We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property
The Barn looks towards the Brecon Beacons - and the local sheep!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Barn looks towards the Brecon Beacons - and the local sheep!
The entrance hall with practical utility Comfy sofa in front of the wood burning store
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
The Barn looks towards the Brecon Beacons - and the local sheep!
The entrance hall with practical utility
Comfy sofa in front of the wood burning store
or a seat on your own
Spacious kitchen and dining area
The super-king sized bed can be made up as twins if you prefer.
Full shower
Luxurious bathroom with a view
Double with ensuite
The Barn at sunrise - perfect!
Local traffic jam.
The perfect spot for a cup of coffee or a glass of wine.
The Barn and outbuildings
Early morning in Brechfa Forest - only minutes away
View from our lane
Stunning views from Mynydd Llanllwni
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Brechfa, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Val B
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay .One of the best dog friendly self catering places we have stayed in and 5 Star .We highly recommend it for a relaxing peaceful stay .Hosts are first class as are the new laid eggs ,bread and cake.
We will be booking to going again. Don't want to praise it too much or it will be discovered and not be a secret know only to a few.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2014
How very kind! Thank you! We look forward to seeing all three of you again soon. With best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShawnJCul...
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tranquil high quality cottage that's so dog friendly.”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Spent three nights at The Barn. Greeted by a bottle of wine and home baked cake. And friendly hosts Paul and Elinor. Great location for peace and quiet as well as walks and mountain biking. Great facilities (we spent all three nights cooking our own supper) and we wanted for nothing. Highly recommended and we are already looking at new dates next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2013
It was lovely to have you - and we look forward to seeing you and your four legged friend again soon. All the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion F
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Our stay was amazing from start to finish. We relaxed the minute we stepped into The Barn with the welcome tea tray and cake. This is one of the best self catering places we have been to and would highly recommend it for peace, quiet and great walks in Brechfa Forest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2013
We're so pleased you had such a relaxing holiday - for both the two legged and four legged guests. We look forward to seeing you again. All the best. Elinor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not sure who enjoyed it more! Me or the Dog!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

If you love taking your dog away with you and you want to stay somewhere with that little extra in comfort then you will be hard pressed to beat "The Barn".

The two bedroomed holiday let has been tastefully decorated. Each bedroom has its own ensuite (1 shower and 1 bath/shower) the beds are of high quality along with the duvets, pillows and bed linen ensuring a wonderful nights sleep. This part of the house is, quite rightly, the "no dog zone". But don't worry! the rest isn't!

The open dining/lounge and kitchen area is great for chilling out in the evening with dog(s) and a huge entrance (leading to utility) is the perfect place to let them sleep. There's a fully enclosed garden with lovely views just for your own use.

There are some beautiful forest walks just down the road - one from the house and others a mere mile or two down the road. The lovely owners will happily dog sit if you want a meal or trip out on your own and freshly laid eggs, home made cakes and bread are available on request.

This is a break from the real world, a beautiful, quiet and relaxing break with or without pets. It is not in the middle of a town or village but 5 miles will put you in a small town with a shop etc.

The only thing i would say is make sure your dog is a well behaved one - there are loads of sheep in the neighbouring fields and out on the open moors and it may be too much of a draw to want to chase them !

Would I go back? Absolutely ! The dog sulked for a couple of days so it's anything to keep him happy! Until the next time ........

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2013
What a lovely review - thank you very much to all three of you for making the week so special! Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage, beautiful location, a great getaway!”
Reviewed 20 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed with my partner for a long weekend at this well-equipped holiday cottage. Everything was spotlessly clean, the bed was extremely comfortable, and there wasn't a single thing we needed that hadn't already been thought of, even Sky TV and wifi! The location is stunning, and there are some beautiful walks right from the doorstep - the owners have even provided maps and recommendations of walks and these didn't disappoint. There are also some lovely places to visit within easy driving distance.
This is a lovely location to escape from the hustle and bustle of the town. We enjoyed waking to the birds outside our window and the sheep in the nearby field. There is a lovely garden area , and the owners keep free range chickens who provide delicious eggs. Home made cake is also available which is delicious! Elinor and Paul were friendly, helpful and welcoming. This is the nicest holiday cottage we have stayed in, and we will definitely be back for a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location and surroundings
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2013
It was lovely to meet you both, and we're really pleased that everything went well for you here. We look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing