We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Odyssey22787329323

Average at best

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 weeks ago
I had such high expectations, as colleagues had just stayed and raved about the place, alas our experience was not a great one.
Bar service was extremely slow, despite not being particularly busy.
The meals were hit and miss, after waiting almost 2 hours for dinner one night, for the steak to turn up blue and cold not medium rare, honestly think they forget our order altogether, restaurant closes 9pm, dinner received 9:45pm.
I also ordered a fish dish, expecting amazing fresh fish, but what I got was over cooked and appeared to be old, a.k.a from the freezer.
House keeping kept forgetting to give us beach towels and activities hut were mad when we asked for more.
No hot water for last 3 days of our stay, so cold showers only.
Staff were friendly (mostly) but seemed really short staffed.
On a plus the snorkelling was incredible and helped somewhat redeem our average stay
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: The swim up bar was not staffed properly so don’t expect quick service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Haimona Browne, Owner at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Kia Orana,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We are disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet the high expectations set by your colleagues who recently enjoyed their stay with us.

We appreciate your positive comments about our snorkeling, and we’re glad it was a highlight of your visit. However, we regret to learn about the challenges you faced with bar service, meal quality, and housekeeping. Your experience with slow service and inconsistencies in the restaurant, as well as the issue with hot water, are not reflective of the standards we strive to maintain.

Our Guest Services Manager, Loata, would have been more than happy to personally address your concerns during your stay to ensure a more enjoyable experience.

We always aim to resolve any issues promptly and ensure our guests have a pleasant and comfortable visit.

We value your feedback as it helps us to improve our services.

Warm regards,

Haimona Browne
Resort Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
children enjoying the pool
$278
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $278
  • Hotels.com
    $243
  • Expedia.com
    $270
1.3 km from Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach
Free parking
Pool
$337
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $337
  • Hotels.com
    $331
  • Expedia.com
    $338
1.6 km from Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach
Free parking
Beachfront
$560
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $477
  • Hotels.com
    $560
  • Priceline
    $560
0.0 km from Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach
Free parking
Pool
$424
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
No fees just great deals
  • Vio.com
    $424
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
2.7 km from Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach
$419
  • Hotels.com
    $470
  • Agoda.com
    $339
  • Priceline
    $695
4.5 km from Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach
Free parking
Pool
$269
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $239
  • Expedia.com
    $269
4.9 km from Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
8.6 km from Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach
Free parking
Beachfront
5.9 km from Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Aroa Beach
Reviews (697)
Filter reviews
697 results
Traveller rating
209
202
153
76
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
209
202
153
76
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar sister resort cook islands the blue water grill bottom floor fish paddle boards island style our honeymoon tropical breakfast other resorts great snorkeling relaxing holiday yogurt muri beach cocktails rarotonga
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 697 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2024 via mobile

We were here for 3 nights and had the best time.

Check in and out are quick, easy and efficient by the friendly front of house staff.

The pool and swim up bar are great.

Food in the restaurant at breakfast, dinner and lunch is fantastic. There are also some awesome veggie and vegan options. We had the tofu scramble one morning and it was so good!

The location is next level. Perfect for snorkelling, kayaking and SUP-ing…all of which are provided by the resort.

The rooms are set out so you have a great view from your bed and an area to sit and enjoy the surroundings outside. Bathroom was big and clean. They also offer a $10 credit if you complete a form to not have your room made up daily which I think is great. Who really needs fresh towels and linen daily!!

The staff are all incredible. We had some great conversations with them and equally great cocktails.

We couldn’t have been happier with our stay and it really made our trip to Rarotongan that much more special.

Thank you!! We will be back

Room tip: The restaurant can get busy so plan ahead.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 4576A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Haimona Browne, Owner at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Kia Orana,
Thank you for choosing Sanctuary Rarotonga - on the beach for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us on TripAdvisor!

We are thrilled to hear that you had an amazing beachfront stay with us and that you enjoyed every aspect of your time here. From our efficient check-in and check-out process to the fantastic pool and swim-up bar, we are delighted that you found everything to your liking.

It's especially heartening to hear that you enjoyed the food at our restaurant, including the fantastic veggie and vegan options like the tofu scramble. We take pride in catering to diverse dietary preferences and ensuring that our guests have a memorable culinary experience.

Our location indeed offers unparalleled opportunities for snorkeling, kayaking, and SUP-ing, and we're glad you were able to take advantage of these activities during your stay. We're also pleased that you appreciated the efforts we make toward sustainability, such as offering a credit for opting out of daily room cleaning.

Your kind words about our staff are truly appreciated. We strive to create a warm and welcoming atmosphere, and it's rewarding to hear that our team's hospitality enhanced your overall experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sanctuary Rarotonga - on the beach in the future. Please feel free to reach out to us directly if there's anything we can assist you with in planning your next visit.

Warm regards,
Haimona Browne
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2024

Staying at Sanctuary and Rarotongan resort has been such a positive and unforgettable experience! From the moment we stepped into the friendly reception to our beautiful beachfront room, or at the restaurants, we have been welcomed by the friendliest and most professional people! The resort offered us lots of different activities, from palm leaves crown weaving to night snorkeling, pareo dyeing, etc., and also moments of total relaxation in a paradise of perfect sandy beaches surrounded by lush tropical gardens! We were impressed by the beauty and attention to detail, all in natural materials that perfectly blend with the stunning beauty of its location. A special thank you to Laisa, who has been so helpful to us, and to the wonderful crew at breakfast and dinner! We couldn’t have expected more; you made our stay even more special! Meitaki!! Sylvia and Yasmin

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pantarei4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Haimona Browne, Owner at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2024

Kia Orana Sylvia and Yasmin,

Thank you for sharing your delightful experience at Sanctuary Rarotonga - on the beach. We are absolutely thrilled to hear that your stay with us was a dream come true and that you had such a positive and unforgettable time.

It brings us immense joy to know that you felt warmly welcomed from the moment you arrived at our reception and throughout your stay. Our team takes great pride in providing friendly and professional service to ensure that every guest feels valued and appreciated.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the beauty and attention to detail of our resort, from the natural materials to the lush tropical gardens that complement our stunning beachfront location. It sounds like you made the most of our diverse range of activities and also found moments of total relaxation in paradise.

Laisa and our wonderful breakfast and dinner crew will be thrilled to receive your special mention. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to them as they take great pleasure in creating memorable experiences for our guests.

Thank you for choosing Sanctuary Rarotonga for your getaway, and we are truly honored to have been a part of making your stay even more special. Should your travels bring you back to Rarotonga, we would be delighted to welcome you back for another unforgettable experience.

Meitaki nui!

Warm regards,
Haimona Browne
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2024 via mobile

Had another wonderful week at the Sanctuary.... always stay there when I visit Rarotonga.... staff so friendly and helpful.... room with a wonderful view... amazing swimming and snorkeling.... sunsets and menu and entertainment.... love this place!!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Sunshine04839971831
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Haimona Browne, Owner at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2024

Kia Orana,

Thank you so much for your glowing review and for choosing Sanctuary Rarotonga - on the beach as your go-to destination in Rarotonga!

We are thrilled to hear that your recent visit felt like a "home away from home" and that you enjoyed another blissful holiday with us. It’s wonderful to know that our staff made a positive impact on your stay with their friendly and helpful service. We strive to create a welcoming and memorable experience for all our guests, and it’s rewarding to hear that we’ve succeeded with you.

We're glad that you appreciated your room’s wonderful view along with the amazing opportunities for swimming, snorkeling, and enjoying the sunsets. It's also great to know that our menu and entertainment continue to be highlights of your stay.

Thank you once again for your kind words and loyalty to our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for yet another wonderful week. If there’s anything you’d like to experience on your next visit or any way we can make it even more special, please let us know.

Warm regards,

Haimona Browne
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2024 via mobile

I was booking 6 days and paid for the booking. When I added one more day, I was charged for the extra day and there changed my paid booking and charged 400$ more for a fully paid up booking and refused a refund.
The Hotel self is in need of an up date
The breakfast is poor and cheap spam style ham, small amount of fresh fruit
Dinner comes out of the same kitchen as next door due to this chips cold and a long wait
The only highlights are the staff very friendly and the snorkeling.
The Hotel is not worth the price as special when they rip you off

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gerd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Haimona Browne, Owner at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2024

Kia Orana Gerd,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay at Sanctuary Rarotonga - on the beach.

We apologize for any confusion and frustration that occurred during the booking process. As our room rates are dynamic and subject to change daily, the rate can vary with additional nights. We understand how this can be surprising and are sincerely sorry if this was not clearly communicated at the time of your modification with the online travel agent you had booked with.

We are also disappointed to hear that our dining options did not meet your expectations. Your comments about the breakfast and dinner services have been forwarded to our kitchen team for immediate consideration and improvement. We are continually working to enhance our menu offerings and the overall dining experience.

Despite these aspects, we are pleased that the friendliness of our staff and the quality of snorkeling at our location were highlights of your stay.

Thank you once again for your review.

Warm regards,

Haimona Browne
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2024

we stayed for 6 nights booking a ground floor beach view room. At the airport they check you in to the hotel so all you need to do is pick up your room key on arrival at the hotel. we stayed in the adults only hotel which seemed fairly quiet when we arrived. we were told we could go to the sister hotel next door to share facilities. In each room there is an A - Z compendium about the hotel which is about 60 pages long. In the compendium it states each room has a microwave but we didnt have one.

The room seemed as decribed although in places the ratten effect wall coverings looked dirty and simply dated. There were holes where previous cupboards had been removed. The one bedside table looked dirty and mouldy and the table lamp plug looked singed! we just didnt use it. Large king size bed which I found too hard. There was a settee which had a broken leg, a table and two chairs. There was a lot of funriture for the size of the room which made it cramped and difficult to manouevre. The bathroom had louvre doors whch opened abov ethe bed head(?). The inbuilt single wardrobe housed iron and ironing board, broom, dustpan, safe, 3 drawers and can of ant spray. These were the only drawers in the room, which needed another set really. You got dressing gowns but if you were larger than size 12 they didnt fit. wifi was 20 usd for 10 days for 1 device only, so it was expensive if you were staying only for a few days adn it was intermittent. However, you could save money by not having your room cleaned so got a 10dollar credit for each day which you could use at the bar or on wifi etc. aircon worked well if a bit noisy. Mini bar fridge (payable) was barely cold, small kettle with instant coffee and creamer. There was an ice bucket which you could take to the bar and take back to your room. The house keeping staff were wonderful, very friendly and helpful. The gardens are beautifully kept and the entire complex is very clean. overall all staff were helpful and friendly.There was a decent pool with swim up bar and it was warm too, much warmer than the lagoon.
Breakfast was complimentary for us, even though everyday we had to sign a slip for 48 dollars. Breakfast comprised cereal, toast, small croissants, cheese slices, tinned fruit pancakes, plain yoghurt, tea and coffee. we went to the sister restaurant as the tables in adult side were set on sand, and were often crawling with ants. we found other meals were pricey compared to outside restaurants and ate out every day after the first day where food was better.
Outside the villa, the sand is gritty not soft but there are fantastic views of the lagoon, with sunbeds for each villa. sadly there was a problem with ants over the sunbeds, and patio, no wonder they gave you a tin of ant spray . snorkelling in the lagoon was fantastic with multiple species of fish, stunning royal blue star fish etc. there was free to use snorkel equipment in each room although we had taken our own. you do need to use water /beach shoes or flippers for the lagoon due to the fragile coral beds.

There is a shop next to reception with prices for juices similar to town prices, but the shelves are just overrun with ants, which is a bit off putting. we got multiple bites from the reception area and from the sand area near to the bar. there is evenign entertainment although we didnt stay to watch as we ate out every night. there are cookery lessons and multiple activities at the resort. family pool area was good. when orderign food for m the bar they give you a pager and when this beeps you go to the collection point for your food. we had a pasta dish and a pizza which was ok, but we found food outside the hotel was better.

The bus stops right outsdie the reception area and runs around the island clockwise and anticlockewise until 5pm when it just runs clockwise and is hourly, with the round trip taking around 55mins. the island is beautiful but car hire is expensive. we found the bus was adequate for us as it stopped near enough whever you asked the driver to stop! we bought discounted 10 trip ticket for 35dollars, otherwise its 5 dollars single trip 8dollars return and very limited bus service at weekends.

we ate out at charlies most nights (5- 8pm) which had fantastic food and live entertainment too. the bus stop is right outside charlies. we also ate at trader jacks which is in the town center next to the harbour where the locals swim in the harbour. That too has live entertainment some nights. There are plenty of eateries throughout the island including other hotels all on the bus route too.

There is a mini supermarket near the hotel , go out of the hotel turn left and the supermarket is on the right hand side but its a good 20 minute walk there. There are a couple of supermarkets near to the harbour/ town centre but everything is so expensive on the island and there is limited choice. the weather was hot but cloudy while we were there as we had the tail end of a cyclone so frequent showers happened day and night. we probably wouldnt go back but it was a beautiful island to visit. Cook islands is not a cheap place to go to but it is stunning.

Room tip: adult only area is really quiet and relaxing. can use facilities at sister hotel next door.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rossierose
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Haimona Browne, Owner at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2024

Kia Orana,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed review of your recent stay with us at Sanctuary Rarotonga - on the beach.

We're delighted to hear that you appreciated the beauty of the island, our well-maintained gardens, and found our housekeeping staff wonderful and friendly. It's also great to know that you enjoyed the snorkeling in the lagoon and our resort's entertainment options.

If I may respond to some of your concerns:

1. Mini bar fridge. Our maintenance team would be have more than happy to fix this for you with s quick call to reception.
2. We offer 3 WIFI packages. $NZD 20 for 5GB, $NZD30 for 7.5GB and $NZD50 for 13GB. Our prices are in line with Vodafone Cook Islands.
3. You will also find that our food and drinks prices are on par or cheaper compared to other resorts and restaurants on the island.

Your insights on the transportation and local dining options are invaluable, and we're sure future guests will appreciate your recommendations on exploring Rarotonga.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us.

Wishing you all the best with your future holidays.

Kind Regards,
Haimona Browne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews