We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most relaxed and welcoming dog friendly place...”
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
236 reviews
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties
The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
The Old Bike Shed (sleeps 2)
Bay Tree Barn (sleeps 4 + 2)
Totally dog friendly
Bay Tree Barn - cosy rustic country decor
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
Amazing mountain biking on our doorstep with resident guide and bike hire available
Fabulous home made food delivered to your table
Spectacular dog friendly beaches
Enclosed gardens
Stunning forest walks
Beautiful coastal path walks
Open all year - stunning in the snow!  (We have 4x4 vehicles to assist you!)
The Hay Barn - cosy, rustic country decor
The Hay Barn - dining area
View from Brechfa Forest Barns
The Hay Barn
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brechfa, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 236 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louise S
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most relaxed and welcoming dog friendly place I have visited!! :)”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Loved every minute of my stay here...I had the pleasure of the 'bike shed' with my 2 dogs whilst my friends had the other 2 cottages with 9 dogs between them. 11 dogs in our group in total and what a blast they had. It really was the most relaxed, dog friendly place I have had the pleasure of visiting. We had some wonderful forest walks, and visited some beautiful dog friendly beaches. I can't thank Nikki and Jason enough for making us all so very welcome! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That our dogs were made as welcome as we were..
Liked least: That I wasn't there for longer!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2015
And you've all booked again for 2016! Can't wait to see you all again. Thank you Louise :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Son712015
Brunssum, The Netherlands
1 review
“With two labs in the Old Bike Shed”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

It was our first visit to Wales, so we decided on a cottage that is centrally located between both the Brecon Beacons National Park and the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park. We came upon The Old Bike Shed at Brechfa Forrest Barns. It is a very small cottage, but all the more cosier we thought. It is quirky and quaint and it has a lovely feel about it. We felt right at home. I liked that the dogs were in the same room (as one of them squeals when left alone at night in an unfamiliar place), but due to the fact that we were up on a mezzanine, were unable to get into our bed(so we could have a good night sleep too). The cottage is set on top of a hill with beautiful views on the mountains and the surrounding fields in the peaceful, green and lush county of Carmathenshire. The owners gave us tips as to were to go and we had a lovely time indeed. Thank you Nikki and Jason. http://www.discovercarmarthenshire.com/dog-friendly/index.html

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2015
It's a long drive from Holland so we're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and exploring beautiful South West Wales. Thanks for your kind review Sonja :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JazzDotCo...
Medway, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing accommodation, fabulous food, brilliant bike trails, wonderful walks, spectacular scenery”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The nicest place we have stayed!
Thank you Nikki and Jason for a lovely break in a truly awe-inspiring part of the country. The boys loved exploring the well-marked bike trails through the forest, and it was great for them to have use of the hose to clean the bikes up afterwards. Big thank you to Jason for fixing the 'brake' problem - much appreciated as it saved us so much hassle! Myself and the hounds loved the walks, and loved that it's so quiet, even at this time of year. We all enjoyed the view every morning from the roof windows in the bedrooms (as well as from the rest of the cottage). The beagles are so lovely too!
A quality, well equipped, cozy cottage with a calm and homely feel, with everything you could possibly need - I needn't have brought half the things that I'd packed! Well located to go out exploring the area, but equally great for staying-in. Nikki and Jason are so friendly and helpful, with great recommendations for places to visit, local (dog-friendly) pubs and eateries. At Nikki's recommendation we visited Pembrey Country Park on our last day, and the tide was out, leaving the biggest and emptiest beach I've seen, perfect for letting the hounds have a crack at breaking the land speed record! The sea was shallow and warm to play in. Looking forward to returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
Ahhhh it sounds like you had a blast! Really pleased the boys enjoyed the biking. Jason is usually around to help with mountain bike problems! Simply thrilled that you enjoyed our little piece of paradise as much as we do. Really hope to see you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scoobyman...
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic all you need :)”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My daughter and myself along with our little sheltie taz stayed in the old bike shed..although compact this little gem has all you need and sitting out in rear garden with a glass of chilled wine looking over the countryside is fantastic :)
As for Nikki and Jason you couldn't hope for more welcoming owners and Nikki's food is a pleasure to have highly recommend that.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: very slow wifi lol
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
Thanks Kevin. We're glad your holiday lived up to the recommendation :) Hope to see you both again soon - and the lovely Taz of course :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa G
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Unique Holiday Experience”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A lovely, cosy cottage with everything you need (including a hose for washing down your muddy/sandy dog - a simple necessity which is normally overlooked by cottage owners). Stunning rural views from every window. Beautiful woodland walks and wonderful beaches nearby. But what makes this holiday unique is the superb level of personal service provided - we have been staying in dog friendly holiday cottages throughout the UK for over 15 years but have never come across anything like this before. The owners are on-site and offer excellent advice on the local area, tailored to your own needs and preferences. Also offered is a menu of home cooked meals, all prepared using quality ingredients, and delivered to your cottage kitchen at a time to suit you. Portions are generous and everything we tried was delicious (welsh apple cake, lasagne, smoky sausage cassoulet). Be assured that the owner's presence is never obtrusive and you don't feel like you are being watched at all. They are simply kind and helpful people. I would not hesitate to recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & home cooked food
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2015
Oh my... you just made me cry! These reviews mean so very much to us - thank you for taking the time to write this. It's so rewarding to hear our guests enjoy what we offer and that we are getting it right. Please come back soon with gorgeous Henry the Retriever x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing