We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (546)
Filter reviews
546 results
Traveller rating
151
169
125
60
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
169
125
60
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar rarotongan resort upstairs room cook islands huge bed room servicing private beach tour desk seafood platter sister hotel marine reserve beachfront room paddle boards our honeymoon island style tropical breakfast captain andys
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 546 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

wife and i had a fantastic holiday , keen to return , wonderful staff , facilities and use of water sportsgear was complimentary , provides a quiet and relaxing atmosphere for any occasion .have the use of the adjoining resort being a family orientated stay , so has just about everything thatyou require.

Room Tip: great beach front suite
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank darrendebbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guide728154, General Manager at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Kia Orana Darren & Debbra,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Sanctuary Resort, Rarotonga.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The Aroa Lagoon Marine Reserve directly in front of the resort is the longest established marine reserve on the island, and as it is a natural fish breeding site, it offers Rarotonga's best all tide snorkeling.
Please feel free to contact me directly for the best available rates guaranteed as a returnee guest, for your next visit to Rarotonga.
Kia Manuia
Freddy Webb – Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

We booked and paid for a couples massage a couple of days in advance, and when we turned up for the massage..... no one knew anything about it.
The managers were rude and abrupt, and clearly not interested in serving the paid customer.
Once it was clear we weren’t going to get what we paid for ($250 worth) it then took 20 minute to get a refund.
If this is the standard service from the place, I’m amazed they are still in business.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank smickymick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guide728154, General Manager at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Kia Orana
I apologize for the inconvenience caused by the fact that the spa therapist that you had booked a treatment with was ill on the day of your appointment when you came to our resort from your outside accommodation.
We did offer to have another qualified and experienced spa therapist to replace her however you rejected this option. Accordingly, you were issued a full refund.
I am fully satisfied that the staff that you dealt with conducted themselves in a professional manner.
If there is anything further I can assist you with please do not hesitate to contact me directly at your convenience.
Kia Manuia
Samantha Johnson – Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

We are just returned form 10 days at Sanctuary and it is a very good name. It was so relaxed and comfortable, staff helpful and friendly. Our beach side room was all we could have asked for, loved the balcony and just sitting enjoying the sea.
Tour desk excellent, the massage at Sanctuary Spa very relaxing.
An awesome holiday.

Room Tip: Best to choose what you want they all apeared to be good and people we spoke to were happy.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helebarba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guide728154, General Manager at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Kia Orana,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Sanctuary Resort.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the warm hospitality from our staff and will pass your comments onto our team.
The Aroa Lagoon Marine Reserve directly in front of the resort is the longest established marine reserve on the island, and as it is a natural fish breeding site, it offers Rarotonga's best all tide snorkeling.
We are pleased to hear that you took the time to relax and enjoy one of the massage treatments at the Spa Polynesia during your stay, our therapies have been created for ultimate relaxation for our guests.

Please feel free to contact me directly for the best available rates guaranteed as a returnee guest, for your next visit to Rarotonga.

Freddy Webb – Resort Manager
Sanctuary Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Highly recommend a stay at the Sanctuary, great staff and very clean,the swim up bar is great and highly recommend having an Island girl cocktail and the sister resort the Rarotongian is a great place to dine while watching the fish from the deck.

Room Tip: We had a room upstairs beach front, and were watching whales from our our deck.
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chrissyandmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guide728154, General Manager at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Kia Orana Pamela,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Sanctuary Resort.
We are thrilled that you had such an enjoyable time whilst here in Rarotonga and that you enjoyed our prime location directly on Aroa Lagoon Marine Sanctuary on the south-west side of the Island with beautiful beaches, stunning sunsets and abundant tropical fish.
Please feel free to contact me directly for the best available rates guaranteed as a returnee guest, for your next visit to Rarotonga.
Kia Manuia
Freddy Webb – General Manager
Sanctuary Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

Staff were lovely - location excellent - food delicious - room cleaning could improve - excellent massage. Enjoyed all my excursions - Edgewater dinner and feast - Te Vara Nui spectacular - Progressive dinner - Island discovery tour - Lagoon cruise. TIP - island bus 10 rides for NZ$30.00 great value!

Room Tip: Sunday cleaning is LIGHT! Suggest saving NZ$15.00/day by opting for 'light' cleaning some days.
Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pamelawheeler2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guide728154, General Manager at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Kia Orana Pamela,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Sanctuary Resort.
We are thrilled that you had such an enjoyable time whilst here in Rarotonga and that you enjoyed our prime location directly on Aroa Lagoon Marine Sanctuary on the south-west side of the Island with beautiful beaches, stunning sunsets and abundant tropical fish. We provide complimentary use of kayaks, paddle boards, snorkels & masks, etc for guests to explore the lagoon.
Our menus are designed to appeal to as broad a range of guests as possible including guests with special dietary needs such as vegetarian, vegan, gluten free, dairy and nut free, etc.
The resort has a Duty Manager available from 7am-10pm who would have been more than happy to address any issues during your stay, and I would have also welcomed the opportunity to meet with you personally. Please feel free to contact me directly if you wish to share more detailed feedback.
Kia Manuia
Freddy Webb – General Manager
Sanctuary Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews