We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Scenic05662236579

raratonga disaster

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Nov 2023
Positives ..... view from the beach front suites
Negatives
upon arrival at a pre notified time after a very long flight our room was not to be ready for many hours, ok we caught the local bus into the centre and did food shopping.
Upon return we were advised that our room was in fact double booked?
I complained that we had booked the room many months before , we had to check into a different room for one night being told that "just dont unpack everything" this happens to lots of people???????
Finally the next day we were in our correct room after being told that would have to stay in the "resort" to relocate our things so that the old room would be ready for new occupents.
Seriously? eventually the staff moved our things into the next room.
It was the noisiest room possible located next to the pool,bar,restaurant and under 16 area???
Eventually after complaining we were moved to a much better located room.

There is NO policing of children wandering to the under 16 zone( for which we paid a premium, (love kids bur not on this holiday)
One night a wedding had been held during the day and at 3am guests decided to have a very loud pool party surely waking up everyone!!!
The security guard must surely be deaf.
Other nights we had a very loud crude person in the next room smoking swearing playing loud music non stop with the smoke filling our room.
All in all this is a very OVERPRICED and badly run resort.
I will NEVER stay there again !!!
Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: Dont go there!
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Haimona Browne, Owner at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach, responded to this review
Responded 5 Apr 2024
Kia Orana,

I am genuinely sorry to hear about the inconvenience with your room allocation upon arrival.

Despite our efforts to manage bookings as efficiently as possible, it seems we made a significant oversight in managing your reservation. We understand how frustrating this must have been, especially after a long flight, and we are reviewing our procedures to prevent such occurrences in the future.

Your feedback is invaluable to us and has been shared with our management team to implement improvements across our services and facilities.

While I understand your decision not to return, please know that we are committed to rectifying the issues you’ve raised to prevent similar experiences for future guests.

Once again, I apologize for the distress and inconvenience you experienced.

Warmest regards,

Haimona Browne
Resort Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $219
  • Booking.com
1.6 km from Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $244
  • Booking.com
0.0 km from Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $568
  • Booking.com
4.5 km from Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $497
  • Booking.com
4.9 km from Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
8.6 km from Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach
Free parking
Beachfront
6.0 km from Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach
Free parking
Pool
Absolute Beachfront Bungalow
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.5 km from Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach
Free parking
Beachfront
View more hotels in Aroa Beach
Reviews (697)
Filter reviews
697 results
Traveller rating
209
202
153
76
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
209
202
153
76
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar sister resort cook islands the blue water grill bottom floor fish paddle boards island style our honeymoon tropical breakfast other resorts great snorkeling relaxing holiday yogurt muri beach cocktails rarotonga
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 697 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2023

We just spent a week in the Sanctuary Rarotonga and it definitely lived up to expectations. Our room was amazing, huge bed, beautiful bathroom and a balcony overlooking the stunning lagoon. Kayaks, SUPs and snorkel gear was all provided. When it rained there was a pool table and table tennis. The restaurant had a great range of food. Finally, but definitely not least, the staff were awesome. So friendly and helpful, laid back but very professional. They are what makes the Adults Only stay worth every cent. Special thanks to Illy and Ringi (who only started when we arrived). Both beautiful people, along with all the other staff. Cheers.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Haimona Browne, Owner at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2024

Kia Orana,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at Sanctuary Rarotonga. We are thrilled to hear that your stay lived up to your expectations and that you found your room, with its stunning lagoon views, to be a highlight of your visit.

We're glad you enjoyed the range of complimentary amenities available, from the kayaks, SUPs, and snorkel gear for exploring the beautiful waters, to the indoor activities like pool and table tennis for those rainy moments. It’s fantastic to know our restaurant's variety impressed you as well.

Our team, including Illy and Ringi, will be overjoyed to receive your special thanks. We believe our staff are the heart of the Sanctuary experience, and your acknowledgment is a testament to their dedication and warmth. We’ll be sure to pass along your kind words.

It's our guests that make Sanctuary Rarotonga such a special place, and feedback like yours truly brightens our day. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay.

Until then, we wish you all the best and hope you carry a piece of our island paradise with you.

Warmest regards,

Haimona Browne
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2023

We had 10 wonderful nights here at Sanctuary. I had my heart set on a room on the second floor in the beachfront suites and sooooo glad I got it. The view is stunning. Bathroom is small however great water flow and lots of hot water. Bed very comfy and huge. Housekeeping were great - put out the sign if you want the room made up otherwise they can provide you with anything you need like replacement towels etc and you can get a credit towards the room. We did both depending on our needs. All the staff are welcoming and bar/restaurant staff always helpful and happy. We were quite happy with breakfast options and did try to eat lunch at other places for a change of scenery so we would plan our day around where we wanted to end up for lunch. Bus stop out the front of the sister resort is very handy. Dinner most nights was in the resort as we didn't have any transport. Menu was extensive so we didn't feel too restricted in what to eat. It was much nicer to grab a table around the pool when dining at Sanctuary. We had quite a few meals at the sister resort to enjoy the sunset and music. Especially the couple on a Tuesday night - they were so good and her voice was amazing. Generally we arrived just before end of happy hour to grab a table, a cocktail and take in the sunset. Except for Sunday night it was pretty relaxed and most of the kids are either inside or have already eaten and departed so it wasn't too crazy. Really the families were all chill and relaxed and it added to the atmosphere but it was nice to know we would retreat back to the adults only side later. On a couple of occasions we caught the clockwise bus, had an early dinner at Castaways or The Shipwreck and walked home on the beach. We did catch the anti-clockwise to the Muri Market one night as well. There are a lot of activities to join if you want however we were out most days or snorkelling so didn't partake. We had looked at three places to stay and after checking the others out when we got there we were so happy to have chosen Sanctuary mainly because its Adults Only, has great snorkelling and swimming and is in a quiet part of the island with ability to walk long way up the beach either north or south. I would happily stay here again.

Room tip: Breachfront Suite on the second floor.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Squirrel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Haimona Browne, Owner at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2023

Kia Orana,
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased to hear you had a lovely stay and you enjoyed the beachfront location, the amazing views from your suite, the snorkeling the warm hospitality from our staff.
I am also happy that you enjoyed your meals and the entertainment.
Thank you again for choosing our resort and for being amazing guests and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Haimona Browne
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2023

This was our first visit to Rarotonga and we had high hopes. We chose Sanctuary as it was child free and right on the beach for snorkelling. Absolutely beautiful spot and the view from our room was just stunning. The staff seemed tired and not at all interested in us. There was one lovely young Receptionist who checked us in but all the other reception staff were either tired or just did not want to be there :( this is especially disappointing, even on check out when we paid it was like we were a nuisance to the staff. The cleaning staff were hit and miss, we pretty much just asked for towels each day as it seemed easier for them. Smokers around the pool was less than ideal so we didnt use the pool at all, although it was really windy and not that warm but it still would have been nice to sit on the loungers and read without smoke blowing around. Probably wouldnt stay again.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 439travellerx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Haimona Browne, Owner at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2023

Kia Orana,
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the beachfront location and the amazing view from your suite.
I am however disappointed you experienced some service shortfalls as well as guests smoking around the pool area.
We have designated smoking areas around the resort but the pool area is no smoking zone. I have addressed this issue with our bar team to be mor e vigilant with smokers around the pool area.
Kind Regards,
Haimona Browne
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2023 via mobile

We stayed at the Sanctuary on the Beach for 5 nights and had the best stay. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite which was a real treat. We loved having our own hot tub, steam room and sauna. The beach was stunning and we spent most of our days just relaxing on the loungers by the water which was perfect. We had lunch and dinner at our resort most days and quite enjoyed the food and the options available. We did wander across to The Rarotongan for dinner one evening and enjoyed the views from the deck and live music but there were a lot of children so we definitely enjoyed the Sanctuary side better. The 3 male bartenders at Sanctuary had the best hospitality, we’re always so kind, and they were fun. They also played great music every night. I absolutely loved all of the staff working and they truly made it an enjoyable place to be. They even brought me my cocktails to the pool when I was swimming. So shoutout to them for incredible service and thank you!!! We also did get a couples massage at the spa which was super relaxing. For couples looking for a beautiful relaxing getaway you should definitely stay at Sanctuary on the beach! Will be recommending to everyone to stay here when they come to Raro.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kylie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Haimona Browne, Owner at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2023

Kia Orana,
Thank you for your kind 5-star review.
We are thrilled to hear you had the perfect couples getaway!
Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and being amazing guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Haimona Browne
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2023 via mobile

What a treat, ocean view with humpback whales. Private beach for the most excellent snorkeling. I even saw a turtle!
Great staff and food at restaurant. The restaurant had no outlook so we chose to eat around the pool area. It was much nicer and quite private.
The pool is lovely however the lounger cushions need renewing as they are badly worn and stained. They are not taken in at night when it rains either, so they were wet the next day.
Take earplugs to avoid being woken by the pesky rooster!!

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Haimona Browne, Owner at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2023

Kia Orana,
Thank you for your kind 5-star review, which is much appreciated.
We are thrilled to hear you lovely time and the whales gave you an absolute treat!
Thank you again for choosing to stay with us.
Kind Regards,
Haimona Browne
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews