We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxation for the soul.”
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
230 reviews
Our amazing BBQ Hut is available for guests staying in our cottages.
Breathtaking rural views over 3 counties
The Hay Barn (sleeps 4 +2)
The Old Bike Shed (sleeps 2)
Bay Tree Barn (sleeps 4 + 2)
Totally dog friendly
Bay Tree Barn - cosy rustic country decor
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
Amazing mountain biking on our doorstep with resident guide and bike hire available
Fabulous home made food delivered to your table
Spectacular dog friendly beaches
Enclosed gardens
Stunning forest walks
Beautiful coastal path walks
Open all year - stunning in the snow!  (We have 4x4 vehicles to assist you!)
The Hay Barn - cosy, rustic country decor
The Hay Barn - dining area
View from Brechfa Forest Barns
The Hay Barn
100% dog friendly with no limit on numbers!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brechfa, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 230 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Krispiqua...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxation for the soul.”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I have just returned from a weekend at the forest Barns and feel truly rejuvenated. This is my second visit to the barns and will not be the last. The accommodation has been beautifully and rustically designed and together with the outstanding surroundings truly is an escape for any man or beast. Nikki and Jason, are faultless hosts and immediately make you feel at home. They really are on to a winner!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2015
Thanks so much for this Chris & Emma. We're always delighted when guests return and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Old Bike Shed as much as your last stay in Bay Tree Barn. Look forward to seeing you in Spring or Summer for your 3rd visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire...
wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic setting but sadly accom just ok”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I so wish I was able to rate this a 5, I had high expectations looking at the photos and what others have said on TripAdvisor. I cannot fault the location; peaceful, secluded and set high in the Carmarthernahire hills with spectacular views across the valleys. There are lots of great walks and places to visit within striking distance.

I did however, find the standard of accommodation slightly lacking and this for me, let it down.

Some of the furniture is a little worn but this wasn't really a problem. The oven could have been doing with a clean and the TV/Digi Box remote was dirty. There are quite a few imitation plants dotted around but in my opinion they were rather dusty and it would be better without them. The bedding was mismatched and the pillows were very cheap ones. The bedrooms, even though centrally heated were quite cold and I awoke in the night feeling quite chilly. This is probably due to the type of construction as the bedrooms have solid stone walls with very little or no insulation. One suggestion I would make is to have a curtain over the front door, this would cut out some of the draught. The wood burner is a nice touch and makes the difference when lit.

Overall, the property was clean and tidy but not quite as luxurious as the photos or reviews depict. The owner was very helpful providing a lot of local information for us.

I have stayed in lots of pet friendly holiday homes and I don't think because dogs are allowed the standard needs to be compromised. With some little improvements or refurbishment it could easily regain a 5 star rating.

It is still a great place to stay but just don't expect a 5 star rating. To summarise, the reason for the slight disappointment is because of the amazing trip advisor reviews and my expectations were set accordingly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Standard of accommodation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2015
How very disappointing that we have not gained our usual 5 star review from you. We will of course take all your suggestions on board and will certainly ensure our cleaners are aware of your comments so that more attention is paid in future. It's a first for us to have mention of dust or mismatched bedding from any of our guests.

The barns are old, stone buildings and, at 1000ft, we are usually a few degrees cooler than down in the villages. However, even in January, I am dismayed to hear that you were cold. We have a very efficient boiler and heating system (recently serviced) and no other guest has ever mentioned this before. There is a thermostat in the lounge which guests can set to suit themselves and, whilst the heating is on "Timed" all of our guests are shown how to override this so that it can be on continually at, no extra charge, should they wish. With the wood burner on too it is usually too hot!

You mention that we should be able to regain our 5 star rating but I would like to point out that we are not, and never have been, a 5 star graded property and I wonder if, because of our consistent 5 star reviews, you perhaps thought we were? We are not, by choice, a graded property at all and the 5 stars we have been awarded on TripAdvisor are by our guests, not by Visit Wales and certainly not by ourselves. We are definitely more "lovely" than "luxury" and, if pushed, I would liken us to 3+ or 4 star and are priced accordingly.

Whilst disappointed that we didn't score top marks with you we are delighted to know that you enjoyed the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaBeagl...
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
“Lovely cosy retreat, wonderful views, fabulous food.”
Reviewed 20 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Stayed here for a long weekend in January 2015, woke up to snow on the ground which was fab!
The barn was well equipped, comfortable and super cosy with the log burner.
We had a day walking locally in the beautiful forest and another at the beach only 30mins away.
We had a fabulous relaxing weekend with our three well behaved beagles xx
We had two meals cooked by Nikki which we're delicious.
Highly recommend Brecfa Forest Barns to everyone.
Nikki and Jason we're fab hosts.
My husband will be taking his mountain bike on our next visit x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toria W
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

An amzing weekend. Food was gorgeous we had Welsh goats cheese starter and lasagne for mains beautiful, we were running late but it was not too much trouble for Nikki to delay cooking our meal so.it was hot on our arrival. We stayed in the hay barn, everything we could need was there. Very informative welcome pack and talk by Nikki.on arrival. Had a lovely walk through forest on Saturday very easy to navigate and Darwin our dog loved it. Felt very welcomed and would highly recommend a stay. Planning a return to.the bike shed for a week. So much to see and do the weekend was not long enough. Its an idyllic setting and I'm jealous they get to live there year round. Excited go our next visit when we decide on dates.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally B
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect mini break at Brechfa”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The 5 day break we had at Brechfa Forest Barns was amazing!!!! Beautiful clean, warm and cosy cottage with superb views. There are some lovely walks for the doggies and also the beach which is approximately 30 mins drive away. Lily our dog must have had a fantastic time as she was "pooped" every night!!!! Nikki and Jason are wonderful hosts and couldn't have been friendlier or more welcoming. Nikki cooked our meals for us on two nights and we also had a hearty "full English breakfast" to fill us up for our journey back home. The food was amazing and very generous portions, just what we needed after a good walk.
I would certainly recommend this holiday and hope to visit again in the future.
Many thanks Nikki and Jason xxxxx

Sally, Aimee, Matt and Lily (the dog) xxxxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy cottage feel of the property and the welcoming hosts
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2015
We will never get tired of reading such lovely reviews. As always, we are completely thrilled when we hear that guests love our surroundings as much as we do. Delighted you enjoyed my cooking too! Come back soon. You'll be most welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing