We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
shazza021
Christchurch, New Zealand

Not like the photos on line

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
When we checked in reception said we are in room 224, I had to ask where that was and then we had to find our own way, with luggage in toe. Rooms over look the lagoon which had great snorkeling. The breakfast / dinner are was dark and not very appealing. Some of the servery dishes were broken and they were not very observant when things were getting low. The pool bar was hard to get anyone to serve you. The pool area was nice, with seating and tables/ chairs etc.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Stay in an upstairs room, better view.
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Haimona Browne, Owner at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Kia Orana Shazza021,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the Beach.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the lagoon view and the snorkeling opportunities. However, we regret that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations.

I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during check-in and the lack of assistance with your luggage. Your feedback highlights an area where we can certainly improve, and we will address this with our reception team to ensure better service for future guests.

We also appreciate your comments about the dining area and the service at the pool bar. We strive to provide a welcoming and comfortable atmosphere for all our guests, and it seems we fell short during your stay. Our Food & Beverage Manager would have been more than happy to speak with you and address any concerns promptly. We are currently reviewing our procedures to enhance the dining experience and ensure that our servery is well-maintained and fully stocked.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide a more enjoyable experience in the future.

Warm regards,

Haimona Browne
Resort Manager
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the Beach
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
children enjoying the pool
$278
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $271
  • Agoda.com
    $232
  • Hotels.com
    $243
1.3 km from Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $301
  • Agoda.com
    $278
  • Hotels.com
    $296
1.6 km from Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach
Free parking
Beachfront
$457
  • Expedia.com
    $477
  • Destinia.com
    $423
  • Hotels.com
    $476
0.0 km from Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach
Free parking
Pool
$351
No fees just great deals
    2.5 km from Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach
    $344
    • Expedia.com
      $411
    • Agoda.com
      $277
    • Trip.com
    4.5 km from Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach
    Free parking
    Pool
    $316
    • Expedia.com
      $331
    • Agoda.com
      $291
    • Trip.com
    4.9 km from Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach
    Free parking
    Pool
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    8.6 km from Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    5.9 km from Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach
    Free parking
    Pool
    View more hotels in Aroa Beach
    Reviews (699)
    Filter reviews
    699 results
    Traveller rating
    209
    202
    155
    76
    57
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    209
    202
    155
    76
    57
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews swim up bar sister resort cook islands the blue water grill bottom floor fish paddle boards island style our honeymoon tropical breakfast other resorts great snorkeling relaxing holiday yogurt muri beach cocktails rarotonga
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    3 - 8 of 699 reviews
    Reviewed 30 May 2024

    The room was never cleaned totally, the floors were never vacuumed or mopped, the shower was not cleaned, the mini fridge leaked water on our food. The back sliding doors were very difficult to open & shut & the screen doors never locked. The bed was uncomfortable, with the same sheets on for 10 days. The breakfast was very average, no eggs & bacon etc ...only if you paid extra... all food with not always tongs or spoons or forks to pick up food & everyone grabbing it with their hands, milk not always cold, coffee not hot, toaster not turned onto a regular same heat everyday as we had to put the bread thru 2 or 3 times ! Spilling my coffee & food everyday walking on sand in this room. Most meals at night came warm or cold.. not hot. The Bar & Restaurant had the accounts all wrong most days.....With lots of confusion.... But the Staff were all lovely & very helpful. AKU behind the Bar & Restaurant was extremely professional... he was great. The whole Resort needs updating.

    Date of stay: May 2024
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank Lyn S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Haimona Browne, Owner at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2024

    Kia Orana Y4852QVlyns,

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're genuinely sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations.

    Our guest services manager would have been more than happy to assist and address all of your concerns during your stay. Cleanliness and maintenance are top priorities for us, and it's disappointing to hear that we fell short in these areas. We will ensure that your comments about housekeeping and room maintenance are addressed with our team.

    Regarding breakfast, we do offer a continental-tropical breakfast with the option to order additional items. We will work on improving the consistency of our breakfast service and ensuring all necessary utensils are available.

    We appreciate your positive comments about our staff, especially Aku, who will be pleased to hear your kind words.

    Your feedback is valuable to us as we continuously strive to improve our services and facilities.
    Thank you again for your review.

    Warm regards,
    Haimona Browne
    Resort Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 May 2024 via mobile

    Every staff member was most gracious and extremely helpful. Excellent insights in all the nooks and crannies of the island became our insights from the staff . Wake up to see turquoise water is a real treat. Staff constantly tidying up everywhere.. I thought we were on a high end cruise for all the staff ready to help.. Thank you Sanctuary Rarotonga and The Rarotongan, Cook Islands..

    Room tip: Check the seasons as they vary widely…
    Date of stay: May 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    2  Thank Walter M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Haimona Browne, Owner at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2024

    Kia Orana Walter,
    Thank you so much for your glowing review and for sharing your experience at Sanctuary Rarotonga and The Rarotongan. We are thrilled to hear that you had such an excellent stay with us.

    Your kind words about our gracious and helpful staff mean a lot to us. We take great pride in ensuring our guests have memorable and enjoyable stays, and it's wonderful to know that our team's efforts made you feel well cared for. The turquoise waters and the serene surroundings truly make for a special experience, and we're delighted you enjoyed them.

    We strive to maintain the highest standards of service and cleanliness, and we're glad to hear that it made a positive impression on you. Your comparison to a high-end cruise is a tremendous compliment, and we appreciate it greatly.

    Thank you once again for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanctuary Rarotonga and The Rarotongan for another fantastic stay in the Cook Islands.

    Warmest regards,
    Haimona Browne
    Resort Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 May 2024

    I had such high expectations, as colleagues had just stayed and raved about the place, alas our experience was not a great one.
    Bar service was extremely slow, despite not being particularly busy.
    The meals were hit and miss, after waiting almost 2 hours for dinner one night, for the steak to turn up blue and cold not medium rare, honestly think they forget our order altogether, restaurant closes 9pm, dinner received 9:45pm.
    I also ordered a fish dish, expecting amazing fresh fish, but what I got was over cooked and appeared to be old, a.k.a from the freezer.
    House keeping kept forgetting to give us beach towels and activities hut were mad when we asked for more.
    No hot water for last 3 days of our stay, so cold showers only.
    Staff were friendly (mostly) but seemed really short staffed.
    On a plus the snorkelling was incredible and helped somewhat redeem our average stay

    Room tip: The swim up bar was not staffed properly so don’t expect quick service
    Date of stay: May 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Odyssey22787329323
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Haimona Browne, Owner at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2024

    Kia Orana,

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

    We are disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet the high expectations set by your colleagues who recently enjoyed their stay with us.

    We appreciate your positive comments about our snorkeling, and we’re glad it was a highlight of your visit. However, we regret to learn about the challenges you faced with bar service, meal quality, and housekeeping. Your experience with slow service and inconsistencies in the restaurant, as well as the issue with hot water, are not reflective of the standards we strive to maintain.

    Our Guest Services Manager, Loata, would have been more than happy to personally address your concerns during your stay to ensure a more enjoyable experience.

    We always aim to resolve any issues promptly and ensure our guests have a pleasant and comfortable visit.

    We value your feedback as it helps us to improve our services.

    Warm regards,

    Haimona Browne
    Resort Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 May 2024 via mobile

    We were here for 3 nights and had the best time.

    Check in and out are quick, easy and efficient by the friendly front of house staff.

    The pool and swim up bar are great.

    Food in the restaurant at breakfast, dinner and lunch is fantastic. There are also some awesome veggie and vegan options. We had the tofu scramble one morning and it was so good!

    The location is next level. Perfect for snorkelling, kayaking and SUP-ing…all of which are provided by the resort.

    The rooms are set out so you have a great view from your bed and an area to sit and enjoy the surroundings outside. Bathroom was big and clean. They also offer a $10 credit if you complete a form to not have your room made up daily which I think is great. Who really needs fresh towels and linen daily!!

    The staff are all incredible. We had some great conversations with them and equally great cocktails.

    We couldn’t have been happier with our stay and it really made our trip to Rarotongan that much more special.

    Thank you!! We will be back

    Room tip: The restaurant can get busy so plan ahead.
    Date of stay: May 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank 4576A
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Haimona Browne, Owner at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2024

    Kia Orana,
    Thank you for choosing Sanctuary Rarotonga - on the beach for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us on TripAdvisor!

    We are thrilled to hear that you had an amazing beachfront stay with us and that you enjoyed every aspect of your time here. From our efficient check-in and check-out process to the fantastic pool and swim-up bar, we are delighted that you found everything to your liking.

    It's especially heartening to hear that you enjoyed the food at our restaurant, including the fantastic veggie and vegan options like the tofu scramble. We take pride in catering to diverse dietary preferences and ensuring that our guests have a memorable culinary experience.

    Our location indeed offers unparalleled opportunities for snorkeling, kayaking, and SUP-ing, and we're glad you were able to take advantage of these activities during your stay. We're also pleased that you appreciated the efforts we make toward sustainability, such as offering a credit for opting out of daily room cleaning.

    Your kind words about our staff are truly appreciated. We strive to create a warm and welcoming atmosphere, and it's rewarding to hear that our team's hospitality enhanced your overall experience.

    We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanctuary Rarotonga - on the beach in the future. Please feel free to reach out to us directly if there's anything we can assist you with in planning your next visit.

    Warm regards,
    Haimona Browne
    Resort Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 6 May 2024

    Staying at Sanctuary and Rarotongan resort has been such a positive and unforgettable experience! From the moment we stepped into the friendly reception to our beautiful beachfront room, or at the restaurants, we have been welcomed by the friendliest and most professional people! The resort offered us lots of different activities, from palm leaves crown weaving to night snorkeling, pareo dyeing, etc., and also moments of total relaxation in a paradise of perfect sandy beaches surrounded by lush tropical gardens! We were impressed by the beauty and attention to detail, all in natural materials that perfectly blend with the stunning beauty of its location. A special thank you to Laisa, who has been so helpful to us, and to the wonderful crew at breakfast and dinner! We couldn’t have expected more; you made our stay even more special! Meitaki!! Sylvia and Yasmin

    Date of stay: April 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Pantarei4ever
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Haimona Browne, Owner at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2024

    Kia Orana Sylvia and Yasmin,

    Thank you for sharing your delightful experience at Sanctuary Rarotonga - on the beach. We are absolutely thrilled to hear that your stay with us was a dream come true and that you had such a positive and unforgettable time.

    It brings us immense joy to know that you felt warmly welcomed from the moment you arrived at our reception and throughout your stay. Our team takes great pride in providing friendly and professional service to ensure that every guest feels valued and appreciated.

    We are delighted that you enjoyed the beauty and attention to detail of our resort, from the natural materials to the lush tropical gardens that complement our stunning beachfront location. It sounds like you made the most of our diverse range of activities and also found moments of total relaxation in paradise.

    Laisa and our wonderful breakfast and dinner crew will be thrilled to receive your special mention. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to them as they take great pleasure in creating memorable experiences for our guests.

    Thank you for choosing Sanctuary Rarotonga for your getaway, and we are truly honored to have been a part of making your stay even more special. Should your travels bring you back to Rarotonga, we would be delighted to welcome you back for another unforgettable experience.

    Meitaki nui!

    Warm regards,
    Haimona Browne
    Resort Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews