We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just what we wanted!”
other travellers have booked this property
pigeon beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
pigeon beach
pigeon beach pigeon beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
pigeon beach
pigeon beach
pigeon beach
pigeon beach
bathroom pigeon beach
windward beach room
windward beach room
windward beach room
windward room
windward bathroom
windward bathroom
living room
kitcken
kitcken
living room
garden
view
view  from veranda
living room
kitcken
living room
pigeon room
pigeon room
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish, Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
adwallis
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what we wanted!”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My daughter and I stayed at Donkey on the Beach over Easter. As we have a yacht in the Caribbean we are often looking for somewhere to stay for some reason or other and it is not always easy with a lot of hotels being resorts and geared towards package holidays. Donkey on Beach on the other hand is a real find. It is very comfortable, safe and private and the Terrace overlooking Falmouth harbour is the perfect place for breakfast, supper and in my case a bit of office work with fast and reliable internet. Should you chose to spend time with them Danilo and Orietta are great hosts and great company too. We are looking forwards to going back soon, it was my daughter’s favourite part of our holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Terrace
Liked least: Well it isn't on the beach, but we didn't mind that.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
177PaulM1...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A rare gem of luxurious Italian hospitality in an idyllic Caribbean setting”
Reviewed 3 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Our first encounter with Donkey on the Beach solidly exceeded our expectations.

My partner's initial correspondence with the owners had been fluid and making the booking was an almost effortless process, which immediately put us at ease.

On arriving at the airport late in the evening we were promptly greeted by our smiling hosts Danilo and Orietta who swiftly loaded our luggage onto their pickup and began to make us feel at home before we had even reached the comfort of the apartment.

After a gently meandering drive across the sleepy island Dani pulled up in front of the house and showed us up the charming wooden staircase onto the veranda and into our apartment. At once we were taken with it. The tasteful European character of the decor was apparent even to our tired eyes and the soft glow of the pleasant, subtly lit rooms relaxed our jet-lagged bodies. The range and quality of the amenities surpassed the ample offerings of the description and, after a snack prepared from the pre-stocked fridge, we settled into a deep sleep in an exquisite four-poster bed under the unobtrusive cooling breeze of the ceiling fan.

The instantaneous warmth we felt towards both the apartment and our hosts only increased as the days passed. Dani and Orietta were tirelessly hospitable and on several occasions kindly invited us to join them for drinks and meals, which we gladly accepted and were very much impressed by. Half way through our stay they returned the apartment to its original immaculate standard and they kept us in fresh beach towels and laundry throughout. Their knowledge of the island proved invaluable and during the two weeks we stayed their already strong grasp of English seemed to increase two-fold.

I would recommend the apartment to anyone but due to the external staircase I would advise people with disabilities or very small children to contact the owners to discuss their requirements before booking. Dani and Orietta keep a pair of very friendly and delightful small dogs but if you would like to bring your own pets I would advise you to discuss the particulars directly with them. No security deposit was required.

I can honestly say that neither I nor my partner have a single negative comment to make about the Donkey on the Beach; we only regret that we could not stay longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Watching the sunset from the veranda over a couple of cocktails
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabio v
Imperia, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
Google Translation

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annamaria...
italia
Level 6 Contributor
734 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniele T
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$150
/
Night
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing