nice and helpful. Highly recommended. We will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything regarding the apartment and the town of St George
Liked least: At the Dockyard and on the beautiful pink beaches the cruise ship crowd was just too much
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eliza22Ot...
Ottawa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A delightful apartment in the heart of St George”
Reviewed 21 September 2012 for a stay in November 2011
9
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Crooked Elbow for 12 days last November. It is a delightful one-bedroom apartment, very clean, comfortable and well appointed. We especially enjoyed sitting outside on the private patio in the evenings watching the sunset through the palm trees.
Anne, our hostess, went out of her way to help us enjoy our stay. And we were so impressed with the friendliness of all the local residents.
The apartment is right in the centre of St George, so you can easily explore the historic town on foot, as well as walk to the beaches and the cliff fortifications. Grocery store, restaurants, and laundromat are all very close. The bus stops one block away for exploring further afield. After watching the traffic, we decided not to rent scooters ... the buses are frequent and will take you anywhere you want to go.
We hope to return to Crooked Elbow, and would definitely recommend it to our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of the local residents, and the excellent location of the apartment.
Liked least: We were disappointed that there was so little fresh fish available in the grocery stores
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing