We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rustic Accommodation with great views - just what...”
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
221 reviews
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties
The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
The Old Bike Shed (sleeps 2)
Bay Tree Barn (sleeps 4 + 2)
Totally dog friendly
Bay Tree Barn - cosy rustic country decor
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
Amazing mountain biking on our doorstep with resident guide and bike hire available
Fabulous home made food delivered to your table
Spectacular dog friendly beaches
Enclosed gardens
Stunning forest walks
Beautiful coastal path walks
Open all year - stunning in the snow!  (We have 4x4 vehicles to assist you!)
The Hay Barn - cosy, rustic country decor
The Hay Barn - dining area
View from Brechfa Forest Barns
The Hay Barn
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brechfa, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 221 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
StephMacc
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rustic Accommodation with great views - just what the doctor ordered”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We spent Easter in The Haybarn - 3 adults, 2 teens, a 9 year old and 2 beagles! The Haybarn was rustic and full of charm if getting a little shabby but with it being so popular time to titivate is probably at a premium :) The views were great, the garden is secure if you don't have a 'jumper' but we solved that by coupling our two together whilst in the garden and that worked for us.

We were greeted on arrival by Nikki who went through all the details of the barn and was available at the end of the phone if we'd needed her (fortunately we didn't) Comprehensive guides were available to show us walks (we visited beach on Saturday and forest on Sunday) nearby pubs (a must on this type of holiday) as well as lots of other local information.

For the kids TV was available and WiFi so they could connect with their friends and a hamper full of games to appeal to all ages. The kitchen was well equipped and Nikki gave us the loan of her slow cooker so I didn't need to take mine meaning all fussy eaters could be catered for - if we were to go without kids we would have had Nikki's food I'm sure.

This was the perfect break for us - no time off since Christmas - in a perfect location and the kids had 2 pollution free days of fresh air (and bonus sunshine) which is worth a lot in this modern day and age.

We will definitely be returning :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and peace and quiet (no noisy traffic)
Liked least: The grill ... it took an hour to make bacon and sausage sandwiches for everyone as it didn't heat up very well.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
So pleased your family and gorgeous Beagles enjoyed your stay. You certainly had the weather! I'm sad to hear you found The Hay Barn was getting a little shabby. It is, as you say, rustic and we don't shy away from that fact. We do try very hard to keep on top of things and replace fixtures and fittings when time and money permit but, being very busy, it is time that is more of an issue! We aren't graded by Visit Wales (by choice) but believe we are 3-4 star equivalent. I point this out mainly for others reading our 5 star reviews in case they think that means we offer 5 star accommodation. We are always thrilled when guests say they would like to return and look forward to seeing you again should you decide to do so. Give those lovely Beags a hug from us :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey K
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ideal Dog Friendly accommodation”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay in the Hay Barn at Brechfa Forest Barns. Our four dogs absolutely loved all walks which you are spoilt for choice over.
We had Nikki's lasagne and apple crumble on arrival, and really enjoyed both, especially after a long journey and not wanting to cook ourselves.
The cottage was well equipped and had everything we needed. Lovely to find somewhere we could actually take four dogs, as we have struggled to find other places, which often limit numbers. I would recommend this accommodation to other friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rural location and views from the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2015
And what beautiful dogs they are! Thanks so much for the great review and your kind words regarding the cottage, walks and my catering. We very much hope you'll return soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelynnah
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fab Break”
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Thanks so much Nikki and James. We travelled with both sets of our parents and rented both barns. We requested the barns be open so we could all share. Nikki had it laid out so that one side was all the kitchen dining, and the other had most of the lounge furniture, so that, too made a huge difference. We had our 5 whippets with us, and it was great to find a property that would accept that number of dogs.

Lots to do in the area - almost too much! A very thorough welcome pack describes everything in detail. And if you are staying any length of time the local Tesco delivers!

We all had great nights' sleep on the comfortable beds.

Thanks for a wonderful break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Almost everything.
Liked least: Unfortunately the private road in was quite rough with potholes.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2015
It was a pleasure Wendy. Thank for choosing us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim R
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The bike shed”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Just returned form a 3 night break at the bike shed at brechfa farm. The cottage is so cozy and really nicely decorated and maintained. Felt instantly relaxed and homely, really private and has all mod cons. The bedroom is up a loft ladder like going up to your tree house. Wouldn't be good if you weren't too agile as it takes some care to get up their , but they do have a double bed downstairs if needed, so compact and excellent use of space. The owners take a lot of pride in ensuring guests are happy and provided for, they explained how things work and where to go. Nothing was too much trouble , that's how people should be when you go away. Went off to the bike trial for a couple of days, only 5 miles down the lanes , had food in the forest arms, which is absolutely incredible food and good price, a lovely cozy village pub. However, the food at the accommodation was lovely so definitely eat in a few times. Only 1 shop in Brechfa village so stock up if you go. Had an awesome holiday, fantastic views and great hosts with beautifully accommodation. Can't wait to return

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2015
Whoop whoop! Another thumbs up for The Old Bike Shed! Thrilled you enjoyed your stay in our bijou abode. Hope to see you again soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jkm009
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Looking Forward To Another Visit”
Reviewed 28 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We have just returned from our break in Bay Tree Barn and whilst it is not 5 star accommodation we definitely had a 5 star experience. The barn was exactly what I hoped for - rustic and cosy but plenty big enough for the two of us and our two Labradors. Nikki is a great host, there if you need her but not at all intrusive. She showed us around the barn, told us about local walks, pointed out on a map the beaches she would recommend and then went to make our dinner! We had mushroom soup; lasagne and trifle - all homemade and all delicious. We would definitely recommend you try the lasagne. The beds were really comfy and the barn had everything we required during our stay including the breathtaking views. Our dogs had a fabulous time, we visited Pembrey Country Park which is dog paradise - acres of forest to explore before reaching the 7 mile beach and we had the place to ourselves. There are plenty of forest walks near to the barns and we did three of them - again, didn't meet a soul. We visited the local pub one evening and had a decent meal but it is a few miles away. Overall, one of the best holidays we have had in the UK and we are looking forward to going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location; views; food
Liked least: No bath, shower only but I knew that when I booked
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2015
Fabulous. We're so pleased and look forward to welcoming you and your delicious dogs back again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing