We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Crows Nest

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
2 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kingswear, Dartmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 2 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Llloyd198...
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely location - needs a good clean”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The location and views from the property are perfect, the owners are nice - left us to it. The only downside was the bathroom (ensuite to bedroom) it was really damp and quite mouldy - needed a really good clean, this made the bedroom smell damp and fusty - so bad on a night I couldn't sleep in there so ended up sleeping on a single bed in the kids room for the week. The owner did check but didn't think the smell was bad this was probably because the Windows had been open all day, we had to shut these on a night to stop the slugs coming in. We did buy an expensive scented candle to try and mask it but it didn't really work. The base of the bed was also very stained maybe time to replace it. I think with a good clean and a freshen up this place would be beautiful we paid almost £800 for the week - not worth this at the mo, especially as the main bedroom smells so awful.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
Dear Charlotte,

I am very sorry that you found some problems, I would like to remind you that when you bought the smell problem to our attention you agreed that there was no damp or mould in the Annex, (there is no damp problem or mould ) when I spoke to your husband after I had gone back in during your stay he told me you were over sensitive because you were heavily pregnant as i found no odour at all. The day you complained was after a series of very very hot and humid days . We cleaned your bathroom twice during your stay and replaced the wet towels we found on the floor. We have had no problems with any other guests during the summer
best wishes Charlie and Elena
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian G
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Peaceful getaway”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a place to get away from the stress of your day job, miles from anywhere and no noise, no mobiles (signal is poor), no internet. You can watch Sky TV if you get homesick.
The flat is a modern attic over a garage, next to a fabulous Barn, the view down the valley to the River Dart is beautiful.
You can walk to Agatha Chistie's house Greenway in 20 minutes, the steam train between Painton and Kingswear stops about 5-10 minutes walk down the hill. There is a pub just over a mile away with reasonable pub grub and a village shop/ post office. Everything is up and down so you wil feel your legs if you aren't used to it.
We enjoyed our weekend break, and would consider going back for longer in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: No light over the sink for shaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing