We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic!”
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
214 reviews
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties
The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
The Old Bike Shed (sleeps 2)
Bay Tree Barn (sleeps 4 + 2)
Totally dog friendly
Bay Tree Barn - cosy rustic country decor
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
Amazing mountain biking on our doorstep with resident guide and bike hire available
Fabulous home made food delivered to your table
Spectacular dog friendly beaches
Enclosed gardens
Stunning forest walks
Beautiful coastal path walks
Open all year - stunning in the snow!  (We have 4x4 vehicles to assist you!)
The Hay Barn - cosy, rustic country decor
The Hay Barn - dining area
View from Brechfa Forest Barns
The Hay Barn
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brechfa, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 214 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
maroon_je...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in The Hey Barn for two nights and every bit of it was fantastic!

Our party was three adults and a baby. We were going to bring the dog but had a last minute change of plan.

We had some car issues just as we arrived at the properties and Jason (the owner) was very helpful and put us in touch with his local mechanic which was a real help.

The barn was very clean and the attention to detail and little extras really made it feel homely. The weather was bad for the whole stay and the car was in the garage majority of the time. We stayed in during the day playing board games which were already in the barn. The wifi wasn't working and no signal on our mobiles but it was nice to have a break from too much technology.

The kitchen had all the equipment we needed to make three meals a day.

I couldn't fault the barn and will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2016
Thanks so much for the glowing review Adelle. We're particularly pleased to read this as you had such bad luck with your car and the weather was pretty shocking! The BT wifi is sometimes a bit hit and miss when we have such bad weather. Tomorrow we are having satellite broadband installed for our guests so service should be much improved from this point on. Hooray!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonH27...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bay Tree Barn”
Reviewed 2 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our aim for this break away was peace, quiet, quality time with the dogs and some lovely walks. We achieved just that (in fact the only person we saw was the Tesco delivery driver).
We would like to thank you both for honouring our booking whilst you were away (despite not taking any further bookings). We hope you enjoyed your break as much as we did?!?!
Bay Tree Barn is a quaint accommodation set in the idealistic scenery of the Welsh countryside. Despite you not being here to welcome us (and from all your reviews this is a welcome and a half!) we felt we had been welcomed by the informative note left.
Bay Tree Barn had everything we wanted and more! From the well equipped kitchen, to the warm and welcoming beds and also the log fire (our saviour in this cold, wet and windy weather). And despite you being on a break yourself, the comfort of knowing that there were house/dog sitters in an emergency and also your mobile number (just glad we didn't need it!)
Ollie and Annie (our pampered pooches) felt right at home and also loved the log fire! So thank you both for amazing accommodation in amazing surroundings and a warm and informative welcome, despite not seeing you.
We hope to visit again one day (maybe we will fill all 3 barns/shed with friends! Sharing is caring after all) when the weather is finer and we can maybe venture further (poor Ollie, our tripaw, was blown over a couple of times).
Best wishes and many thanks. All the very best for continued success with your business

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2016
Thank you Sharon. It's always a pleasure to hear our guests enjoyed their stay but none more so than when we were not around ourselves to ensure everything is tickedyboo! We hope you'll come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn N
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Old Bike Shed”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had a really wonderful trip to Brechfa. Hosts were great! Bathroom very little in bike shed so if your not a fan of wet rooms opt for another cottage. Would visit again, with extra waterproofs!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2016
Sorry about the rain Robyn! Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steffydoo...
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful, perfect and pristine!”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

For ages I have tried to find somewhere to holiday with the pooches, but always been nervous as they aren't always angels and everywhere is quite pricey (when you think of cheap holidays abroad). But am I glad I stumbled across this Facebook page ...

We stayed in The Old Bike Shed which is just the cutest, quirkiest little cottage! The views from the patio doors are stunning and honestly you forget the rest of the world exists as it is just green fields for miles!

Nikki and Jason are just amazing hosts, friendly and welcoming and ultimately are dog-friendly people (some people only like their own dogs!) and as for Nikki's food, well it is to die for! I don't care if I've put on a stone just over the weekend, it was worth every mouthful!

So we just want to reiterate the last review (who were a lovely couple to share a cider or 2 with ) that we want to keep it a secret but it's too lovely to keep to ourselves! We're hoping to see you again this year for a longer stay!
Thanks again guys, you've got a fab place set up there!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2016
You are very kind indeed. I'm delighted you enjoyed The Old Bike Shed, our views and my cooking! Looking forward to seeing you again for a longer stay - make sure you bring The Spots! (Dalmations)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emajo
SOUTH WALES
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The most idyllic setting with views that literally take your breath away.”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a lovely stress-free weekend with the feeling of wishing we could have stayed longer. I think that speaks volumes.

A most welcomed break in the most idyllic setting with views that literally take your breath away.

Brechfa Forest Barns is most certainly the place where you can escape from it all and relax with your loved ones, especially the four legged fluffy fur babies.

And it's not only the exterior views that are eye catching, so is the interior of the barns which are tastefully decorated with both a homely and warm feeling. The log burner in Bay Tree Barn was just a delight, all cwtched up on the sofa and embracing it's warmth.

Hosts Nikki and Jason have most certainly worked wonders in creating such a warm and welcoming atmosphere. I would say it is very much the feeling of 'make yourself at home'; along with the hearty cuisine that Nikki provides it all adds that something extra special to the experience.

We almost don't want to tell people about this little peace of heaven and just keep Brechfa a secret. But we would be doing you a disservice.

Thank you Nikki and Jason we shall hopefully see you very soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2016
You have a way with words Emmajo! Thank you for such a glowing review. Don't leave it too long to bring the lovely Max back :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$169
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing