We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
74
19
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
74
19
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the east coast pub grub tokomaru bay a million dollar view beautiful beach catfish units accommodation puka nz hosts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2021

Two night stay in Tokomaru at Te Puka Tavern.

Without fail, EVERYONE in town and at the pub have been polite, helpful and, well, plain friendly. They all deserve a pat on the back.

Some easy walks, a couple of harder ones, cool art, monster ice creams, offers of crayfish from chatting to a couple of locals returning from fishing (thanks to the guy in the house at the end of town), interesting local history. Your holiday can be what you make of it...

Small towns do it harder than larger communities at the best of times and for a population of a few hundred people these lovely people have done well. The new units where we stayed are nice and clean and we had a gobsmacking view from first thing in the morning and throughout the day.

A few reviews of their stay here have been a little harsh. I accept some things may not have been OK for some guests but generally a polite word will address most concerns. You cannot blame the town or hotel for the noise of the sea over the road or state of the beach after a bit of rain... Mind-boggling that some have!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Thbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2020

The tavern is in a fantastic spot with amazing views! They have a lawn to the side and I was really disappointed that there were only 2 tables. We sat on the deck, which was a little cool out of the sun. The tavern is an old style NZ tavern, with memorabilia - quirky. The staff weren't friendly at all. The woman behind the bar was quite rude to someone she was serving - who had asked for gluten free and she said "you know what you can eat". We ordered raw fish and fish and chips. Both meals were simple but good.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 577nicolap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2020

Stayed at the Tavern in our motor home and the view is magic to wake up to. Had a meal there and it was fabulous. Service was great and the staff helpful. Beautiful location to sit and have a drink whilst looking at the bay. Worth a trip down the road to Hicks bay as well.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Aunty126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2020

We stopped by here for dinner last week.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The burger was delicious and the fish I had was so fresh.
Price was reasonable too.
You can eat outside looking at the sea.
I can recommend the Te Puka tavern.
Just drive along the waterfront and the tavern is near the end, you cant miss it.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellettboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2020 via mobile

We camped here enroute to Gisborne. The views are fabulous even though the wind was at times, a little harsh. The staff and the locals are friendly and helpful. Food is pub grub and reliable - fresh and good value. Wine choice is very limited but beer selection very broad. Boat ramp with sandy beach is just opposite so plenty of opportunities for swimming and fishing. Dog friendly and a truly relaxing atmosphere.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Wowzap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews