We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch in very friendly location ”

The Restaurant at Cross Lane House
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Allerford
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a super lunch here after walking from Selworthy. We were able to eat outside as we had our dog with us, in an undercover dining area. Food was locally sourced and the young couple who run it were very knowledgeable about the area and absolutely delightful.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Digestion_expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2020

Ordered a takeaway from the Cross Lane House restaurant this evening. What a treat. We had Teriyaki Salmon with noodles and mango salsa and it was amazing. I meant to take a photograph but it smelt so great that I’d eaten it all before I remembered to get my phone ! Salmon was cooked to perfection and the mango salsa and noodles were bright and fresh. Chocolate Orange Torte with cinnamon cream for dessert was another big winner. A rich dark chocolate with a hint of Orange. The Lemon Meringue Cheesecake was equally brilliant. Can’t recommend highly enough. They are only doing takeaway for a short period so book early and don’t miss out.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carabinerxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2020 via mobile

Would highly recommend Cross Lane House for an amazing roast dinner! It was the best I’ve ever had out, and the whole group (5 of us) agreed!
Great portion, quality. Ellen was very friendly and attentive.

We’ll be back after Lockdown 2.0, see you soon x

Date of visit: November 2020
1  Thank kayemmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cross Lane House, Owner at The Restaurant at Cross Lane House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2020

Thank you so much for the lovely review Kay. We are delighted to read that you all enjoyed your Sunday lunch experience with us. We will be re-starting our popular Sunday lunches early next year, so watch this space.

We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon for round 2, or perhaps for an evening in our restaurant.

Take care
E&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2020 via mobile

Absolutely superb Sunday roast! My partner and I were blown away by the quality and (decent portion sizes) of the roast dinners - we had both beef and pork with accompaniments and, and both were delicious. Not the cheapest roast you can get, but certainly worth the money. The desserts were equally delightful. The ambience of the place is also lovely and it definitely felt cosy and warm on a chilly autumn day. We will be back!

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank 230sianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cross Lane House, Owner at The Restaurant at Cross Lane House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2020

Thank you so much for the lovely review Sian! We're delighted to read that you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch with us. We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon for round 2 :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2020 via mobile

I have been meaning to try the restaurant at Cross Lane House since it launched in August. Everything they post on Instagram looks so inviting and cosy, and the dishes shared always looked stunning!
Finally found time to get the family together and book ourselves a table.
We went yesterday evening; a Friday night in late October. The house looked stunning, everything is so well kept and cared for.
We were greeted so warmly and seated at our table in the beautiful dining room. The decoration of the place is perfection; so tasteful and classy, but warm and welcoming too.
The menu is the perfect size - not to big, not too small. A lovely variety of dishes without being too overwhelmingly large to make a choice! It also reassures you each dish has been carefully thought out, and will more than likely be each be delicious.
We ended up having three courses as they were so irresistible. Every dish we had was spot on, looked gorgeous and tasted amazing too! We certainly weren’t disappointed!
They also had a lovely bespoke cocktail menu and the drinks/wine menu itself offered some lovely choices of both alcoholic and soft drinks.
The service throughout the evening was also perfect. Friendly and attentive, made you feel welcome and at ease - nothing too much trouble!
We also felt everything was well priced for the standard you receive and the environment you’re in. Any dearer and it would push it into the realm of being a meal you’d perhaps only be able justify to treating yourself to now and again (especially whilst times are a little tougher at the mo!).
We took a peek into the cosy bar/lounge before leaving, and they had the roaring fire going; it looked so inviting! Will definitely plan to come a little earlier next time and having a pre-dinner drink in the lounge!
We’re already planning another visit and can’t wait to come again soon!! Highly recommended to everyone - you won’t be disappointed!!

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank EmilyWorrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Restaurant at Cross Lane House also viewed

Wootton Courtenay, Exmoor National Park
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
Porlock Weir, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Restaurant at Cross Lane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.